We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, average hotel...”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, average hotel...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I value trip advisor and really rely on others who travel and take it the ratings into consideration so I had to make this review. First of all GREAT GREAT service, everyone was so friendly and nice. Secondly, it was clean, however it's just an average hotel. Great price for the location, it's in the heart of Waikiki and you can walk to everywhere, but if you're used to staying in a 4+ star, don't get your hopes up. The rooms are soooo small, no great place to but your luggage and although I said it was clean, it wasn't a floor that I wanted to keep my luggage. If you're looking for something affordable and economical, this is the place to go, but if you're looking for something a bit nicer you're going to have to pay more. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    258
    198
    105
    99
See reviews for
140
346
139
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked this hotel based on price and location, both of which were excellent. However, there was a mistake in my reservation. We were supposed to have two beds and we only had one. Their solution was a roll in cot, not a new room with two beds. That was disappointing but not the end of the world. The room was mostly clean and VERY tiny. I have to admit the photos online are misleading. Road noise was a bit of an issue but was mostly solved by turning the A/C full blast. I was disappointed to see an extra $10 fee for my room to cover 'complimentary amenities'. It included DVD rentals, continental breakfast and wifi. We literally just needed a place to sleep so we only used the wifi, which in the end was not complimentary, it was $10. The staff was friendly but not very accommodating. I really wish my reservation was sorted out properly. I would still recommend this place if you aren't going to spend much time in your room and want to be in a decent spot in Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaMarie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel has lost our reservation when we came in. By the time they found it. We wanted a redund cuz of the atmosphere the place had. It's dirty smells like smoke. Sand everywhere. Very noisy just over all a horrible location besides the part where it's a block away from the beach. But other than that nothing. The pictures are so miss leading. Does not look anything like that in real life. If your planing on staying at stay Waikiki. I recommend you pay they extra 100 200 bucks and stay somewhere nice like the Marriott where we ended up staying at. Not worth your money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhdanyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blanting2, Owner at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Please accept my apologies for your less-than-satisfactory stay. By all means, if money is no object, there are several very upscale hotels in the immediate area. On the other hand, if you are on a budget and looking for a hip, young hotel in an outstanding location, Stay is probably for you. For all who are reading these reviews, let me offer a bit of advice. If you can afford to spend just a few dollars more, upgrade to one of Stay's upper-floor rooms with a balcony. These are usually only about $10 more than some of our cheapest rooms, and well worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through Groupon for 2 nights during our 5 in Waikiki. First glace, the building was small (we expected that based on reviews) and the lobby had modern chairs, computers and a TV. There were several people hanging out down there. Oddly enough, we kept seeing the public computer logged onto TripAdvisor rating the hotel with 5 stars. The front desk staff was friendly. We got into our room and we were shocked by how small it was. Being that we were on a 2 week honeymoon, there was not enough room for our luggage and us.The window was slated and frosted so not being able to see outside made the room feel very claustrophobic. We asked to be moved to a different room. They understood and moved us to a room with a sliding glass door and small balcony, same size but felt more open. That night after walking around the room, we found the floor to be very dirty, if we didn't wear flip flops to walk the few steps to the bathroom, our feet were too dirty to get in bed. We also found a small cockroach. We checked out the next day.

Pros:
Cheap, TV, PS2, free DVDs, friendly staff, good location, good AC

Cons:
Small, tiny bathrooms, dirty (floors at least)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eppppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blanting2, Owner at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Please accept my apologies for your unsatisfactory stay. As I have mentioned in previous managment responses, Stay Waikiki has a spectrum of room types to choose from...some are small and some are huge. Petitie Queens and bunkbed rooms are smaller. Standard Queens and Doubles are larger. Queen rooms with sofa sleepers are typically very large. Just cal and ask somebody at the hotel if you have any questions about the size of the room you are booking. Also, if you book a standard queen, ask if you can be put in a room on one of the upper floors. These typically have balconies, which are nice to have.

As for the dirty floor comment, the hotel has recently invested in new floor buffers which should take care of any problems that might have existed previously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want a budget hotel to stay, STAY here. You don't spend your time on a vacation in your room....it's just a place to sleep. Staff are awesome. The amenities had a fee, but paying for the fee included free wifi, dvd rental, continental break. You would pay for those fees separate at other places and it would cost more than the $10 daily fee they charge. We will definitely STAY here again!!! CHEAP/CONVINIENT LOCATION/AWESOME STAFF

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blanting2, Owner at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you had a nice stay. I am also glad that you get the point beind the hotel's amenity fee. Yes, we could charge for breakfast, WiFi Internet access (both in the hotel and, through a deal we have made with a local wireless Internet access company, throughout Honolulu), endless DVD movies and video games, and newspapers. However, it would cost a lot more than $10 per day. So, we just bundle everything up for one low daily fee. We even throw in free use of beach mats and boogie boards. I don't want to point fingers, but many of the hotels in the Waikiki Beach area charge a daily resort fee that doesn't include any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was surprised at the low price of the hotel when I booked it, but it was not a brand name and the picures looked a little to retro for my taste, but knowing the proximity to the beach, I was okay with it. It was one of those grow on me experiences. When we arrived, we were surprised with a $10 fee per day, but I soon found out that it was well worth it. Once we bought a simple meal at a dive resteraunt nearby and paid $30.00, we appreciated the continental breakfast. They had many choices of pastries and were quick to replentish. The lobby area was relaxing to eat in. We also liked the ability to connect to WiFi while we were there.
The most surprising thing though (and the thing that really made $10 a day worth it) was the courtesy of the staff and the ability to just grab whatever beach item we wanted from a box in the lobby. We could get snorkle gear, boogie boards, beach towels, beach chairs and bamboo mats. Just grab and go one block to the beach when your done just return them to the box.
I will return and will tell everyone I know who is looking for value in Waikiki about the STAY HOTEL!
Ohh - one other thing. We thought we did not have a referigator in our room, but a staff member named Sam was taking one out of someones room near us and he offered it to us - no extra charge. Again - great value!!!
I have stayed at four other hotels in the area. The Stay has earned a repeat customer from me.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 5 have a slight view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was horrible! Our room looked nothing like the pictures. There was hair every where, and the sheets were dirty. The bathroom was not clean, and we couldn't even walk barefoot on the floor. Upon our first night, we had no pillows in our room. We had to ask for them at the front desk, then wait an hour to receive them. We were told we would be comped one night for the amenity fee because of the inconvenience, but that didn't happen. We had to pay for all. We complained every day to the staff about our room, and everything else that became wrong, and no one would do anything. They would just shrug and say "Sorry" and go back to whatever they were doing. We talked to multiple staff at the front desk and kept getting the same response every time. We had to sleep on old dirty sheets the entire stay! We were very disappointed to find that the restaurant/nightclub was not open like we were originally told. Upon arriving there, we find it's still under construction. That was the main reason for booking this hotel! After inquiring about this, we find the main website for this hotel has changed it's date when it had specifically stated early 2012 before. Now it says 2013. We were unable to access any of the amenities that we were having to pay for. We couldn't access the Wi-Fi, we were unable to eat their "food" since it's against our dietary needs, and there was not any beverages. The "movie box" didn't have a single movie in it the entire time we we there! Not right to pay an extra fee when we are unable to access them. The only thing we got out of that was the use of their towels to take to the beach, which were also dirty. This was a terrible stay, and we will NOT be going back. Most of the staff was unhelpful, and one even steered us in the wrong direction as to where to catch the bus. We had to wait 45 minutes at the wrong bus stop! We felt very deceived, and we were unable to get our money back to leave the hotel and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
612 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,647 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,347 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
665 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Property: Stay Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing