We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha

Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha
Ranked #1 of 98 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: HOPA is a Hawaiian treat shop best known for its all-natural, homemade, real fruit shave ice served with Pure Aloha daily. At the House, there are no strangers, only 'ohana yet to be met. Through the House of Pure Aloha, we aim to accomplish our true mission of "inspiring a movement of Pure Aloha one person, one relationship, one community at a time".
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The warm welcome of Uncle Clay is what makes this restaurant stand out. We had delicious shaved ice in various flavours (mango, guava, chocolate) but it was definitely the person of Uncle Clay that made the difference...such a lovely man.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    74
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting take on shave ice !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

They layer shave ice with a scoop of ice cream in the middle. Very good surprisingly!! Uncle Clay was there and he is very friendly. I highly recommend the chocolate coconut macadamia nut ice cream!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TresFess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

First time getting shave ice... Cute small business, friendly helpful servers. Shave Ice was amazing! And reasonable (10 bucks for two of us with tip) Get the dream sauce it's delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tbeard4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thing I put in my mouth!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had the large lilikoi/mango shave ice with Tahitian vanilla ice cream and it was indeed one of the best things I put in my mouth this year! Better dessert taste than most 5-star restaurants at half the price!!! As fantastic as Uncle Clay's flavors and taste treats are, the real treat is Uncle Clay himself! He is mister Pure Aloha! He loves God and he loves all the people who come and makes them part of his ohana (family) and introduces them to one another to spread the aloha! He cares about each and all who come and you can just feel his aloha (love) and joy to connect with you in loving welcome!!! This is a MUST-VISIT FOR ALL!!! This is the very best shave ice in Hawaii, and probably the whole world with the most joyful, loving, and genuinely personally welcoming host you will ever find! DO EVERYTHING YOU CAN TO GET HERE!!! YOU WILL BE BLESSED BEYOND YOUR IMAGINATION!!! MOST MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing shaved ice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We made our way here and it didn't disappoint! Some people preferred other places but this had a more natural nice flavour! It's uncle clay and the staff that make this place amazing! Will be returning when we come back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sobeau113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing