We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went to Hawaii for a wedding and stayed here as part of a deal with My Hawaii, everything was perfect, great views from our balcony, the pool cocktails were great, a central location that you could walk to most things and the people were very helpful. They also have an omelette guy who was great fun to watch when things got busy for breakfast.

Room Tip: ocean view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the post. We are glad to read that you had such a wonderful visit. We thank you for selecting Hyatt and we hope to serve you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,991 - 2,997 of 5,564 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was my first experience of Hawaii and will now not be my last! Had a truly wonderful time with my two teenage girls. The Hyatt was a great place to stay. On arrival we were upgraded to a partial seaview room and , as we were on a budget ,this was a welcome bonus. We travelled with the company MyHawaii ( also a first for me) and I cannot fault anything. Everything went smoothly. From flights, to arrival, the hotel, the extras - all went to plan. The Hyatt was clean, the service excellent and the location was fantastic. As vegetarians we worried we would have difficulty finding places to eat out. However the staff directed us to several good vegetarian places, within walking distance. We found the tour guides at the hotel very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable . We were able to take several trips and experience the 'vibe', the scenery and the people that has given us some lovely memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you and your daughters had such a great experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here on Jan. 4th - the hotel is massive, it has an atrium with shops, etc. which is great. The room was nice, but still not nice enough for what we paid. The view of Waikiki Beach was nice though. The BIG complaint I have about this hotel was that the parkade was undergoing renovations and was closed. So as an alternate, they offered us a parking pass at another hotel which was a good 10 minute walk away - AND made us pay $12 for the parking still. Ridiculous - that in itself is why I can only give this place 3 stars. For having to walk with our luggage that far from the car to the hotel, parking should've been complimentary, in my opinion. Not to mention insanely priced room service - $12 for a bagel? I don't think so!! Would not return - far too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicalbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your stay. We regret that you were visiting during the parking garage resurfacing/spalling project. The reason for the necessary temporary closure of the garage was for the safety of our guests and employees. While the project has since been completed and the structure is open for cars, we do understand your sense of frustration and have shared your post with the management team for both our rooms and our food and beverage.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my wife and 1.5 year old. Was upgraded to an ocean view room of the Ewa tower with platinum status. Status also got us reduced resort fees and complimentary leis. It also included a plate of sushi at the restaurant, but we didn't get it. We were on the 32nd floor, which was fine for keeping the street noise out of the room. You could hear street performers and music, but with the balcony door closed it was like having a tv on low volume. (note: we stayed the weekend of the pro bowl, so the streets were filled with music that saturday night, from our room you could hear it muffled with the balcony door closed). The room was clean and well kept.

The staff was overall great except for when we asked for a crib at check in, the housekeeping guy just walked right in the room with the crib...didn't even knock.

Valet parking was $35, but probably worth it since self was $30 and it was in a VERY small garage across the street.

Staying in the Ewa tower was good except we needed to go through two elevators to get to the car, since it's below the diamond head tower. The two towers are separated by a small shopping area downstairs. Also, if you were to do laundry here, the laundry room is in the 4th floor of the diamond head tower, so it was a little trek from the 32nd floor of the Ewa tower.

The pool is nice and they let you rent beach chairs and towels. The beach is across the street, but littered with homeless people on the sidewalk, especially within a couple blocks east of the hotel as they congregate in the public picnic areas. Otherwise, the location is great as it is pretty central to local dining and shopping (within walking distance) on the main strip and the street adjacent to it (Kalakaua and Kuhio).

I would stay here again if the rates are right. I stayed on a government rate of $177 which was way less than the standard rate of $320ish for the weekend (pro bowl weekend).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed most of your stay. We regret the issue with the crib. Our staff are trained to knock three separate times and to announce themselves before entering a room. We have shared your comment with the housekeeping team for a review on the delivery of cribs and other items. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, got a good deal on priceline. This hotel is very old appearing and in need of a facelift. There is a roundabout way of going up to the 2nd floor to get to the lobby for check-in. Staff however seemed fairly nice. The room itself was big, but with poor lighting. If you get a room with 2 beds, each bed is somewhere between a double and full bed size-wise. I had a city view that showed a tiny sliver of the beach. Sitting outside on the balcony was nice though. The location is really the best part of it. Overall, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We regret that you did not enjoy your visit more. We will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

my brother stayed here with his girlfriend on 1/26/2013 he will be borrowing my site to write his review since he did not set up an account. we live on the island, but my other half had a christmas company party(late christmas party) at a neighboring hotel it was also the same day as the pro bowl block party, you can imagine the nightmare traffic gettin in and out of waikiki.
for alot of people who cant get off the island, try playing tourist and get away to none other than famous waikiki. and what better hotel than the hyatt regency not only is the location superb, but the parking for a fee is across the street, and we all know parking is a premium here in waikiki, its worth the thirty dollars to be able to go in and out. or better yet have your family drop you off and walk around catch the shuttle or even taxi. what I am saying is if you cant travel for whatever reason its nice to treat yourself and your family to a staycation and appreciate your island beauty.
the hyatt is really good to kamaainas well there good to everyone, but there are certain kamaaina discounts and one of them is the shor sunday buffet was terrific and priced well. had a room on the 31 st floor ocean view beautiful you can see the beach, people walking, diamond head, the room was clean and the regency club first class, this hyatt also has a terrific staff kudos to Danielle and her staff, the front desk people, working the afternoon shift 1/26/-1/27, these people love their jobs. also the servers in the shor restaurant very friendly. the location of this hotel is within access of restaurants, shops, zoo, of course famous waikiki beach right across the street, also had fun shopping at the abc store. so if you ever have to go into waikiki for a wedding or party why not make it fun and just stay at the hyatt, you dont have yo leave the island to have fun you can do all that good food pampering nice hotel great view great people clean hotel all at the hyatt regency waikiki.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M8738TIjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the comments. We have shared your appreciation with our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here with our two teenagers, 19 and 16. The hotel is perfectly positioned, and unlike other reviews that mention the beach is a hassle to get to, really? It is right across the pedestrian crossing. Do not ask for high floors as you will spend the day waiting for the lift. A room from about Level 6 to level 12 is ideal in any of the two towers. The breakfast is good, however their are only two restaurants, one japanese (always empty) and completely overpriced and the Shor restaurant, for seafood (please note Hawaii is not renown for its tasty seafood and you will be dissapointed) and steak. So the Cheesecake factory wins every time. The hotel itself is very outdated, whilst the rooms are large and very clean, the bathroom is unacceptably small and dark, a real let down.

Yes the pool is on the smallish side, however you have the beach 30 steps away and the Hyatt is happy for you to take their towels and beach chairs with you.

Overall 5 star service from all staff, but a very mediocre 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noise of the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to read that for the most part you enjoyed your vacation with us. We have shared your comments regarding the elevators and the restaurants. One thing, just to clarify, Japengo, which serves Pacific Rim cuisine, is only open in the evening from 6 to 10 p.m. We value all of your comments and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
344 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $253 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing