We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$352
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$242
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$441
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,850)
Filter reviews
5,850 results
Traveler rating
2,586
2,074
770
251
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,586
2,074
770
251
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
3,312 - 3,317 of 5,850 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Checked in for a quick trip of four nights. My mountain view room in the Ewa tower was a tad outdated, but clean. Although I was on the 21st floor, you could still hear the painter who blasts techno music until 10pm. He does live painting shows directly behind the Hyatt in the small shopping plaza. Most nights this is not a big deal, but if you are jet lagged and having to go to bed at 8pm, it's annoying. I rented a car, and when I arrived I was asked whether I wanted to self park or valet. I self parked to save a few dollars, and in return was encountered with the scariest parking garage EVER. You absolutely cannot see around the corners, and as a guest you must park on the fourth floor and above because the first three are reserved for valet. I white-knuckled it every time I came in and out of there. Bottom line, just use valet. Costco included a $100 hotel credit, but that was quickly eaten up by my $30/day parking fee. Costco also includes one free dinner for two as well as free breakfast every day. The local fish for the free dinner and the breakfast buffet were absolutely delicious. Excellent perk from Costco. Waikiki is beautiful and the hotel is centrally located. Overall this was not a bad stay, just might have done a few things differently.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mncs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We regret you had such an unpleasant parking experience. We have shared your comments with our team and while we cannot change the noise from the street, we will notify our neighbors of your comments as well. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hyatt made a nice package for us for our anniversary and even an upgrade on the room to high-level ocean view. The waitresses/waiters at the pool and for breakfast were all very friendly and helpful. The only negative point were the long waits at the elevators...a design flaw in the quantity of elevators that is not easy to solve with good service. The rooms are also in need of renovation.

NOTE: It is true that it is not worth renting a car for the full week because the parking is so expensive. HOWEVER, most will want to rent a car one or more days to see the rest of the island, and it is not easy. The offices located in the hotel gave us some good recommendations, above all -- go very early in the morning to get the "leftovers" or you may end up without a car.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zacbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the compliments and criticisms. We appreciate both equally and have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments. We have also shared your post with the car rental companies on property.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thank you for a fabulous stay. This was our second stay and our 8 nights in our King Ocean front room was a great base for us to enjoy the highlights of Waikiki beach and surrounds once again; shopped until we dropped.

Thanks to the housekeeping staff, reception and Irene at the tour desk.

A must is the Shor restaurant which we not only enjoyed at breakfast time but dined in the evening on 3 separate occasions and found the food and service excellent.

It was also worth paying the upgrade to a higher level as we got great photos from the 27th floor; previously we were on the 39th floor which is even more spectacular.

We found the best tour company was Discover Hawaii Tour, excellent.

Aloha until next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to read you had such a great experience. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked an Ocean View room and were thrilled with it. The staff were outstanding in every way. The restaurants are awesome, Shor dining is exquisite but our favourite thing was sitting by the pool cocktail in hand served by lovely, warm and friendly staff...
I am now back home saving for another trip ...without doubt would not consider another hotel in this area. The hotel is fantastic in every way but the staff really add to the whole experience...

Room Tip: Pay extra and get an ocean view...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review and kind comments. We are glad you had such an enjoyable time and we have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is an older hotel, however it was very clean, and the hotel staff was very friendly and accomadating' We were assign to the Diamond Head Tower, but we were situated next to the elevators (which were not slow at all), but being that they were old made quite a bit of noise. We requested a change and was given a room two days later in the Ewart Tower. For this inconvenience the hotel fees for those two days was waived. Overall or stay at his hotel was quite pleasant, and besides it is smack dead in the center of Wikikki beach, and close to all the stores, and happenings.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the elevators are much quiter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MsVee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. While we regret you had to move rooms, we are pleased to read that it appears as though staff was always very responsive to requests. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews