We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches roaches everywhere”
Review of Royal Kuhio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Kuhio Resort
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Roaches roaches everywhere”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Terrible the hallways and elevators are old and dirty there were roaches in them and the pool area

Our room had a roach in the bathroom

We called to complain and they offered to spray for bugs....

I was traveling w kids I didn't want someone spraying for bugs

Thank god we had a lot to do and didn't have to stay in the hotel much

My idea of paradise in Hawaii did not include roaches!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elopes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    183
    108
    36
    27
See reviews for
189
117
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our room was very nice - full kitchen, view of the ocean and Diamond Head on the 18th floor. We did see a cockroach, but the condo came equipped with bug spray so we took care of it. Everyone there was super friendly and it is only a short walk to the beach. They provided us with beach chairs and beach towels - freshened up our bath towels on Tuesday (1/2 way through our stay).

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the 2nd week of our Honeymoon. Check-in are usually from 4PM however we were able to check in when we arrived at 1.30PM. After checking in we proceeded to the 16th floor, room 14. We were a little surprised when we saw a twin bedding configuration rather than the queen we had requested. A quick trip back down to the lobby and they had arranged for the beds to be put together for a fee of $26. We also asked for beach towels for our stay.

After the initial shock we looked at the room, it wasn't as nice as our previous hotel on Kauai but it would do. The furnishings are tired however there is a full kitchen including fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher, toaster and dinnerware. Entertainment wise there is a Sony lcd tv with cable, Blu-ray player and free wifi. You can see the ocean from the balcony if you look through the Royal Hawaiian Ave. The bathroom is quite small and shows how dated the place is. Moving furniture is a big no-no at this place with a $50 fee charged. Whilst it is dated it was clean, however I did see a couple of cockroaches under the sink where the bin is located. The locks are normal keys and there is a metal key for the buzzer to gain access to the lifts, which at times were slow. Onsite facilities include a pool, gym, laundry, BBQ and vending machines.

Location would have to be the best thing going for this place. It is a short walk to Kalakaua Ave and Waikiki beach. There is a bus stop located right infront, plus a short walk down the road there is a stop for the trolley bus. Starbucks, McDonalds, ABC stores are close by, as is the Food Pantry, allowing you to stock up on groceries.

Overall we had a good stay, we might come back although we would probably look at other locations first.

Room Tip: Requests aren't guaranteed so be prepared to have a twin room or pay the $26 to have them combin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good,clean and centrally located.However the mattresses on the pull out sofas was old and tired.They suggested I put the mattress on the floor.We obtained a single mattress and placed this on top of the other one on the floor.That worked.
Good security.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in April 2014 in Royal Kuhio 3506. Two adult couples booked through Ali Beach Rental via VRBO. On arrival very disappointed with quality of furnishings and finish. Items include
:rotted and torn curtains with mould on them in main bedroom
:curtains hacked with scissors around air con in second bedroom
:stained bedspread in main bedroom
:no bedspreads in second bedroom
:broken louvre window mechanism in main bedroom
:what appears to be cardboard stuck on ensuite wall. Possibly previously a mirror
:shower/bath water doesn't drain in ensuite
:left over furniture on both lanai's eg. Old rusting fridge and shelving
:poor furnishings overall eg. Broken drawers in main bed dresser. Large old writing desk in second bedroom that covers parts of window and cramps the room.
:stained lounge cushions and bar stools
One of our party went to Ali Beach Rentals to discuss these and other issues but young girl in office showed no interest.
On a plus side the views are great and location is good but does not outweigh the negatives. Could not recommend this apartment in its present state.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank ScottC2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for a few days. It was clean with a fully stocked kitchen. It was a short walk to the beach. It was an exceptional value. There was free parking in the parking garage for one vehicle. If we go back to Hawaii, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family stayed this suite for a week last summer. Staff from Ali'i Beach Rentals gave us all instruction. This place is clean, quite and close to beach (only one block away), one free parking spot plus good price. Only problem is the bathtub's faucet was not working properly. Overall, I would recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kuhio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kuhio Resort

Property: Royal Kuhio Resort
Address: 2240 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kuhio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Our Royal Kuhio spacious 1BR 1BA located in the heart of Waikiki directly across from the reknown Matteo's Italian Restaurant and Waikiki Trade Center. The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center w/over 110 shops, restaurants and entertainment venues is only a two blocks away, and just beyond it is the famous Waikiki Beach. Our spacious rooms with partial ocean or mountain views come fully equipped with a complete kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Kuhio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kuhio Hotel Honolulu
Royal Kuhio Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing