We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$364
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$188
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$325
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
$282
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6,021)
Filter reviews
6,021 results
Traveler rating
2,671
2,125
791
257
177
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,671
2,125
791
257
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
3,322 - 3,327 of 6,021 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first time to Hawaii and first time package deal. We didn't expect a lot being a package due to the great price deal . The overall service for our package included flights on Hawaiian airlines ,accommodation and breakky, transfers, tours and shows. We loved every minute of our package, and completely exceeded our expectations.
We got upgraded to a ocean front room due to a mix up with our room, which was stunning. Great Hotel location, staff are very friendly ,LOVED the free Aloha Friday show and free Hula dance classes.
Hotel is Right across the road from the beach and central to a lot things to see and do. Along with hula shows on some nights.
It was very easy to book with My Holiday Centre, no dramas, very helpful staff whilst booking.
My companion is in a wheelchair, which does make travelling lengthy and tiring .And surprisingly we were able to do everything in our package and not miss out on anything due to excellent disabled services available in the Hotel And Hawaii.
I look forward to going back to Hawaii and using My Holiday Centre for our booking. If you haven't booked yet, what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tinadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your My Hawaii package and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here in Late Janurary. Elevators need reprogramming as the wait for them was excessive - so much so that the great employees allowed us to take the freight/employee access elevator during peak times.

My room was right next to the elevators which I heard elevators go up and down, but did not bother my sleep when it was night time as elevator activity died down.

Location is perfect - walking distance to some great places. They have a Hula show just 100 yards from the hotel on the beach on Tues/Thurs. Great time.

Pool service was great - the attendant helps set up your sun recliner for you. Included internet in the resort fee. Happy Hour at the pool was a great deal.

Beds were a bit soft for my touch, but it is what it is. Had a city view, no complaints there. Bathroom a bit out-dated with a tub/toilet separate from the sink. A good sized room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We will share your comments regarding the elevator with our team. All of them were modernized over the summer however we will make sure to take a look and make sure they are running at optimal levels.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

As the Hyatt Regency is doing lots of package deals, be prepared to Queue for everything. The worst of which was for breakfast, 60 people deep and a 20 minute wait. In 40 years of travelling I have never experienced anything like it. Staff were so run off their feet, you couldn't get a glass of water and it took 10 minutes to get tea and coffee. Breakfast was ordinary to say the least and one dirty old toaster to accomodate the 15 people all standing waiting.

Flights from Australia get you in by 8.30am but you can't have your room till 3pm. We were told ours was already empty and they would put a rush on cleaning it and send a message to us. No message eventuated and while we were upgraded to an ocean view room we arrived to a dirty bathroom with soap residue still in the holder and a dirty sink and a 3pm check in.

You will also spend much of your day waiting for the lifts which seem to take forever.

While the hotel has undergone a soft reno since I last stayed, furniture used in the room is still old and knocked about and apart from a heated toilet seat, bathrooms are small and outdated. Common areas such as breakfast and carpeting on floors has been replaced, however the decor in the lifts and check in is looking very old and tired.

While most Hawaiian hotels struggle with offering a real 5 star experience, the Hyatt has gone the mass package route and this degrades the whole experience.

Room Tip: Great Views from Ocean View rooms but you have to pay for it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevegne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay. We have forwarded your post to our Food and Beverage Director to review the line at SHOR and the service received while at the restaurant. We regret that you were not more satisfied with your stay and the hotel facilities. We assure you your concerns will be addressed.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights- we went with the Hyatt due to the good price, but I was really hoping to stay at the moana. Upon arrival, we were greeted and treated like royality! Check in was a breeze and when we asked if
It was possible to get a room on a higher floor and they did so with all smiles! We were assisted to our beautiful, spacious room with incredible views of the Iran and city! The location was brilliant- right across from the beach- and in the heart of Waikiki in my opinion. A delicious and diverse buffet breakfast, a fully equipped gym and hotel spa.... We took advantage of all and were more then impressed. Incredible customer service the whole way through- any issues we had were
Resolved promptly! Next time we come, we will definitely be saying here again! 10/10, could not rave enough about our
Experience at the Hyatt regency!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmeliaandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback and great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything was well organised, and we couldn't have wanted for a better location for our accomodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great views from our balcony, and a great pool bar and meeting place. Don't use the money exchange in the hotel as better exchange rates are available. Be careful of supercheap tours as they are part of a package that includes being subjected to a sales pitch for timeshare property. The expedia desk at the hotel is fantastic and very helpful. "My Hawaii" provided a great worry free holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view if you can. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews