We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arrived on a sunday and the staff were very nice and helpful! We purchased a package deal thru Costco and were upgraded to an ocean view room on the 27th floor for free!! SWEET!! the breakfast layout is more than expected. I used their spa and it was very relaxing and clean.. I would definitely recommend a stay here. No complaints, a walk across the street to the beach.. :)

Room Tip: ask for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattykat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you were pleased with your Costco package. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,063 - 3,069 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived early Saturday morning for a week's vacation with six other couples most of whom were also staying at the Hyatt. A warm and friendly welcome by the bellboys and reception was the start of a great holiday experience. We bought a package deal with an ocean-front view room, and the view was SPECTACULAR - uninterrupted views across Waikiki Beach to Diamond Head. The room was more than adequate for our needs, with a very comfortable king bed and plenty of room to move around. We found no problems with the lifts (contrary to some other reviewers) and rarely had to wait more than a minute or two to get a lift to and from our 29th floor room. Buffet breakfast in the Shor restaurant was always eagerly anticipated, with good quality food in ample quantities. The restaurant staff were always welcoming & attentive (thanks, Brenda & Kemp!) and clearly enjoyed their work. We didn't use the spa or gym but certainly enjoyed the Swim bar for an afternoon cocktail and a light meal (great value for money). The best indicator of a good hotel is whether you would come back again - and we certainly would. Well done, Hyatt!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must - it's well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and that you had such great service you included some of the staff names so we can thank them directly. Thank you for considering us for future visits.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here from 01/09 until 12/09.
It was in a perfect location to everything. Room was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast included daily which was fantastic, could not fault food or the staff. Service was always attentive and prompt. The staff in the Shor restaurant where extremely pleasent snd always made us feel more than just guest at the hotel.
Our room was upgraded and we had a full ocean view, view was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you had such an enjoyable visit. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

There was a long line for checking in. The elevators can take over 5 minutes to come to your floor. Every time there is a que of people to get on the elevators going up. Our room faced the mountains away from the beach. There is music blaring from a boom box in the kings village where a guy is doing spray painting for onlooking tourist. This music goes on every night until 10 pm. The room was small and out dated. The only good thing about the hotel is its location. Rooms are very noisy. The wind whistles in the sliding glass doors all night . Most of the patrons at the hotel are Japanese and i guess they dont care . Try somewhere else .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tango S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. We regret that you had such a disappointing visit. The front desk will become busy as most flights from various major destinations all land on island at the same time. We are however making modification to the front desk check-in to ensure a more timely process. We will share your comments about the noise at King's Village and from the wind with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Good all around property but looking a little tired and dated - definately could use a makeover. That said its clean and functional - great gym but swimming pool is to small for the size of hotel. Crossing a busy street to the beach is not ideal but really isn't a big deal. Plenty of dining options at the property and a short walk up the street. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you would stay with us again. We value all of your compliments and criticisms and will share each with management.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Can I just say "WOW!" The service on all levels at this hotel was outstanding! We felt the very spirit of Hawaiian hospitality! We read the (tripadvisor) reviews and decided to pay the extra for the Regency Club level and the breakfast/lounge package and couldn't imagine our stay any other way - except for an ocean view ... alas, those rooms were booked.

The rooms were impeccably clean - a little outdated but that heated toilet seat ... was a revered novelty! The outside noise was not a problem with the mountain view room and with lounge access it seemed that we were Waikiki VIPs for breakfast with a prime blacony view of Duke Kahanamoku and Waikiki beach!

I encourage you to spend a bit more and get the regency floor (36 and above) with the club lounge/breakfast package, you get wi-fi for two, bottled water, a larger room with slippers and (ugly yet) comfortable cotton robes.

I would give it a 5 and an excellent and it is exceptionally good for Waikiki but we are seasoned travelers and have just stayed in comparative hotels that were a little more modern in decore. My other half looked at a room on a lower level with a beach view but it wasn't something we'd like to stay in for this special visit. Those rooms were much smaller and older.

That said, based on the service we received through out our stay, we'll definitely consider this hotel again and would recommend it with out hesitation!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the 36 and up Regency floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased you enjoyed the services and value of the Regency Club. Many of the staff there have been with us for over twenty years and their dedication to our guests is a great reason so many people are pleased with the Lounge experience. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Loved every minute of my stay here. The property was gorgeous. Tons of shops and restaurants - really didn't need to go off property except to go across the street to the beach. Stunning waterfall faces the lobby. Elevated lobby was nice. Rental car offices on site so super convenient if you decide to take a spur of the moment trip. Had cars available last minute but were a little pricy. Expedia representatives were very friendly. When we arrived, realized we booked a luau ahead of time for the wrong night and they were able to change the tickets to the correct night. Lost the voucher for the luau and they were still able to print us another one, no problem. Breakfast at Shor was fantastic. Great service and open-air seating available all three mornings we were there. Japengo had the best fried rice I have ever had. Wait staff was fantastic. Pool lounge chairs were some of the most comfortable I have ever experienced. Elevators were very quick. Had a room right next to the elevators and barely noticed it at all. Had a room that was a very partial ocean view, but could see the sunrise, which was spectacular. I can't wait to visit this property again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spatula259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future. We will make sure to forward your comments to the Expedia staff, SHOR, and Japengo.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
278 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,499 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $257 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing