We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need, but updates needed.”
Review of Royal Kuhio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Kuhio Resort
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been staying at the Royal Kuhio since 2000. The units have everything you need but really need updating. Same decor for 13 years. Mattress on pull out bed is like directly sleeping on springs, ouch. Lobby smells like a sewer and furniture is dated and unattractive. Location is good but noisy. Free/secure parking is a bonus and staff is friendly and helpful but please update!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank klovemaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 442 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Upon arrival Sunday morning at 3:30 AM there were 5 police cars and an ambulance as well as a large gathering of people across the street at McDonalds.
Security was good but not friendly.
Vacation International staff weren't very friendly or welcoming.
Parking free but on 6th floor.
No Wi-Fi so you have to sit in the lobby and get access from McDonalds across the street.
Kitchen and bathroom well stocked..
Very comfortable beds and pillows..
Room was outdated.
Foal smell while standing on the balcony from stagnant water and green slimy mess on a 4 foot wide rooftop two floors down.
Previously booked a room with VI for next month for my daughter her husband and two teenage daughters who I hope will not be going out on that street alone in the evening..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Royal Kuhio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Royal Kuhio with us. I apologize that you were not greeted with the welcome we at VI are passionate about and strive to improve upon daily. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the staff in hopes to impress you in the future.
Royal Kuhio is located 3 blocks from the beach and across the street from the International Market which is a great location. However as in any downtown urban city it has the same nightlife activity as most. Royal Kuhio does have after hour security to ensure the safety of all of our guests.
Many of our units at Royal Kuhio are currently under refurbishment and will be completed by Nov 2013 and currently our Wi-fi is free in the common areas and there are modems available for the units on a first come first serve basis for a fee. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

You really have to review this place before booking a condo. The building has over thirty floors each with four or five condos on each floor all owned by different landlords so some are worse than others I guess.
We rented 2513 for the first 5 nights we were in Honolulu and it was great. Not the biggest but well equipped clean and served our needs perfectly. Breakfast on the balcony every morning looking out over the city and Pacific Ocean was great after grey old England. The condo has a kitchen area with all amenities a sitting area and a bedroom that can be partitioned off. The wash and bathroom areas are not the biggest but who lives in a bathroom. The condo also had free wifi.
The building is situated a block back from Waikiki beach so is close to the shopping and the activities within the area. We hired a car for three of the days and there is a free allocated parking bay within the building. To be honest if you are staying in Honolulu there is plenty of cheap public transport to take you around and there is a bus stop just outside the building. It is not the fastest system in the world but it will get you where you want to go and in truth a car may not be that much quicker in the city.
As for the overall impression of the actual building, yes it is a little dated and the elevators work ok but need some refurbishment but remember they are covering over 30 floors and are in constant use so they are not going to be gleaming. There is a large lobby that is covered 24/7 by security, who were very friendly and helpful, despite what others say and you cannot enter the condo areas without a special key. The only area that disappointed was the swimming pool that could do with some updating.
Most people on this side of the world are used to plenty of space and yes I have stayed in bigger rooms, but have they been to a New York hotel where you can't swing a cat and coming from Europe where hotel rooms are not that expansive this was a good size and comfortable.
Great location and well worth the money as far as we were concerned but you must review thoroughly before booking, we were lucky and would definitely use again when in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Read reviews of individual condos if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Royal Kuhio Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you were able to take advantage of the very convenient and central downtown location. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pictures make the place look better than it is. For example, mattresses on bed and on pullout sofa were worn and overused; they need replacement now. The elevator lobbies were heavily scuffed and hadn't been wiped down w/ some 409 in years. A new coat of paint in a cheery color would do wonders for the place. The elevators desperately need replacement. The gas grills available for guest use required a $20 deposit EACH TIME a guest used it -- the place had an imprint of our credit card so why was the $20 deposit required each night?!!?? The laundry room was clean but the change machine charged a 25% surcharge for every dollar, which is excessive at best. Finally, a mid-week housekeeping visit w/ a change of bed sheets and kitchen towels would be helpful.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the security guards. Their professionalism and courtesy merit recognition and praise.

Great Life Tours, the concierge service that the Royal Kuhio recommends, did a great job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The place was clean and the bed had a "Sleep Number" mattress, so that was nice. The bathroom was small, had to be careful when closing the door, otherwise you would bang your toes. The refrigerator was very noisy and would cycle on for a very long time. Being on the 26th floor, you would think that street noise and emergency / police vehicles wouldn't be heard, but they were. I stayed at another condo across the street a few years back and it was 1000% quieter. The access system to the security doors / gates took a bit of time getting use to / figuring how they worked. It would be helpful if the staff actually showed visitors how to work it. The kitchen was adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in room 1012, which I believe I found on tripadvisor. I really have mixed feelings about the place. On one hand, it was a good deal. On the other, it was pretty run down.

The main reason we stayed here is that we discovered that most of the hotels we had previously used in Waikiki won't accept more than 4 people. Since our 3rd child was just born, we had to find a condo even though she's just an infant.

This place had some advantages. It was very reasonably priced, the free internet and parking were great (internet worked fine for us, but it was slow), location was very good, the kitchen was nicely stocked, and I really liked the 2 queen beds in the bedroom. A lot of places we looked at only had one bed in the bedroom and you have to use the sleeper sofa for more people. We really saved a lot of money by staying here.

BUT, there were a lot of downsides. When you walk into the Royal Kuhio building you see that the owners have spent zero dollars on the place in the last 30 years. The carpets, design, elevators, everything are falling apart. The condo itself wasn't horrible, but there were two major problems. The first was the road noise. The windows are like venetian blinds and don't fully close. It was pretty noisy at night. The worst problem was the insects though. Little ants and cockroaches were crawling all over the bar the whole time we were there. The furniture in the living room needs to be replaced too. The armchair is falling apart. My guess is that guests put their wet bathing suits or something on the chair, because the arms are nasty, but the rest of the chair isn't in bad shape. It needs to go. The carpets need to be replaced and the unit needs to be re-painted too. The pool is awful too. It's on the 7th floor so it's always too windy to use, and it's full of grit that gets blow in. The gym is from the 70's and I didn't even bother to try it.

If the owner resolves the insect problem and does some refurbishment as suggested above, I'd consider staying here again. Even if we paid more money, it'd still be cheaper than most places. However, I'll probably pay more money to stay somewhere else next time. It's just not worth messing up your whole vacation to have to deal with bugs or nasty furniture. If you have more than 4 people and are on a tight budget, and the owner fixes the place up a little, it could be a decent option.

I can only comment on room 1012. My impression is that the units in the Royal Kuhio vary greatly. I'd recommend getting a review of the actual room you plan to stay in before making any reservation there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sheetsofrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Room 1012 - This was a cute "little" condo located a block from all the action. If you have more than 4 people (it sleeps 6) choose another condo though. It has one bedroom with 2 queen size (I think) beds and a couch that folds out. The mattresses in the bedroom were comfortable but the mattress on the fold out couch is horrible. Luckily one of the kids slept on it and as most know, kids can sleep on just about anything. There were exactly 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels, and 4 washcloths for 5 people for a week. If you need more you will have to go to the 7th floor and use the pay machines to wash them yourself. There is only seating for 4 at the kitchen counter eating area also. Although it was advertised as having free wireless internet, the internet did not work. You could log on and it would show an excellent signal strength but nothing would load. We tried 2 different tablets and our phones and never got a single thing to load the whole week. Traffic noise wasn't that bad except for motorcycles and police sirens all night long. The TV in the bedroom wouldn't pick up any channels and even though there were instructions to work the TV remotes there were no instructions on how to work the window units. While that may not be a problem for some people if you are used to central air it can be a problem. The pool was closed for 2 of the days we were there for cleaning and painting which upset the kids. The elevators are super slow and you need your room key for everything, even to call the elevator. You can take the elevator to the 7th floor and then use another elevator to go to the parking garage but when you come back from the parking garage you have to ride the elevator to the lobby then take another elevator to your floor. Not a big problem except for the super slow elevators. When we checked in we were given a list of "don'ts" Don't move the furniture or you will be charged $50 to move it back. Don't break or misplace anything in the condo because everything is counted and you will be charged...etc. Check out time is 10AM which I think is too early compared to most places. Even before 10 on check out day the maid was knocking on the door. Overall, this was a good condo. We just had too many people for such a small place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 47 in Honolulu
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kuhio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kuhio Resort

Address: 2240 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2898
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $149 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Kuhio Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Our Royal Kuhio spacious 1BR 1BA located in the heart of Waikiki directly across from the reknown Matteo's Italian Restaurant and Waikiki Trade Center. The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center w/over 110 shops, restaurants and entertainment venues is only a two blocks away, and just beyond it is the famous Waikiki Beach. Our spacious rooms with partial ocean or mountain views come fully equipped with a complete kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Kuhio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kuhio Hotel Honolulu
Royal Kuhio Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing