We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to get an ocean view room on the 35th floor. The view of the ocean and Waikiki Beach that this gave me was superb. The room was great. The staff were truly friendly and helpful from the moment I arrived till I left Honolulu. This is where I would want to stay again. I can't fault this hotel.

2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,049 - 3,055 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived late after a long flight and arrived in our room around 10.30 after a confusing locate, having to find it ourselves on the 29th floor of one tower. No room service is available after 11pm and no facilities to buy a drink or refreshments after this time. However, we were able to walk across the road to purchase a pizza. The view from the room was great and the location was good too. We had breakfast on the Terrace of the Hotel overlooking the Bay before our departure to the Port.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesbrown56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We regret the service upon arrival was not more helpful and we will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 4 nights on own way home to Australia from a wonderful holiday in Canada and Alaska. We had not visited Hawaii for about 20yrs and found it much busier but the Hyatt was a great place to return to each day. From check in the staff were friendly and helpful. We had only booked a standard city view room but on arriving in our room we discovered that we packed onto the elevators so after a call to the check in staff we were moved to a lower floor but with a partial ocean view which from the balcony there was a great view of the beach and the action up the street. The room was large and clean and the bed very comfortable. The location was excellent. We ate at the Shor, pool bar(not sure what the name was) and Japengo restaurants - the breakfasts and evening meal at the Shor and lunch and drinks at the pool bar were very enjoyable but I have to say that the meal we had at Japengo was fantastic and it’s the best Japanese that I have eaten, the food was amazing and the service excellent. Never had a problem with the elevators and the hotel was full, had to line up for breakfast one morning but probably only waited about 15min and the staff keep us all informed about the wait. I would defiantly recommend the Hyatt for the location and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chipps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your return to Hawaii and that we were a part of the experience. We have shared all of your kind comments with staff, especially our restaurants - SHOR, SWIM, and Japengo. We are glad you liked them all. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After an exhausting but fabulous fortnight in Manhattan, we were desperate for rest. And we found it right here in this hotel. We booked a club room, which is really the way to go. An oasis of calm. Complimentary fabulous breakfast, Wonderful inexpensive cocktails and snacks in the evening, which some nights constituted our entire dinner. Gorgeous huge balcony overlooking Waikiki beach. Staff in the Club recommend restaurants (and not just those in the hotel) and make bookings. Incredibly charming and helpful staff. Room very comfortable. Exquisite view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Checkout done in a flash - literally took two minutes from our computer. Cannot recommend high enough.

Room Tip: Go for a Regency Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank percipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your hotel and Regency Club experiences. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the services of the Lounge and the concierge team. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hyatt in Waikiki for about one week for our honeymoon. I don't have any other experience with hotels in Waikiki to compare to but we were both very pleased with Hyatt and would be more than happy to stay again. The first several floors are shops and restaurants that we made good use of and we were glad not to have to travel far for basics like toiletries or souvenirs. We enjoyed the restaurant Japengo so much that we ate there twice and ordered a dessert for room service (all the room service meals were divine but you must try the coconut creme brulee). Of course one of the best things about this hotel is the location. You literally cross the street and you are at Waikiki Beach. We were on the south side of the hotel, I believe, and had an ocean front view which we fell in love with. The room was slightly plain and smelled somewhat stuffy when we first arrived; we had stayed the previous night in a luxury suite in Las Vegas so it was a slight come down as far as interiori. But as we were not planning on spending a week in Hawaii cooped up in our room it suited our needs just fine. Comfortable and homey, and our balcony door was open to let in the wonderful ocean breeze almost all week.

We were slightly disappointed that even though we were on our honeymoon we had to stay in a room that had two small beds instead of one queen or king-sized bed; apparently that was the only type of room available on that side of the hotel. However the staff offered to let us change rooms if one became available, and it ended up not even mattering because the beds were big enough for two not-very-large people.

That's another thing I must point out, the staff was always friendly and helpful which means a great deal when I stay in a hotel. Front desk check in was easy and we got a lot of wonderful travel tips at the Expedia desk. Even the housekeeping and room service staff were super friendly and asked about our stay. They seem to enjoy their positions, whether they actually do or not they really leave the impression that people in Hawaii are happy. One thing I found extremely helpful was that we were still treated as welcome guests even after checkout; we had to check out early in the morning our last day but our flight wasn't scheduled until late evening. The hotel hung on to our luggage all day and allowed us to use the shower facilities in the spa to freshen up after a day of sightseeing before we were picked up to go to the airport.

I read several reviews which pointed out the horrible wait times for elevators. During peak travel times during the day I suppose the wait was longer than usual since the elevators were stopping at multiple floors, but I certainly never had to wait ten or fifteen minutes like some guests apparently did. When the elevators are actually moving they are FAST, so perhaps this is an old issue that has been addressed.

Pros - Great location
Friendly staff
Clean
Good shops and restaurants located in the hotel
Quiet, comfortable room

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach! However the higher you are off the ground the better because the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us during this very special life moment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your experiences here and we will definitely pass along your kind words about our staff and the food at Japengo to everyone here. We also appreciate the comment regarding the elevators. We have completed updating them so they are running faster. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed with the family in a room on the 12th floor facing the beach. The view was fantastic, although as the street in front of the hotel is a major thoroughfare it was a little noisy - but the views more than made up for this. The main reason I rated the hotel as very good over excellent is the lifts. The wait most mornings and evenings to leave or return to the room was horrendous, actually trying to get our luggage downstairs on check-out day was very trying.

The hotel is a little dated, but it is very clean and in such a fantastic location (just across from both the beach and the Duke's statue which is a major pick up point for the buses). The breakfast buffet which was included in our package was fantastic - Emily (the chef who was making the eggs) was wonderful, her omelettes were delicious and she was super friendly and very helpful. The greeters were also very friendly - in particular Bobby who remembered our name each morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bendingmirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We regret the delays you experienced with the elevators. Most of our elevator updates have been completed so it is unfortunate to read that you experienced a wait time. We will share your comments with our engineering department to investigate. We have also forwarded your compliments to Emily and Bobby.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It's OK but probably some of the newer places are better! Not enough elevators so you spend quite a lot of time waiting for one or packing in like sardines! Breakfast buffet is a joke--way overpriced for the offerings.
I would definitely not go back or recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganRsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We regret that you were not more pleased with your visit. We will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $257 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing