We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wang Chung's Karaoke Bar

Wang Chung's Karaoke Bar
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
(808) 921-9176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 67 Nightlife in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friends and I came on a Friday and we had a really good time! This place is really small so it was packed on a Friday night. If you request a song, it costs $1 and you need to write it on a piece of paper that they provide for you. They have a song list on their website or they have wi-fi and a business card with a QR code that you can scan on your smart phone and it takes you straight to the song list. Songs can only be requested if you know the song number. The owner, Dan was so nice! He actually interacts and talks to the customers.

We also came by again on a Monday night. Obviously there were less people and the crowd was mostly made up of couples or small groups of friends but it was still fun! All the employees and owner have these business cards that look like game trading cards that they give to customers. They're so cute!

If you aren't too shy to sing infront of a nice group of people then I would recommend going to Wang Chungs!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatCee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you like Karaoke and aren't afraid to share a song or two with strangers, then this is the place to go. Want a hot drink? Try their jalapeño margarita. It is amazing. The owner is friendly and staff efficiently get you the drinks you want to calm your nerves before showtime. Songs are online, so take your cell phone to see the entire list available, otherwise you can also go through the list at the bar. Small place, intimate, and really fun. Super nice people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small but Awesome, the people were so nice and made laugh and enjoy our evening. You have to WANG CHUNG TONIGHT

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollyandAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Words Fail to Express How Special This Place Is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The second you walk in the door, you will be surprised. (That is, if you can find it. It is down an alley off of Koa Street, and not well marked) It is very small, about the size of a large hotel room. It is very cleverly decorated. The owner, Dan, will immediately and warmly greet you. The drinks are not too expensive by Honolulu standards. Everyone else there will be very friendly. You will not have to wait forever to get your song up, as is the case with larger karaoke bars. Everyone will cheer you and sing along with you, no matter how bad you are. People will hug each other. Feel free to get in on this. It is really like a party of friends, and not a bar.

You may not like any of these things, but even if you do not you will find the whole thing rather infectious. I went with my daughter because she wanted to go. I figured I would not like it. I really enjoyed it and want to go back.

It is quirky. And it is fabulous, in its own small way. Do not miss it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Karaoke Madness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is so much fun! I always have a great time here, staff is great very personal and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Jrdines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wang Chung's Karaoke Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wang Chung's Karaoke Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing