We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,107)
Filter reviews
6,107 results
Traveler rating
2,720
2,149
798
261
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,720
2,149
798
261
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
3,714 - 3,719 of 6,107 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

It is 830am and I'm actually in one of the rooms here as I'm writing this review.

Was put up in a room right next to the elevator which is VERY loud. Was up all night because of the noise. Tried calling the front desk to ask if there's another room to switch to. The guy was rude and unsympathetic. Said they're fully committed and there's no room to switch to until tomorrow. So it will be another sleepless night.

I understand I checked in really early in the morning but if they were going to put me up in a room like this they could have explained and ask if I'd like to check in later.

This is supposed to be a birthday gateway but it turned out to be a very disappointing experience. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khlwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the post. We have investigated your comments and understand that you were room moved during your stay. We do regret that you did not like the service you received when you called for a room move and we will follow-up with our associates. We are sorry that your visit was not everything that you expected.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

After a lot of research and consideration, my girlfriend and I settled on the Hyatt Regency Waikiki as our base in Waikiki. It was my first visit to Hawaii and a lot of friends who are frequent travellers advised us to stay at the other end of Waikiki (near the Hilton or the Ilikai) but after reading numerous reviews on Trip Advisor and chatting to people we were glad we settled on the Hyatt. It is an older style hotel but the rooms are very large. Whilst the bathrooms are a little dated they are more than adequate. We were lucky to have a room with a beautiful ocean view and partial diamond head view. We did not have breakfast included in our package, so after trying a local restaurant for breakfast we decided to try the hotel breakfast which was fantastic and very well priced. We did not have the buffet but ordered from the menu (for Australians - order 1 serving of pancakes, waffles or eggs benedict as the serving sizes are very generous and you can top up with sides). We also had room service one night which was fine - the kitchen was very accommodating as my friend wanted just plain grilled chicken and rice and it was no problem at all (even though it wasn't a menu item).

The staff were lovely - very welcoming and helpful. There are ABC shops everywhere (to purchase drinks, snacks, breakfast items - which you can consumer on your balcony taking in the beautiful view). Yes it is a popular hotel with Japanese travellers - we found these groups to be so quiet and very polite as fellow travellers. We didn't use the pool (which is on the small side) as we were out and about every day and we ended up taking a leisurely walk down to the beach strip near the Hilton Village where you can hire an umbrella and 2 beach lounges for US$20 per half day (we went over time once and the beach guy was really accommodating and didn't charge us for the extra time). You can easily take lunch at one of the many hotels on the beach up this end and then return to relax on your beach lounge.

Shopping of course is fabulous in Waikiki - visit Ala Moana shopping centre and the Premium Outlets at Waikele. As we had a friend in Waikiki who had grown up in Hawaii, we were lucky enough to be taken to other shopping discount stores like Sports Authority, Ross's, Don Quixotie, Costco etc...

Tips for staying at Hyatt Regency Waikiki:
1. Ask for a quiet room away from lift on a high floor (unfortunately, there is still work going on, on waikiki beach directly in front of the hotel. Drilling seems to start around 6am and finishes around lunch time - wasn't too much of a problem for us - we preferred to sit on the beach and swim down near the Hilton Hawaii Village - nice walk and the water is crystal clear aqua blue to swim in). We were in the Ewa tower on the 35th Floor.
2. Buy snacks and drinks from ABC stores - there is a small fridge in the room.
3. Eat breakfast in the hotel - we felt it was good value and good quality food - ask for a table on the patio (has water view).
4. Check in on line in Reception for your return air flight home - too easy.
5. Premium Outlet shuttle and Ala Moana trolley stop right across the road - brilliant. Book shuttle through Reception to ensure you have a place on the bus.
6. Hotel is easy walking distance to Cheesecake Factory (great for dinner - huge portions though), Sephora - my favourite makeup store, Macy's and other upmarket stores.

I should also mention, we found a fab little Italian trattoria called Il Lupino - address as follows:
Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar
Royal Hawaiian Center, Bldg. B, Level 1
2233 Kalakaua Avenue, Suite 110
Honolulu, HI 96815
The food is fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor away from the lift well.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the comments. Please come and see us again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had an oceanfront room on the 38th floor. The view was absolutely stunning. The room was very comfortable and clean with a nice size balcony. The front desk and concierge were helpful and friendly. Japengo was delicious for dinner and we enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet at Shore. A nice touch was at the pool, when it for really hot in the afternoon they pool attendant would hand out free Otter Pops and cold washcloths to help you cool down. We loved everything about our stay and the negative reviews on here really baffle me.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We will share them with our staff. We hope you visit again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Having read the reviews and having stayed at the Hilton Grand Vacation Club (Lagoon tower) and Embassy Suites (before) I was reluctant to book to stay at the Hyatt but the hotel had a pretty decent 48 hour sale whereby we were able to book a regency club room for the price of a regular room. Regency club means: secured access to your floor 35-40, apparently slightly larger rooms and access to the regency club lounge which we found very helpful. At the RC lounge you get a nice buffet breakfast in the morning, an espresso machine which you can use througout the day, pretty decent appies 5pm-7pm and desert 7pm-8:30pm. This is very handy as the main restaurant had long line ups in the morning for breakfast plus this breakfast and appies are included in your room rate. The location is great, very close to the beach and in fact the RC lounge deck (lanai?) has a great view of Waikiki and Duke. We also took advantage of the beach chairs every day, taking them a short trip to the beach in front of the Royal Hawaiian. Close enough to the Queen Kapiolani park for a walk in the park every monring and a bit of tennis, close enough to the beach and Duke's for lunch, close enough to the shops for a walk after desert in the evening. Not as nice as the Lagoon tower of the HGVC but over there the price seems to have doubled over the last 3 years whereas the Hyatt's prices have stayed about the same. A bit nicer than embassy suites for about the same price but you don't get a suite.. Without access to the RC lounge I would probably stay at the Sheraton or Outrigger Reef before the Hyatt... Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Upgrade to regency club if you can...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Constantine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your comments regarding the Regency Club and the experiences you enjoyed utilizing the Lounge area. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Noisy is the only way to describe my experience. We were given a room that shared the same wall with the 40 floor elevator. When I said I would probably not be able to sleep because of the extreme noise and vibration, I was given a fan and ear plugs. I should have paid half the price and gotten a room at a 2 star resort, which is exactly how I would rate this hotel. Don't waste your money. If you do, don't expect much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Aloha

We value your hotel review. We try to resolve guest concerns immediately and with empathy. It seems from your post that you were not satisfied with the response you received from staff. Your comments will be shared with our management and associates.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews