We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stay Hotel Waikiki
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$208
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$289
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$396
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$160
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveler rating
195
293
224
121
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
293
224
121
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach equipmentboogie boardsfarmers marketsmall hotellight sleeperfantastic locationmini fridgeabc storeshops and restaurantsblockwaikikihawaiihyattkoamatsaloha
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 942 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came to Hawaii on a budget Honeymoon! We love this location and the staff! They took care of us. They were very clear on all the amenities available. And when the city sirens went off during the Tsunami warning they were in total control and directed us where we would be safest! It's not fancy and does not have a pool. But really if you are coming to Hawaii WHY do you need a pool? You are on the BEACH! If we had the choice to stay at one of the other more costly hotels we would still choose to stay her with Stay Waikiki!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although it might not have the glamour of many hotels in Waikiki, Stay hotel had exactly what we wanted it for the right price. We had a ocean view from our balcony and a good size room for two (#806). The bed was comfortable and was better than many I have slept on. Housekeepers to a great job changing sheets and keeping the room clean. I'd say the best thing about the hotel was the location, we could walk to everything to wanted and the beach was only a block away. Down side would be that the restaurant on the bottom floor isn't finished and their breakfast consists of bread, jam and juice. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Floors 6, 7 & 8 should provide an ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lbrown428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

travelercare@How we came upon this hotel….
We did a search online for hotels for October 6th, and 7th
The search brought up the Hyatt Regency having rooms available for $119, knowing the Hyatt had clean rooms and a good reputation, as we have stayed at the Hyatt before and liked the service we received and knew they had nice clean rooms.
We clicked on the Hyatt Regency, it sent us to Orbitz, and we made our reservation.

On the receipt, Orbitz gave us a receipt for this hotel below… Having almost the same identical address, as the Hyatt back entrance. We did not realize the word Stay was the name of a hotel.
We just thought it was a fluke and that maybe the Hyatt had more than entrance and more than one address.
This picture they have posted online

Totally Misrepresented: (see our actual room pictures below)
1. The pictures posted on the net were not taken from anything we saw. Actual room was tiny, dark, dirty, unsafe, and probably infested. Room # 404 that we were given was not anything like the pictures on line.
2. Hotel staff told us they did not feel comfortable putting us in the room above that we saw online and instead gave us a double bed that they said was a better bigger room.
3. Hotel staff would not let us enter or see our room or any room until after 4:00 pm. We asked if they could hold our luggage until the room was ready so we did not have to cart it around the island. Waiting for the room to become available, we decided to go sightseeing, the local beach, stores and the area around Waikiki, just to kill time.
4. Hotel staff allowed us to leave our luggage in a cluttered dirty back room on the 1st floor. They did not give us a receipt for our storage luggage and did not have a separate secure place for it.
5. Giving the hotel staff an extra hour, we waited until 5 pm to return to the hotel. However, after seeing our room, we were appalled; we immediately went to the desk and tried to cancel our reservation. The hotel staff would not let us cancel our room reservation, stating the reservation was thru Orbitz and we had to cancel thru Orbitz! Hotel staff stated there was a 24-hour minimum cancellation in effect. If we were to leave, they would charge us for a full night whether we stayed or not! We had no other place to go.
6. The elevator doors were very mean to everyone and kept closing on guests. Even after the door hit you, it kept hitting you!
7. Upon entering, the back room on the 1st floor to get our luggage there was a huge cockroach lying dead next to our suitcases. We informed the hotel staff that the cockroach was there, hotel staff pretended not to hear our comment about the bugs lying dead on the floor!
8. Our room door to the outside had no threshold under the door and the door had a gap of an inch or more from the door to the concrete floor and anything could crawl in or out during the night.
9. The hot water faucet in the tub worked backwards and was dangerous – turns counterclockwise to turn down or off, cold is opposite clockwise for off (the way it should be).
10. The bed was a single mattress lying on thin sheets of sagging chipboard. The mattress was held in place on 3 sides with additional molding attached to the chipboard, the front of the mattress was held in place with drywall screws that were sticking out of the chipboard approximately 1 inch.
11. The light switch when we finally found it was on the floor, in a cord behind the dresser cabinet.
12. Windows are the older tiny louvered, drafty, type. We were unable to see out. Even if the windows had been clean, they were too high up in the room, and over the bed, so no windows to look out of at all, and very little light in, sort of like a dungeon.
13. The carpet - more like an area throw rug was filthy.
14. Behind the bed and the TV dresser was filthy and dirty, (had not, been vacuumed in quite some time).
15. The elevator doors were very mean to everyone and kept closing on guests. Even after the door hit you, it kept hitting you! Trying to get out was a repeat fight with the elevator doors.
16. The dog next to the room kept barking constantly we are talking approximately 10 feet away just on the other side of the concrete balcony and walkway.
17. The room was so bad we did not feel comfortable or safe disrobing, opening any of our luggage for fear bugs would get into our luggage or even our bed. We left all the lights on when attempting to sleep to keep the critters away. Sleeping on the beach probably would have been cleaner, quieter and or healthier.
18. My wife put the supposedly clean towels on the floor from the bathroom to the bed for us to walk on so our clean feet would not get dirty going to the bathroom.
19. The towels/rags had black hair stuck in them from the last guests who had long, black, course hair.
20. The throw pillow that was on the bed also had stains on it from some previous guest.
21. The outside sheet was not clean.
22. Behind the bed and dresser was more hair, dust and dirt that was obviously from the staff or previous customers that had worked or played in room 404.
23. Trying to get out was a repeat fight with the elevator doors, repeatedly hitting our luggage and us.
24. We did not get our Complimentary Breakfast – after seeing the big cockroach, and the other filth, we did not deem it safe to eat the food. Nor was the breakfast ready when we hurriedly exited the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
25. Hotel staff would not give us a check out receipt, stating that we had to get if from Orbitz, so we still do not know what we were charged, for that night in hell.

The night hotel staff stated, they would only charge us for one night – although we could not get them to give us any documentation to that effect. Refund or not we could not subject ourselves to another night in that hotel with these conditions.

We went down the street to the “Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel” (right on the beach) where we received superior service. We got an excellent, large, clean, quiet room, two queen beds, continental breakfast, beach picnic with free complimentary picnic cooler, proper plumbing, free entertainment, pool, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, numerous complimentary soaps and lotions, free beach chairs to take to the beach from the hotel which was just out the front door, all with no night critters. We had excellent beach view, much better location actually on the beach street. The best investment and the best $24 we have ever spent. I was sick the next day, but my wife and I did make it out of that room alive. We may or may not get our money back, but we are doing everything possible to reduce the number of unsuspecting suckers like us.

LDW – Seattle, extremely disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blanting2, Owner at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Let me start by apologizing for the initial mix-up that you had with Orbitz regarding the Hyatt Hotel. It is unclear whether Orbitz allowed you to book a room at the Hyatt but then sent you to Stay Waikiki instead, or (more likely) if you mistakenly booked our hotel thinking that you were making a reservation at the Hyatt. Regardless, I am afraid that it would probably would have been impossible for us to recover from this first-impression situation since Stay Waikiki is definitely not the Hyatt Hotel. Stay is a 73-room affordable boutique hotel, while the Hyatt is a 1,229-room luxury hotel with three restaurants, a spa and 19,000 square feet of meeting space. Nevertheless, I can see how your visit could have gotten off to a rocky start.

It is clearly the hotel’s fault that we allowed Orbitz access to selling room 404 to you. Stay Waikiki, which operates as Waikiki’s “Boutique Hotel on a Budget” and “the hotel/hostel hybrid”, has eight hostel rooms that shouldn’t have come up as inventory on Orbitz.com, or any other Internet Travel Agency (“OTA”). Stay Waikiki markets these rooms over hostel websites such as hostels.com, etc. However, if somebody is really searching hard for the cheapest possible room in Waikiki, they can sometimes find these rooms on the Internet. Our front desk staff should have recognized this error and moved you (assuming that there was space available) to another room. You are correct in that Room 404 does not meet the standards set by our other standard hotel guestrooms. So, I have instructed the management at Stay Waikiki to refund your money for this one-night stay.

On a related note, please understand that the hotel wasn’t trying to deprive you of the ability to cancel your reservation…or to provide detailed documentation concerning your charges. Most guests don’t realize this, but when you book a room on Orbitz.com, or any other OTA, your contract is with that OTA. You pay them directly. The OTA doesn’t pay the hotel for the stay (less their commission) until after the guest checks out of the hotel. Also, the documentation provided by the OTA to the hotel is limited. That is how the system works for all hotels. So, a reservation made on Orbitz must be cancelled with Orbitz.

Also, the hotel should not have been storing any guest luggage in the new restaurant construction site. The hotel is renovating this space as a new restaurant and lounge, and guests should not be given access to this area. This situation has been remedied, and guest luggage is now being stored in a housekeeping area behind the registration desk.

Mr. W, I want you to know that your concerns about our hotel are being taken very seriously. In fact, we are scheduling a series of all-employee training sessions specifically using your guest comments in order to help us to improve our guest service. Stay Waikiki has just passed its one-year anniversary and, like any new business, we are still working out some kinks. We are very sorry that your experience reflected that, as many of our guests are truly happy with our edgy, clean décor on a budget and our welcoming staff. We hope that you will visit again and give us the chance to make it right; should you be scheduling time in Waikiki again, please let us know and we will discount your rate in one of the rooms to which you should have been given a key on this visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location of the Stay Waikiki is a convenient location and the bed is comfortable. Housekeeping could have done a better job with cleaning. Breakfast is mediocre, Doors are flimsy and anyone could have kicked the door in. Front desk is friendly. There were no hooks or towelbar in the bathroom. On my last day, I had an evening flight and had left my bag to be stored for the last day, while I was sightseeing. I returned and wanted to use the restroom before I went to the airport. Front desk directed me to the restroom. Restroom, was occupied. After waiting a few minutes I knocked on bathroom door again and a woman(not a hotel guest), opened the door and explained she had been changing her clothes . That bathroom is accessable through the garage of the hotel, which is not secured. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and cannot believe the positive reviews and question if those review writers even stayed at this hotel. Also on the last day, front desk, gave me a "courtesy call" 15 minutes before checkout about checkout time. 10 minutes before checkout time housekeeping knocked on my door and to see if I had left, so they start cleaning my room. Find another hotel in Waikiki. The $10 "resort fee" was a rip off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I really enjoy the hotel & the friendly employees. I just think that if they can put a chair and a bigger mirror in the room, I will even lover this hotel.
The room keeper didn't put the towel and shampoo in our room, but she was working hard.
Nice and clean place, and really sooo close to the beach. I like it!

Room Tip: higher floor will be better.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews