We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location but some points to improve...”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 4 days in 2 different rooms during august. If you are looking for a hotel next to the beach and close to nearby services in Honolulu, this is the place.
On the good side, location is the most positive point and some of the staff are very helpful. Breakfast acceptable.
On the not so good side we have to say that rooms are quite tiny an depending on the area quite noisy. We couldnt rest some of the days because that annoying noise...but no problem because the breakfast is served at 7 am so you can set off really early.... :> On top of that, we have to notice that when making a reservation with the parking lot, and having confirmed it 3 times, when we arrived at the hotel they just simply had released it. When problems arisen, part of the staff was not attentive and service was quite dissapointing. In our opinion some of the skills and competences of staff attending customers should be reviewed, attitude is basic when helping others... this will probably be an exception, but good management has to be aware about all these cases...

Room Tip: try upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 864 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked the Stay Hotel for our recent trip to Oahu because the location was great and the price was right. Other reviewers are completely correct in noting that the rooms are TINY (and the bathroom is even smaller), but since we spent most of our time out and about it was exactly what we needed: A comfortable bed, air conditioning and a shower :). it was actually quite cozy, really.

The only thing that I really felt Stay Hotel was missing was a mini-fridge in the room. This is the one thing that kept me from rating this property "Very Good" and that might keep me from staying there again. So that's my one piece of feedback -- I hope they take it into consideration!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I must say, in all fairness, that the staff at Stay Hotel are absolutely wonderful and helpful. However, for future guests, please note of the following: You will be charged an extra $10 PER DAY for a so called "amenities fee," which is not mentioned on their website at all--very sneaky, made me feel taken advantage of! They don't mention this to you until you arrive at the hotel, what's up with that?! The charge is for a purported "amenities fee," which is basically for internet access and breakfast--bland toast and coffee that is on display just so the hotel can say they serve "continental breakfast." Also, please note that if you go to Stay Hotel's website, it is listed that they have "complimentary WiFi internet access" which is not the case at all, as they charge you for this without having it mentioned to you until you arrive at the hotel. "Complimentary" eh? ... Overall, staff are nice but it is a misleading hotel; very sneaky indeed. Oh, and also, my room was far from the pictures posted on their website: we were given bunk beds--no joke. A hotel with bunk beds (and I was with a girl I was trying to impress)--she slept above me and I under her; just awful.

Room Tip: Note of the $10 PER DAY charge that is not mentioned on their website! Make sure you don't get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCA604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am pretty torn about the Stay. The good: Great location right by the beach, many shops, restaurants, int'l market etc, and it's right across the street from the Hyatt which is a pick up location for most tour buses and luau transportation so that's good. The staff was really friendly and gave good directions and tips (add sugar to the poi). They have complimentary beach toys in lobby which is always nice. The bad: the breakfast was very dissapointing, these use to be UH dorms and are set-up up like so, NO REFRIGERATOR, very loud, we asked for additional blankets on the first night and they were out, I mean really a hotel out of blankets? Wi-fi was terrible but they do have computers and printing in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 x nights and took on board the reviews. It is one block back from the beach, clean and comfortable. Daily breakfast was toast, pastries and very strong coffee. I took my own coffee bags and just had toast. You can get extra fruit from ABC next door and stuff for lunch. I took ear plugs and a night mask. I felt safe. The staff are friendly and accommodating. In fact my stay was so positive, I have changed my accommodation nod coming back for the rest if my stay. Tips: walk to the DFS store and get the 1 day green red and pink trolley pass, then get the blue pass for $10.00 extra. That is your sight seeing taken care for three days. Dinner at Blazing Steaks 2x was cheap and really tasty.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank ulimasao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Got a fantastic secret deal through late rooms type website, arrived at 7am and was going to be leaving at 3am next day, offered to pay extra if I could get a room right away. Nice guy on the desk swapped me out of the room I was meant to be in (8th floor) to fourth floor and I was able to have shower after my long flights and sleep straight away.

I wasn't charged any extra either - just one day amenity fee. The drawback was the room was lower - just above the entrance to the hotel, and faced the road .

Basic Room looks good, clean and bright (had two single beds in mine), but have to agree with others about the poorly fitted louvre windows being the wrong choice for a hotel, they let in all the noise of the people partying and frequent buses that use the road outside. Shower pressure was good for me.

Location is pretty good with all of Waikiki needs in walking distance. elevator is quite a physical beast trying to bite you as others have said. Fire alarm also went off (when I was lathered in the shower of course),

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raroliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

great staff very friendly! let us use a bottle of sunblock each day we were there great location. box full of beach accessories in lobby that you can use.
continental bfast in morning.bad that check in is not till 4 but they will take your bags and lock them up for you then call you if your room is ready early

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
686 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,814 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $118 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the newly renovated International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing