We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for our family”
Review of Maita'i Catamaran

Maita'i Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The 44-ft. Maita`i Catamaran takes off three times daily to sail the beautiful waters fronting the world’s most famous beach, Waikiki. Aside from incredible views and the exhilaration that comes with being on the ocean, the smooth riding twin-hulled rig serves up adult libations for passengers who are of age.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great experience for our family”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I bought a deal on Groupon for our family to experience this 1.5 hour sail on the Mai Tai Catamaran. It is located behind the Sheraton on Waikiki Beach.
We were wearing touring clothes to walk around and see the city that day, but many people had on bathing suits. When we arrived we were told to avoid the front of the boat to avoid getting wet....good advice.
It was a bright sunny day with big waves. The ocean was beautiful and blue and all aboard seemed to enjoy the ride without anyone getting sick. We felt safe the entire time.
Adults were given a Mai Tai upon request with our package, I think others paid for their drink. It was pretty good quality for being on a boat.
The views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach were fantastic and we took many photos. The crew volunteered to snap some with us in them too.
Although they had a tip jar, they were not pushy at all about it at any point.
We would go on this again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank disneygirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    60
    11
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently did the Sunset cruise with friends and had a great time (this was our 3rd time on the same cruise). If you like to meet people, have a laugh, share a Mai Tai or 2, all the while looking at amazing views we would recommend this cruise. The staff are excellent, you might get a bit wet, but that adds to the fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wouldn't have done this except got a deal on Groupon. I cannot say enough on how wonderful this is! The staff is the best! We did a 90 minute sail off the beaches of Waikiki and around Diamond Head. Encountered a school of dolphins a long the way. The water is so gorgeous, as is the scenery ..
Any one sitting in the front will get soaked (and we did)...
You must do this as a part of your visit to Oahu!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oscargoKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked through groupon for $14.00 per ticket for the 90 min 1:00 pm sailing. We had a fantastic time. Will definitely do this again. The staff were amazing! We sat in the very front by the net and we got soaked. They were sure to warn us that this would happen. lol
What a terrific time we had! Memories to last a lifetime!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoediva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We should have been more careful when we booked this tour. We sat down with a hotel concierge to discuss things to do. He suggested a dinner cruise, which we turned down since we don't care for buffets. His next suggestion was this cruise. We thought it would be on a regular docked vessel. It turned out to be on a small platformed boat. You had to walk through sand and water to board this thing. I have an issue with balance so this didn't work well for me. It was uncomfortably over-crowded, there were a lot more people on board than there were seats. We were not comfortable with the personal space thing. Someone actually stepped on my husband. The sailing part was fine, we sailed one of two times around Waikiki and returned. The two people running the boat were friendly and accommodating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nancym1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maita'i Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Maita'i Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing