We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grungy but for the price you're near Waikiki”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“grungy but for the price you're near Waikiki”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked this through a hotel website and it was one of the cheaper places near Waikiki. You are about a block from the beach so for the price it couldn't be beat. It however feels like a converted apartment block, so the foyer is like the pictures but then once you get into the elevator (which is small) and go down the outdoor hallway to your room, it feels like you're in a grungy apartment complex. The lock on the door seemed flimsy and even though we were on the 4 floor I felt very exposed. The room is tiny and although the decor is as pictured, it's like putting lipstick on a pig - the mattress is thin and uncomfortable, the walls are thin and the bathroom is small and dirty. I don't think it's because they haven't cleaned it, it's just dirty the way old apartment bathrooms get dirty. We stayed 2 nights and had no major issues so if price is your limit, then by all means okay, but if you have the money, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    256
    193
    104
    98
See reviews for
138
339
139
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we booked a room at this hotel it was the first time that we hadn't read the tripadvisor reviews. And when we got there we really wished we had!
As most of the reviews say, the pictures that they have on their website and on other websites, have nothing to do with reality. We booked it based on these beautiful - deceiving - photos of a bright, spacious, modern, clean room and what we got was a tiny, dirty, dark hole. Not where you expect to stay in Hawaii, a dream-of-a-lifetime place. At first sight seems renovated, with modern furniture, but in reality is abandoned and sleazy. It's dirty and not at all great value for money.
When we saw the room, we ran down immediately and asked if they could move us to another room. We were told that we had to wait for the next day, because at that time they were fully booked. With no other choice we had to sleep in that room for the night.... The soundproofing? Non existent! Zero! Worst sleep ever.
Anyway, the following morning, went down for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was a joke!!! It was a small corner, with some weird looking muffins and a couple of other things. OMG! It was the most pathetic breakfast EVER! Better remove it folks, take it out of your hotel's services!
After that went straight to the front desk and requested another room. The lady said we had to wait till 12.00 to see the only other room available, which was sliiiiiiightly bigger but overall similar to ours. We then asked if we could get a refund in case we'd like to move out and she said yes. That was it. We found a decent hotel a block away with less money!
Terryfing experience, honestly. Just don' t bother, don't waste you time or money here.
The two stars review is only for the great location and for the very helpful staff. Especially for Phyllis, on the front desk, who was very kind and polite.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maraki_Dimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The first day we got in, the shower head was leaking water and the toilet was clogged. The water sprayed over the shower curtain and flooded the bathroom floor. I must say the staff is very nice and they were able to get maintenance to fix the leak and unclog the toilet that night. The room does not have the typical sealed windows so it gets very noisy at night. You will hear buses and garbage trucks, as well as any construction that is going on in the area. I suggest you bring ear plugs if you are staying here. Housekeeping did not clean our room very well on a daily basis. They basically just tidied up the room like make your bed and change the towels. You can tell they do not vacuum, scrub the bathroom, or wipe any tabletops down because I see the same stains and hair on the floor. I also saw a huge roach one day right outside of our room. Some of their sheets/towels/blankets are stained. Breakfast does not consist of any hot food, there is tea/coffee, cereal, toast, or some pastries. There is also no fridge, microwave, or water boiler included in your room, but they do have a hair dryer. They say that they have beach gear available, but their beach gear is 3 beach mats, 2 floaties, and 1 beach chair. They do not have any towels available until 2pm, so I suggest you grab whatever beach gear you need the night before. They also charge you a $10 per day fee for wifi, but their wifi is sooooo slow. There were times when I could not go onto anything on my iPhone. In conclusion, I would not stay here again and do not recommend it, but if you are just looking for a low budget place to sleep for 6 hours that's close to the beach and shopping then it might be ok for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic for young travelers who are not expecting a serene resort. I have a little news for all of the travelers complaining about the noise - Waikiki is probably the noisiest place on Oahu. That's not the hotel's fault. If you want a quieter tropical Hawaiian vacation, go to a neighbor island like Maui or Kauai. It's going to cost you, but you'll get some peace and quiet.

This hotel room was clean, small but cozy, and my room had an adorable little balcony. I don't mind the amenities fee because it's small, and it's Hawaii, everything is expensive.

I will definitely stay here again next time I come back to Hawaii to visit friends. The staff were helpful and friendly, the place is about one block from the beach, and during my stay, it was actually very quiet and calm. Very pleasantly surprised and glad to have such a great place to stay for cheap in Honolulu!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, and you can always ask when you book. That's definitely a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilTundah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha LilTundah,

A big Mahalo (thank you) for your very accurate and honest review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and look forward to seeing you here again in the very near future!

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The pictures online are not accurate. Crunchy sheets, cockroaches, and a disgusting shower. Top it off with hidden "amenities fee" for water and a picked over breakfast. Parking is a $ 20 additional fee. It is located in the middle of the city and the noise is CRAZY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha Terah,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy you visit with us and did not see our amenity fee notice when you book your vacation. Our fees are listed on every website where you can book us, depending on the website, the notice may be in different areas. We also explain this upon check in and give you a coupon to our restaurant Sway to offset the cost of the amenity fees.

Like any tropical destination, we do have insects. Our pest control company sprays the property every two weeks. Parking has long been an issue in Waikiki and our $20 fee is a lot more reasonable than other hotels, if they offer any parking at all. As for the noise, we are in the heart of one of the busiest tourist destinations in the world and unfortunately it does get a little noisy.

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, but hope that you at least took home many fond memories of your recent vacation.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room is clean, comfortable and the staff is exceptional. Free continental breakfast, beach gear to share, free wifi... all a very nice touch. We have stayed elsewhere in Waikiki for more and got much, much less. Convenient location, close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinplescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha Robin,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with everyone. We are thrilled to see that you and our family enjoyed your recent vacation at Stay. All of us look forward to perhaps hosting you in our home again in the near future.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you dont want to pay out for a really expensive hotel on the beach. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful, it is a minutes walk from the beach and it is close to the main area with restaurants and shops. We organised to visit Pearl Harbor ourselves and reception booked us a shuttle that picked us up from the hotel ($16 return - organised tours are much more expensive!). The hotel also booked us a shuttle to take us to the airport which was $12. There is a $10 resort fee which we knew abut before travelling - however we had stayed in other hotels across America and had been charged up to $28 a night resort fee so it is good value compared to other places (and the wifi does work well in the hotel. You are also given a code when you check in to access wifi on the beach although that was a bit hit and miss). The rooms were definitely adequate in size for two people and cases and we had a balcony. (if you are floor 5 and up you get a balcony) We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If you want a balcony ask for a floor from Floor 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tisker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Aloha tisker76,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear you found us to be a great value and that you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl T. Nakachi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,328 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Property: Stay Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing