We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T RENT UNIT 806!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kuhio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Kuhio Resort
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DON'T RENT UNIT 806!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

You get what you pay for, however, this condo is sub-standard, even for a budget unit. We rented from Hawaiian Condo Resorts and this was the only condo available for the time period we needed.
Pros:
Comfortable, albeit small double bed
Cons:
Carpet was stained and dirty.
Couch was stained and dirty. I covered the couch with towels for the time we were there as it was too dirty to sit on! Both the carpet and couch need replacing.
Had to get the maintenance man to fix the TV as it wasn't tuned into the channels.
We were unable to pull out the shower knob to turn on the water. Maintenance man looked at this also and was unable to make it any easier to operate. We were finally able to work out that if you pulled on it at the same as turning it left and right, it would finally produce some water!
The toaster didn't work. This was replaced the following day with a second-hand one that did!
Burners were uneven (stove needs replacing)
There was no oven tray/dish. We were told to go out and buy one of the foil trays at a supermarket!
The towels were old, worn and worst of all STAINED. Luckily for us we had brought our own linen with us as we were relocating. Linen needs to be replaced.
Lanai overlooks the tennis/basketball court. OK if you like the sound of bouncing balls!
Only supplied with one small cake of soap and one toilet roll.
You need to supply washing up soap, dishwasher powder, tea towel. There was an old pot scrubber supplied which I did not use!

Summary - look elsewhere if this is the condo they offer you. It is in need of a MAJOR total upgrade!

Room Tip: Do NOT accept Room/Unit #806. Go elsewhere if this is all they have, unless it gets refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    176
    105
    35
    26
See reviews for
182
113
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The kitchen provided everything we needed, we never heard any activity from our neighbors, and it was very centrally located so that it was very easy to walk to everything. Beautiful view. Free parking, and they provided beach towels and umbrellas, which was very handy.
The cons: the lobby smells like a sewer. It looks very clean, but we had to hold our breath from the door to the elevator every single time. Seriously, it is AWFUL. The pool is too cold to swim in. The change machine for the laundry was broken (and even if it had worked, they would have given $.75 for every $1) and the security people were not helpful in that area. I think if you have a broken change machine, your staff should be ready to make change for people. The street is extremely noisy, even from the 24th floor, so we had sleep with the windows shut and the air conditioner on. Our beds (2408) were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just a contradiction to some bad reviews written on this condo. My husband and
I stayed there from Dec. 1st to Dec. 9th/2013 and found our unit very clean and comfortable.
Our stay was through Vacation Internationale and the only thing that I would like to address
is that the pool was quite chilly. Apparently the heater was broken but everything else was
fine. There are other units through other companies in the same building so maybe some of
them aren't up to standards.

Room Tip: Through VI. we were staying on the 19th floor where our lanai overlooked the hills, so it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at royal kuhio for 2 nights in dec 2013. we are vi owners so we only paid the booking fee of $60 plus points. The location is really good, across from mcdonals, abc stores, int'l market and other shops/ restaurants. We stayed on a 1 bdrm, it has everything we need and it's a huge suite for 3 people. There are a couple of small cockroach in the kitchen though, I didn't like that but it's Hawaii. they provide swim towels but the towels look disgusting. the pool is not bad and the rec area. The place is like home bec of the condo style accomodation instead of a hotel type place. the lobby and elevator need some updates though. It's not too bad and will stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelblue44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 4 very comfortable days at the Royal Kuhio in Nov.2013. The apartment was comfortable, roomy, clean, and had great views over the mountains and the daily rainbows that appeared there. The building was well-run, the parking so convenient & the pool was great. We walked everywhere since we were so centrally located. We would highly recommend this apartment if you enjoy lovely surroundings, comfort, a balcony , and a terrific location!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank valbill071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, MI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent a week at this high rise in the heart of Honolulu. Condo was very nice, very clean and newly renovated. A/C a plus as you are surrounded by other high rises and there is NO breeze, ever!!!! The view is of other high rises, nothing else.The bed was comfortable. Check in was easy and the staff is very nice! The lobby has a moldy smell and needs serious upgrading, a real blast from the 70's. The security guard that mans the lobby could be friendlier, none of the guards will give you the time of day, much less answer a question. The elevators also need some upgrading, they are dark, dingy and super slow, also from the 70's. The pool is small but adequate. The location is central to all activities in the immediate downtown area. The free parking is a plus, although not easy to access. Overall a great place to stay in Honolulu.

  • Liked — the condo itself
  • Disliked — th view, lobby area and difficulty accessing parking garage
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvisfan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been staying at the Royal Kuhio since 2000. The units have everything you need but really need updating. Same decor for 13 years. Mattress on pull out bed is like directly sleeping on springs, ouch. Lobby smells like a sewer and furniture is dated and unattractive. Location is good but noisy. Free/secure parking is a bonus and staff is friendly and helpful but please update!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klovemaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kuhio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kuhio Resort

Property: Royal Kuhio Resort
Address: 2240 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kuhio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Our Royal Kuhio spacious 1BR 1BA located in the heart of Waikiki directly across from the reknown Matteo's Italian Restaurant and Waikiki Trade Center. The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center w/over 110 shops, restaurants and entertainment venues is only a two blocks away, and just beyond it is the famous Waikiki Beach. Our spacious rooms with partial ocean or mountain views come fully equipped with a complete kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Kuhio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kuhio Hotel Honolulu
Royal Kuhio Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing