We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shave Ice”

Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha
Ranked #1 of 103 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: HOPA is a Hawaiian treat shop best known for its all-natural, homemade, real fruit shave ice served with Pure Aloha daily. At the House, there are no strangers, only 'ohana yet to be met. Through the House of Pure Aloha, we aim to accomplish our true mission of "inspiring a movement of Pure Aloha one person, one relationship, one community at a time".
Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Shave Ice”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Not your usual "Hawaiian shaved ice" as it is usually known on the mainland. We stopped here after turning around at the Kawaikui Beach Park. We just about missed it! Fresh and delicious. So many choices and flavors to choose from and we didn't even get to the toppings. Your eyes will close as you savor. Young man who served us honestly inquisitive as to where we were from, what we did, etc. A fine young man who will go far in life..... you can just tell. We will stop again when we come back! Mahalo, Uncle Clay

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    76
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The shave ice is amazing! Made with natural ingredients and featuring local flavors, it tastes unbelievably good. Be sure to get ice cream in your shave ice! Not only is the food good, but the Spirit of Aloha reigns supreme in this place. Uncle Clay and his nephew make everyone feel welcome and part of the family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SurfgirlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
427 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“This is the best shave ice you will ever have”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't be more enthusiastic than that. What makes this place stand out among all the other good ones is that their syrups really do taste better. All natural and no funny aftertaste like what you can find with some other places. Great tasting ice cream as well and with toppings like azurite beans you can pretty much crown these guys the best and leave it like that. The two girls who took our order and prepared the ices were so nice and friendly, you'd think we were family. Yes, this is far from the normal Waikiki path but its worth spending the extra time to visit this place.

Helpful?
6 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Shaved Ice Hands Down”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

You want to learn what HOPA is- pure Ahola Spirit? Come visit Uncle Clay. This is the first place we hit every time we come to Oahu. The ice cream is to die for, the syrups for the shave ice are all home made and incredible and Clay and his Nephew welcome every patron with the same sweet greeting. Every restaurant needs to visit Clay to understand the true meaning of customer service!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank savedru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Flavors are pure joy”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Uncle Clay makes all of his shave ice syrups using natural ingredients. It's hard to go anywhere else for shave ice after trying his. However, he serves more than snacks, he serves true, pure, aloha. If you're visiting from the mainland, you MUST stop by to talk to him and learn what aloha is all about. He seems to always take the time to meet his customers and learn a little about them and where they live.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing