We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me just start with, I have a high standard for Hyatt. I own 2 vacation club locations with them and have a significant investment in the company. When I vacation, I like to be at top rate locations. When I travel for work I stay in the lower in chains, and that is OK. So, my Maui Hyatt experience was a bit mixed. We came to Waikiki for a change of pace. Again the basic hotel is interesting. Lots of retail on the lower levels and a nice open air concept. The pool is actually on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach. The down side is the road is between you and the beach. Somehow I missed that in the website detail. I also, again, feel the rooms are in desperate need of updating. The basic location is nice for access to the public beach, shopping and dining. All in all, good, but not great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We do regret that you did not feel that your stay with us met your expectations. We have shared your recommendations with our management team. We hope that should you find yourself in Waikiki again that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    1,742
    646
    207
    139
See reviews for
1,472
1,861
171
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a good ten days on the island and our hotel was excellently placed for us, right across from the beach and a short walk to restaurants and bars. The pool area is only small and if, as we had, you have lots of children staying, it gets a bit over crowded. The pool bar prices are not cheap so it's best to wait until happy hour. We had a sea view room which was good and kept clean. Our biggest gripe was there wasn't a decent bar for the evening so we had to go out to find our nightcaps. The staff were in general very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMarshalls1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We have three bars open in the evening until 10 or 11 p.m. Your comments are helpful for us to look at ways to share this information with guests. We will follow up with our marketing and food and beverage teams. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived early after long flight from Sydney, our booked room wasnt ready but the friendly efficient front desk staff quickly changed our room so we could get in early which was much appreciated. We were on 28th floor Diamond Head Tower with partial ocean view. The room was nice, views of the ocean and the city were good, it was a bit noisy some nights till about 10pm.The buffet breakfast was so fantastic that
we did not need lunch most days. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Great location for shopping, dinner by the pool and cocktails at sunset. Want to go again.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds clean rooms, a bit noisy some nights till about 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay. We have shared your comments with our food & beverage team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Initially we were a bit overwhelmed by the size of this hotel, however my partner soon got to grips with the layout so I just followed him. Check in was good and was given a complimentary voucher for a bottle of champagne as we were celebrating birthdays.

Our room was on 17th floor and has a fabulous view of the beech and street. Really spacious room with a fabulous king size bed which was sooo comfy! Slight downside was when we arrived mid afternoon the was some loud drilling happening somewhere in the hotel which wasn't quite the relaxing ideal we had. Must say however that as we were out and about every day we only heard it a couple more times so didn't spoil anything. On the plus side, housekeeping was excellent with plenty of fresh towels etc.

Had read reviews about issues with long waits for lifts but have to say that we had no problems at all.

Buffett breakfast at Shor restaurant was lovely - great choice and fresh whatever time we went. Also had dinner there one night which was gorgeous. Waiter, sorry cant remember his name but he came from San Francisco, was really attentive and gave us lots of info regarding menu and made it a lovely evening.

All in all, staff really friendly and a great place to stay and would return if we get the chance to revisit Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the post. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We forwarded your comments to our management for sharing with their teams. We do hope to serve you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki from Nov1-3 on the beginning of an island hopping trip of Hawaii. Was somewhat disappointed at arrival. It is soooo crowed at the drop off point that it's overwhelming after a 10 hour flight. Once inside the lobby area is beautiful with an amazing waterfall. The check in staff was wonderful. Our room was a little lackluster, but since we were only staying 2 nights we also didn't splurge on the best. Our view stunk (again we didn't pay for a view) but it was ok for 2 nights.
We arrived rather late and ate at the Japengo restuarant. It was fabulous. Great service even though they were getting ready to close and we received a chilled bottle of champagne for the room since we were traveling for my 50th birthday.
I didn't care for what I saw in Oahu generally. It is very crowded with a lot of traffic to go even a small distance. Being from NY it seemed like 5th avenue with a beach, although a beautiful beach, waikiki is very crowded.
We were booked for a tour to Pearl Harbour which was fouled up and at the last second we spoke to the conceirge who was very kind and got us transportation to pearl harbour saving our only day in Oahu.
After returning to the resort, we had the best time at the pool for happy hour. They had a hula/fire dancer show in the lobby and the best happy hour drinks/prices that we saw in our entire trip. They had a band from 6-8ish and it was the best "nightlife" we experienced on our 11 day vacation. Overall the hotel was nice for the area, I just didn't care for the crowded atmoshpere.

Room Tip: Only grip was that there is a mini bar in room, however it is not stocked. I would have easily paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to read that on more than one occasion it seems as though our staff and/or services stepped in to improve your stay. We have shared these comments with our managers. We regret that your vision of Oahu is less than favorable. Honolulu is a busy city. We hope that when you did travel the island you found special points of interest in each area that you went that will provide you with good memories of your time on the island.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely property and excellent staff. Upgraded to club floor given regency status. DH tower 37th floor with excellent views! The check in staff particularly James was very attentive! Great location and central to great shops and sights. The concierge team were very good as were the regency club lounge! Happy wife = happy life and she was happy!

Would return without hesitation and management to be complimented.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel just didnt do it for me. We had stayed at the Sheraton the previous week before renting a house on the north shore so came back to Waikiki and had the Hyatt booked for our last 3 nights. To say it was a dissapointment is an understatement. For the money there was absolutely no comparison with the Sheraton and we really regretted our decision to "try something different"

The cost of the room was ridiculous when you compare the views between the 2 hotels and the facilities at the property. We had paid for a Deluxe Ocean View and the view was more city then ocean. A huge disappointment.

The lobby is a weird set up. You have to go to the 2nd level to check in. Not easy with bags and boards, etc. It had a very tired 70's style hawaiin timber decor to it. It wasnt horrible it just didnt cut it for the money.

Our room was comfortable. The bathroom has the bath and toilet seperate to the sink which is functional but this area was carpeted and the carpet was all dirty i suspect from makeup spills etc. Just felt a bit grotty to me.

The pool area is a huge let down. It is TINY. Did have a massage in the day spa. This was lovely. The happy hour cocktails were also a hit!

The location is OK being across from the Duke statue but this is very busy. It just didnt feel as resorty as the other property. Also of a night there was a lot of ladies of the night out and about on the corner of the hotel. This was a bit of a shock to me as previously to this, nowhere in Waikiki I had felt this seediness before so to be really in your face at the front of the hotel made me cringe. It just wasnt a pleasant place to finish our family holiday.

I think we had been too spoilt up the other end of Waikiki beach and so I clearly have a preference now! But you need to stay in a place to get a feel for it.

Room Tip: Ocean view is more city than ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJANDLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We regret that you were not satisfied with your visit and we can assure you that we have forwarded your comments to our team. Your comments regarding the public street areas is cause for us to share this with our director of security. We have a fully functional security team on property that operate all hours of the day and evening and so we have directed their attention to your comments. It is hard to recognize from your post if you contacted the hotel or just made an observation. If you did contact the appropriate personnel we hope that you were satisfied with the outcome of the services they provided. Thank you again for reviewing your stay. We will review your comments closely.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing