We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$352
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$441
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$242
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,850)
Filter reviews
5,850 results
Traveler rating
2,586
2,074
770
251
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,586
2,074
770
251
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
3,653 - 3,658 of 5,850 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

What a terrible experience at this hotel for my wife and I. Checked in and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an oceanview room. However, that pleasantness was short-lived because we found ants in the room. The cleaning staff came and tried to get rid of the ants but couldn't so we were moved. Unfortunately for us, they moved us to a city view room on a low floor with two double beds. Of course I complained but they said they were completely booked. I didn't even get comped anything for all the trouble. What horrible customer service and what a horrible experience. I definitely recommend everyone stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brando_fett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Aloha,

We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with this feedback. We regret that you had to relocate during your stay. Not having the exact information of your particular visit we cannot give you an response about your stay comments, but we can tell you that we have definitely forwarded your remarks to our management team for review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt for a week in September. We got a great rate due to renovations going on. The renovations themselves did not have any negatives effects on our stay. The breakfast buffet was included and it turned out to be great. The location is right across the street from the beach. The Hyatt offered free towels, chairs, and boogie boards for use. This made it very convenient to grab your gear and walk across the street for a great time at the beach. The surrounding area is always alive with plenty of restaurants and shopping to keep you busy. There are several pickup points for buses and tours as well. The staff was quite nice and friendly. I would recommend the Hyatt to anyone looking to stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Synnyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Mahalo!

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you for the recommendation.

Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We recently stayed in the Waikiki Hyatt regency resort for our 5 year anniversary for a 6 nights. At the front desk, I asked for a quiet room, the ONLY two options I got was a room in the diamond head tower right in front the strike and a room besides the elevator in the quieter building. Of course "all rooms" happened to be all booked. Besides the non-stop bullhorn for 5 days of our 6 night stay, there was no house keeping for 4 days!

The strike noise and lack of services caused what should have been a relaxing vacation into a very taxing one. We are extremely disappointed with the management of this disaster (the strike); before we considered the Hyatt to be a well managed and reliable hotel franchise, that belief has been shaken if not destroyed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Junny_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Aloha,

We truly regret that your vacation experience, and especially your anniversary, was disrupted by the union demonstration. Our team works diligently to provide our guests with services that will make their stay more comfortable. While we are sorry that you were subject to the noise from Uluniu Avenue we are also sorry to read that you were unable to relocate to another available room of your liking. We appreciate your feedback and will share your criticisms with management.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at Hyatt for one night. The view of the ocean from our lanai was great. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The hotel is centrally located on Waikiki beach across the street from the ocean. There are also a lot of shops in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerHeatherVip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Aloha,

Thanks so much for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. He hope you will have an opportunity to stay a bit longer next time.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived as the hotel was under a union strike which meant that we were exposed to almost non-stop bullhorn shouting, marching workers blocking entrances and complete annoyance. It also meant that we didn't have any housekeeping for 6 out of the 8 nights we stayed there. The staff were gracious and welcoming despite the situation and did seem to do the best that they could given the options they had. They immediately arranged for us to move to the tower farthest from the shouting and gave us an awesome room with incredible view instead of the city view we were booked for. They also offered us free parking which we did use for the last 4 days of the stay. We loved the location of the hotel - right across from the beach, police station, and one block from the International Market. The hotel is lovely and it is laid out in a way which guarantees privacy and comfort despite the many rooms in both towers. We used the lanai deck every day, starting our day with breakfast with lovely breezes and beautiful views and ending the day with incredible sunsets. Each room is situated in a way which ensures that you don't hear the neighbors and the rooms were large and comfortable. The hotel is close to everything you need, but doesn't feel crowded or frantic. The pool was open, but it was pretty average - but why use a pool when such a beach is right there? They were still working on the spa and restaurant, and we only heard construction noise one time. Most of the time we were out of the hotel doing activities anyways. They provide free beach chairs, towels and boogie boards to borrow which helped us avoid the "pirates" renting such equipment on the beach; first come, first served, so get there early in the morning (before 8am) to get your loaner. We got help multiple times with directions, activities and boarding passes from the help desk and the staff who were working through the strike were always helpful, kind and professional despite the pressure they must have been experiencing. Hyatt has some great staff! We'd stay there again, but hope that we don't have to do our own housekeeping next time.

Room Tip: Ewa tower was great and closest to the International Market.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KateSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the feedback. We do regret that your visit was interrupted by the union activity. We have shared your compliments with all of the staff who were on property serving our guests. We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews