We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend that you do the Sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maita'i Catamaran

Maita'i Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The 44-ft. Maita`i Catamaran takes off three times daily to sail the beautiful waters fronting the world’s most famous beach, Waikiki. Aside from incredible views and the exhilaration that comes with being on the ocean, the smooth riding twin-hulled rig serves up adult libations for passengers who are of age.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend that you do the Sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We did the Sunset sail and saw some humpback whales!
Mai Tai's, Beer, Wine & Soft Drink are included in the price.
As the Catamaran cruises away from the beach you are served your first drink, nurse this drink - once everyone is served the crew has to raise the sails and drinks are not available whilst you do this.
The crew were fantastic!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maws71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    58
    11
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We purchased discount tickets on line (check the usual places) which included a drink (beer, wine, champagne or Mai Tai). We went on a 3:00 pm sail which was perfect after a day at the beach. You WILL get wet so wear a suit or something you won't mind getting wet. College aged kids sat right in front and got drenched but enjoyed every moment! Staff was great and made you feel welcome from the moment we checked in. We posed for the obligatory photo that the crew took as we boarded with no intention of purchasing it. When we returned to shore the photos were available for purchase and let me tell you they were great! The sun was shining perfectly, the sky was blue and with Diamond Head in the background - yep we bought it. My only regret is that we didn't do it sooner on our trip as I would have gone back for another sail!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbasketlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sailing trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We did the 90 minute afternoon sail and saw a sea turtle and some baby humpback whales! Good Mai Tai's on board and a great two man crew attending to your needs! Absolutely would look to do this again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Turtle Snorkelling a Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My 78 year old mother and 11 year old daughter and I went on the turtle snorkel and lunch trip. The video shows what appears to be new snorkels being used...NOT! The snorkels looked so worn that we weren't very happy to put them in our mouths.
The location had very strong currents and we had quite a distance to get to the turtles. My mother didn't know how to properly fill her floatation device and kept being rolled over. She got more and more panicky and kept waving for help. The staff were trying decide if she was serious! Finally they threw a life ring to her. It landed about 10 feet away. Finally one of the staff entered the water to help her. My mother was told that she would have to get herself back to the boat because the staff person didn't have flippers and couldn't pull her back. My mother had a serious panic attack that left her so shaky she needed help to climb the stairs and walk to the seat.
When my daughter and I finally got to where the turtles were, they were so far down that we could hardly see them. We will never do this company again.
Save your money and find a company that really does what the advertising says it does.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a nice afternoon trip to Diamond Head and back. Be careful sitting in front you will get wet!! They serve drinks on board, including alcohol. Nice ride and inexpensive which is nice compared to most things in Hawaii.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maita'i Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Maita'i Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing