We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant stay”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Unpleasant stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was the worst stay we've had in Waikiki and we've been here many times. We always stay at lower-priced hotels, usually further from the beach than this. We were attracted here by the location, the website photos, and the pricing which was shown as about 50% off the list of $ 220 or so. Having now stayed there we are reminded "if it sounds too good to be true it probably is" The room was extremely small, maybe 120 square feet as shown on the website but had a small dresser, no table or chair, so the suitcases went on the dresser and we sat on the bed, which was a mattress on particle board and sagged badly to the center. The room floor was sticky from something and generally dirty.
There was a light right outside the bathroom window and with no curtains on bath and half of bedroom it was like daylight or worse all night. In addition the windows were both very high and frosted so there was no view, city or otherwise. The breakfast was fair, watery juice and only milk for the coffee, but some decent pastries. Breakfast and Wi-Fi, along with a Honolulu paper are included in the $10 amenity fee..
Although the location is good the neighborhood isn't, especially at night, with questionable noisy neighbors and also busses running most of the time.
We did find the staff pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of looking at different types of curtains to eliminate the light that comes through the bathroom window and also double pane windows to eliminate sound. Most of the floors were just polished and yours may not have been totally dry when you checked in and may have been the reason the floor was a little sticky. I apologize for that. All of our beds are just a few years old so it is surprising to hear they are sagging, but thank you for the comment, we will certainly look into this.

As you have stated, Stay has a good location and the price is right. The police station is a block away and that helps make the area pretty safe. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectation on this trip, but hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain your much valued patronage in the future.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    256
    193
    104
    98
See reviews for
138
339
139
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here our first night. Room was aweful. Air conditioning didnt work; it sits right next to a hostel. No walls really; just frosted glass shutters; felt like I was sleeping outside. Buses, motorcycles, people talking. You could hear everything. They offer a continental breakfast but had nothing there during the time posted. They said they're driver was late. They ran out of beach towels and barely gave us enough shower towels. The bathroom was aweful and small. Would not ever return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunloving23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Stay. We are in the process of obtaining bids to replace the glass shutters with double pane windows to help eliminate the noise. Sometimes being centrally located has its drawbacks. The continental breakfast is explained at check in and there is also a notice in your room key packet, I'm sorry you did not see it. We don't have a driver on staff nor do we have any control over the tour or taxi operators being on time.

I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit, but hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to gain your much valued patronage.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a nice room,but when you take into consideration the price, it was a great room. The location was 1/2 block from the beach. The room was clean and bright. The only negative was that the bathroom was a bit small but functional. The other pleasant surprise was the bar and restaurant. They had a good happy hour and when I was there they were changing the menu and they offered me some samples ......nice choices and reasonable prices. When I return for more business trips, it will definitely be my place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Aloha Mark,

Mahalo for your comments. Glad to see you enjoyed your hard earned vacation at Stay and got to enjoy some great Happy Hour prices at Sway.

We look forward to hosting you in our home again in the near future!

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed at. The buses pick up outside all day and night . Very noisy and exhaust. They took our towels and had none to give us back until the end of the day. The pictures of the hotel are very deceiving. Then they charged me for my room after I has prepaid

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank reddeb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience during your recent visit. Unfortunately, being in the heart of historic Waikiki, it does get a little noisy. We are in the process of installing double pane windows to keep out the noise, this should help provide a better guest experience. If the matter of us charging you after you had prepaid has not been resolved, please contact me and we will take care of it as soon as possible. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was extremely pleased with the hotel staff, they accomodated our room with a cot and bar fridge. The continental breakfast was fresh and varied each and every day. The hotel is located one block from Waikiki Beach, would definitely recommend for another holiday whether one week or two

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Aloha Paul,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel was a budget location choice. It turned out to be a real surprise. Rooms are Spartan. Clean and comfortable. Staff is very nice. Restaurant/Bar on premise is a great place to get out of the humidity and heat. Happy hour hs great prices. The deserts served are amazing. Location is fantastic. o a side street but close to everything in Waikiki.

Room Tip: From what I could see - any room above 3rd floor is acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bidman1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your total experience during your recent visit. Glad to see you stopped in the restaurant for some excellent food and drinks. Hope you worked on your tan!

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Stay hotel for 5 nights on Oahu and 1 additional night on our return trip to the mainland from island hopping. The hotel was a very nice surprise. Clean, friendly and convenient to beach, shopping, food, activities. You can expect some low city noise but nothing that would spoil your stay. It is, after all, the city. Room was spacious enough to not feel cramped, with room for storage. Furnishing were modern with a clean "minimalist" approach. No clutter. The bed was comfortable with what felt like luxury sheets. Definitely a great value for the money. The staff is great. Jasmine, at the front desk, is awesome. She made us feel like family. All the front desk people are attentive, friendly and very accommodating. The restaurant in the hotel is a hidden treasure. Great happy hour and a menu that will take you by storm. Lots of wonderful meals to chose from, good size portions, fresh, delicious food with great presentation. You are really getting a great value. . The lounge/lobby area is comfortable as well. I would recommend this hotel and will most definitely be back again! Mahalo!

Small items that would use help:
The lobby printer for guests was out-of-order.
The continental breakfast was scaled back on our last morning. Please bring back the eggs, waffles, sausage, microwaves, etc. It is welcomed by travelers like me who don't expect to spent $25 for breakfast and have to wait for service. It was a treat to have the eggs, etc that you can eat and get on with your day quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your comments with us. Wow, we are thrilled to see we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your entire experience during your recent visit. I agree with you that Jasmine is awesome, that's why she is our supervisor. Can't say enough about the food at Sway, they do an amazing job. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on breakfast, we will certainly consider your comments.

We look forward to hosting you in our home again in the near future.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,328 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Property: Stay Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing