We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honolulu in late February”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honolulu in late February”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I visit Honolulu with my friends during the last week of February. We have been doing this trip for 20 years with a 4 or 5 years missed here and there. The point is that we have stayed in many different hotels, condos, and beachfront properties. The Stay, for us, provided a good location for our activities. The parking provided was convenient as well.
The staff is working diligently to create an atmosphere of aloha hospitality and it was appreciated. Every little request was well received and accommodated, such as an extra pillow. The computer availability and the wi-fi were welcome benefits.
I enjoyed the clean room, the high-end linens, and retro tiled showers (thank your for not tearing out the tile - good greenies!)
My suggestions would be to add fruit to the morning menu, a small refrigerator in the room, and free massages. OK, the last one is a stretch, but the first two would be a great addition!

Thank you to the Staff and my apologies for posting this three weeks after our visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gearybrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    246
    188
    100
    94
See reviews for
131
330
139
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stay Waikiki, within easy walking distance to the Waikiki beach and seaside pavillions, is also reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and staff, friendly.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank popupLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I love the concept of this hotel, but they need to continue to work on it. Stayed 1 night - the staff could not have been friendlier and the location was great. But the room looked like they simply painted the old college dorm room, added a new bed and that was it. All the bath fixtures were original equipment. There was no nightstand, and I brought in the little patio table to use as a luggage rack. I paid their internet rate of $109/night and should have gone through one of the discounters - with the parking ($15) and the "amenities fee" ($10 - was at a loss as to what that was for, but apparently it was for the continental breakfast and the free wi-fi) and taxes the room ended up costing over $150! I wish them well but won't stay there again until some upgrades are made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were a bit skeptical of this hotel, since it used to be a college dormitory. But we like to take a chance on hotels that have been recently remodeled. Some other recently remodeled hotels we've stayed at: Waikiki Pearl and Queen Kapiolani.

Whether we stay at a hotel like the Four Seasons or an economy hotel, we still want clean rooms. This hotel passes the "clean room" test. For the location and cleanliness, you get good value. Consider it like a well-runned Hampton Inn... except in Waikiki. Please note that I'm basing the experience on the upgraded room.

++++
Staff is very attentive and personable. Way better than staying at a 1,000 room resort, where nobody knows you.
Responded to clogged tub drain issue immediately.
$10 resort/ day fee is fair and gives you internet (works about 80% of the time), dvd rentals, and use of beach mats, chairs, floats; daily newspaper; (typical) continental breakfast of juice, coffee, toast, and pastries; a business area, so you can print boarding passes, use the internet.
Very close to the Beach. You're smack right in the middle of the Waikiki strip. 10 minute walk to the zoo, one way and 10 minute walk to Beachwalk (Lewers) the other way.
Restaurants are plentiful nearby. I prefer that small hotel buildings don't have restaurants, because I may be stuck in the room right above the restaurant (you can hear the noise and smell the kitchen.)
Very convenient to the bus stops. We take the bus everywhere when we stay in Waikiki.
Laundry facilities available - wash is only $1 and 45-minute dry is 75 cents.

- - - -
If you're a large-sized person, the bathroom may be an issue. It is tiny... like 15 SF. (You can wash your sandy feet while you're sitting on the toilet.) We're not large, so it worked out okay. And who hangs out in the bathroom?
Couldn't quite figure out if hotel is being "green" or staff just forgot to make it to our rooms and get us new towels. We usually fix our own bed, and re-use our towels (because that's what we do at home), but it was stretching it a bit, when all towels got used up (because we went to the beach) and trash bin was overflowing.

For those who complain about noise... you're in the middle of Waikiki, which is a very popular area. You can stay at the Royal Hawaiian for $350 - $400 per night if you want quiet.

Recommendation to hotel:
1) get wifi to work fulltime
2) include the fairly priced resort fee in the nightly room rate; we like to prepay our vacations beforehand, so the resort fee was a bit of surprise.
3) Fix the elevator's door sensor. The elevator door's closing too quickly will maim somebody one of these days.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a room with one large bed, the pullout IKEA futon couch, and a little eating tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Asia_Trip_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Stay Waikiki has many pros and cons.
On the positive side:
nice staff
excellent location (one block from beach)
clean, all IKEA furnishings
inexpensive (best price for location)

On the negative side:
Breakfast was a bust
There is no in hotel restaurant- a bummer on the many rainy days we encountered
cleaning was SLOW- upon request it took hours for service, there was one day only one cleaner showed up, service was all over the board
Pillows- the room came with two, we requested more and they were never able to accomodate us in the week we were there
Towels- it was hit or miss, sometimes we got hand towels, we didn't get a washcloth until the last day and we got one
There appears to be no standard for service at the hotel.

With a little attention to detail, the Stay Waikiki could be the best hidden gem by the beach. There is room for improvement with several small changes.

Room Tip: higher floors may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great value and location, just make sure you bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Tour buses for the Hyatt are across the street and are quite loud in the mornings. Staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stay is a boutique hotel for people who are looking for something comfortable but nothing really fancy. The location is the biggest plus factor to this hotel and the staff as well. Most of the other hotels in the area are large chain hotels and therefore much more expensive. Our room was mostly used just for sleeping as we were out exploring Waikiki but we also enjoyed some drinks on our small balcony.
The downside to this hotel is that the bathroom is VERY small. It might not work well for a family. The breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, tea and some pastries. Nothing really special but it was free! Also, the elevators are in need of an update. I was painfully caught in between the doors!
The staff were very courteous and helpful at this hotel. They were always willing to offer information especially for local transit and they were quick to get us ice whenever we needed it. They also let us use their computers and phone when we were trying to find tickets for a New Years Eve Party.
This is a great option if you're only planning on spending a few nights in Waikiki. If this is your main destination in Hawaii you may want to consider more of a resort style hotel with restaurant options and a pool. However, there are many restaurants within walking distance as well as the beach which is just 2 blocks away!
Just a tip: local calls are NOT free!

Room Tip: Elevator is outdated. You many want to stay on a lower floor and take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Property: Stay Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing