We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,098)
Filter reviews
6,098 results
Traveler rating
2,712
2,148
798
261
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,712
2,148
798
261
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
3,887 - 3,892 of 6,098 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

we were given a room next to the elevator in the Diamond Head Tower upon arrival. They said they could find no other room for us. Spent one sleepless night there and have to pack everything the next morning so they could transfer us to a less noisy room. Imagine after long hours of flight, try to sleep in a room which has the roller coster roaring sound every now and then.

In my opinion, the rooms next to elevators should not be used as guest room and I don't know how could these rooms pass the minimum noise standard when they get the permit. I guess the hotel makes more money by selling more rooms, but it really damages the reputation of Haytt.

Room Tip: If given a room next to elevator, refuse the room and ask for refund.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We do regret that you had such disturbing sleep on your first night. We hope the second room provided you with more comfort and a better night's rest. We will share your comments with our team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I would classify this as a great urban hotel, not so much a resort. Maybe that will change when the third floor is done. Although the hotel was undergoing construction, we weren't aware of it/couldn't hear it going on. We were gone during construction time (10:00 to 4:00).
This is a classy hotel with a wonderful central location, straddling two of the best beaches on Waikiki IMO, and surrounded by great places to eat, shop and gawk. The free torch ceremony/hula show is directly in front of the hotel. They offer free Tommy Bahama chairs with thick towels tucked in them to take to the beach. We took these to Hanauma Bay, Kailua, Lanikai and Waikiki. They also offer boogie boards and floats for free. The breakfast buffet at the Shore offered a wide selection of tasty food, beautifully presented with a great view. We got this for free with our package. Otherwise, it's pricey at $28 per person. The Hyatt offers beach services across the street which is a nice touch. You can charge food and activities to your room. The staff addressed us by name most of the time and were very professional and helpful. When I forgot my car seat, they searched for one for me. We very much lucked out with the room. We paid a prepay city view with breakfast and they gave us a deluxe ocean front room on the 31st floor. The view was AMAZING! The room was well appointed and big. The beds were comfortable albeit on the small side (we had two full size beds). The bathroom was a little outdated. Otherwise, the room was well appointed and attractive with nice Hawaiian art work. Parking is very expensive, so park at the Banyan for $10 a night. The Hyatt is a gigantic hotel and a little difficult to navigate at first. At first, I was taking the elevator to the second floor, walking through the mall and taking the elevator to the 31st floor. Eventually, I figured out how to bypass the mall. I think that when the third floor is done, this place has the potential to be a fabulous resort hotel. For now, the rating is really incomplete, as the hotel is incomplete. That being said, I don't think you'll be disappointed with the hotel. Do ask to get a room AWAY from the elevator, high up, and preferably ocean view or ocean front, of course:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room. You have given some great tips for those coming to visit. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future to experience everything we have been doing on the third floor.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent just about a week here on a romantic trip.

Pluses:
-Good location, right in the middle of all the Waikiki beach action, but not noisy (we got a high floor)
-Good housekeeping service
-Great breakfast with lots of variety and very friendly staff (if you can get to breakfast--see minuses, below)
-Convenience store downstairs
-Beach right across the street
-Great spa upstairs

Minuses:
-Clearly caters to Japanese clients (great if you're Japanese)--but gringos like us are clearly an afterthought, based on service we received at the front desk and elsewhere
-Rooms in need of some renovation--starting to wear around the edges
-Line for breakfast was literally an hour long most days--so we only had breakfast at the hotel one day out of six. AND the breakfast costs $20 (with a 'discounted' coupon).
-Pool is currently under renovation (which of course they didn't tell us when we booked the hotel)--so you have to use the pool at a neighboring hotel. Don't think so.
-Wireless internet is available in the rooms, but it costs ten bucks a day. And internet service in the business center is a dollar a minute.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SylvieRamonaBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that there were several aspects to your stay that you enjoyed. We also regret that there were areas that you felt needed more attention. We will share those specific comments with our management team so that they may review them with staff.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was our first stop on our tour of Hawaii. The hotel was beautiful, well-run and and a great location! Waikiki Beach is right across the street as are the shops. The breakfast place in Surf and Turf was awesome! The omelet cook is great! The spread of food and service was great. The only bummer was the pool was under construction, but when its done it will be amazing. We also loved the way the lobby was like a mall with a pretty waterfall. We had an awesome ocean view and diamond head view room! I highly rec. getting an ocean view room!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaiianskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for the comments. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely forward your compliments to the staff at the Shor American Seafood Grill, especially Dale the morning omelet chef.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We recently satyed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki. The location is excellent. Hotel is huge. We were not affected by the renovations on the third floor. We received a great rate and would stay again at that rate; however the hotel finishing and service was a bit less than I have come to expect from a Hyatt. But then we paid less than you would expect to pay for a Hyatt on the beach in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We regret that the service did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews