We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Take-out”

Barefoot Beach Cafe
Ranked #105 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: NOT YOUR TYPICAL SNACK BAR. Barefoot Beach Cafe is a casual cafe on Queen's Beach at the Diamond Head end of Waikiki, right at the surf spots known as "Publics." Breakfast served daily from 7am-2pm, lunch & dinner from 11am to 8:30pm. Featuring steak, fresh seafood, burgers, hot dogs, sandwiches, salads and daily specials. Located in Kapiolani Park across from the Kapiolani Park Bandstand (look for the red umbrellas). Friendly service and great prices. Beach BBQ featuring live music every Friday & Saturday (5:30pm-8:30pm). Check the website for our entertainment calendar. We are also available for private parties and special events! Contact Sakara Blackwell for more information.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Take-out”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This one has cheaper prices than the diamond-head one and you can take it and go sit on the wall at the water and watch the sun set.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLHoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    179
    55
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Right in Waikiki Beach Park!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent fish offerings. Good calamari. Very reasonably priced for Waikiki. Great location (in middle of Waikiki Beach Park). Outside tables only.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank specht3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a cute little place right on the beach, I just walked by and decided on a whim to eat there as there aren't a lot of other places nearby. The area was clean, though as another reviewer commented, there were a few flies, though not terrible. I mean like there were one or two that buzzed around, I wasn't terribly bothered by them. The birds, yeah, don't feed them. They're so confident they'll practically hop on your lap, and WILL hop on your table when you're eating. Some people next to me made the mistake of tossing them some food and they practically dive-bombed the table.

The food was decent, and offered on cute little wooden plates, and not too badly priced either. I'd definitely eat there again if I was around there. They gave a lot of fries, more than I was expecting. The shakes were also good, and came with a cute flower! I didn't have to wait too long, and they were decently busy I'd say, with all the tables in the front occupied. Plus it's a quick walk from a number of hotels and right on the beach.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware...there are three Barefoot Beach Cafe locations!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

There is a lovely location along Queen's Park which we had seen on our last visit to Oahu but there are also 2 other Barefoot locations down on Ala Moana Beach. One just has drinks and shave ice but the other one has a menu of plate lunches etc. This is the one we ended up at and regrettably had a very poor experience. My daughter and I ordered the garlic shrimp which I must say had an awesome sauce with it and they were accomodating enough to make a gluten free version of it for my daughter...the cook offered with a smile. But my husband and son ordered simple hot dog and fries and they were horrible and cold. My meal was missing a side dish and when I commented on it she made me bring my meal back up to the window and prove it. The woman at the window (this location has an order window/pick up window and a couple of very grimy plastic tables out front) appeared to be running the place and SHE was what really ruined our visit the most as she was unbelievably rude and ignorant. Our food took forever to be ready and the swarm of flies (probably due to the filthy seating area) made it quite unbearable. A lot of outdoor eateries in Hawaii and never saw flies anywhere but here. Just to keep them away from us I had to put a tray of food at the opposite end of the table and within minutes it was black with hundreds of flies...not exaggerating one little bit. I do know the Queen's park location is not like this so do enjoy a meal there but not at this horrible woman's Ala Moana site.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
“100% good”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I wish someday I live here so that I can eat here every single day.the price is very good,delicious food,and very friendly service.i love this place so much,wish I live here.very recommend this lovely place

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slaccah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing