We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 3001 - a nice place to stay”
Review of Royal Kuhio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Kuhio Resort
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unit 3001 - a nice place to stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This building is well situated in Waikiki. Pretty much everything is walking distance, but gated parking is also included if you want to rent a car and travel around the island. The building has security and some nice amenities like a pool, sun deck, gym, and laundry room. The gym is a little dated and you have to get the pin for the weight machines from the security guard in the lobby every time. There is a Food Pantry just a few blocks away - expect for salt and pepper, the owners do not leave any food items.

As for the unit (3001), it was totally fine and I would stay here again no problem. It was very clean and fresh smelling. There are plenty of towels and nice pillows. The kitchen has also the basic appliances and utensils. The balcony and bedroom window faces the mountains, so I think it is a bit quieter than the units facing the beach. There are views of the beach from the kitchen and living room windows.

No big negatives to report, but here are a few minor things you might want to consider:

The a/c is in the living room - there is no fan or a/c in the bedroom. I think it would be nice if they at least put a fan in there just in case. That said, there was always a nice cool breeze during our stay and we would not have used a fan if there was one.

The fold out couch/bed is not the best. I would not want to sleep on that for a week, but it would be okay for two kids or a small adult. The king bed in the bedroom is nice - soft but comfy.

The unit does not have a washer/dryer. You have to go the 7th floor. Make sure you stock up on quarters. $1.75 for wash and $1.25 for dryer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    182
    108
    36
    27
See reviews for
188
117
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We reserved this place thru our timeshare program, but we're highly disappointed. The "1 bedroom condo" was little more than a studio. The bedroom was separated by slatted sliding doors that offered little privacy, so forget about bringing family or another couple. There was 1 TV in the living room and the bathroom was on the level of a "Day's Inn" or Similar budget motel bathroom.
The view from the concrete patio overlooked downtown.
It was air-conditioned, so that was one of the few pluses.
It also does not offer Internet services, so bring your own wi-fi devices if you want to surf the net.

In addition I had a foot injury and was on a boot and had a handicap placard. They do NOT have handicapped parking. That is supposed to be a law, and even the considered admitted that.
It has a single, very small closet which doubles as a clothes and a utility closet.
Also the bathroom shower curtain kept blowing around, flooding the bathroom when I got finished. The faucet kept sticking and would only turn on in shower mode.
Two things REALLY grossed me out though.
First, we came back the first day to find unidentified brown-black crud covering our bathroom sink. It looked like raw sewage. The maintenance man came and cleaned it up but didn't think any of my issues were a big deal.
Second, the next morning when I went into the bathroom, I found a large cockroach climbing up the shower curtain. I killed it and promptly shook out and zipped up all of our bags
Obviously this is NOT the Hilton, despite the deceptively beautiful and lavish lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Wife & sister stayed at this hotel before & found it great but this time, the wife and I ended up in a room that required uplifting big tiime. Floor had a carpet which was stained along with a old chesterfield that should be replaced. Location itself was at the back where the noise was constant and when we added in the sirens, fire trucks, the odd fight and the local disco which went on until 4:00am., sleep was tricky. They do not have a front desk on the main floor other than a security officer but he is not part of the hotel staff itself and he is definitely not there to help. We asked if he could call a taxi for us and was advised that that was not his job and to get one, we should stand on the street and wave one down when it was going by. When asked about the bus service, we were told to check with the people at the bus stop and they could probably answer our questions. Definitely not the best place hotel I've stayed at and will not go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are apparently better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank timeshare7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Chilliwack, BC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just returned from our 4th visit to the Royal Kuhio. We had a super-clean studio on the 26th floor. It was all great with the only exception being the temperature of the pool. For such a large complex that was sold out, I'm sure the pool temperature can be raised a few degrees without undue expense to the owners/managers. The pool staff have an annoying tendency to clear the pool mid afternoon to add chemicals. It would seem more appropriate to perform this function late evening or early morning. Otherwise, we were happy with our stay at the RK. On a funny note, there was a day where an Asian man was seen walking the premises in his undies. Some people were offended, but I imagine he might have lost his luggage.

Room Tip: Book your stay early in the year. We waited until September and were lucky to get 2 weeks, and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BCChilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I shared the "accessible" 9th floor, one-bedroom with another couple. It was tight but do-able, since we spent most of our time exploring Oahu.

You will love the location. Just a couple blocks to the beach, shopping, bars, Starbucks, everything! It was great having the kitchen; we made breakfast every morning, and a couple dinners which helped us stick to the budget.

If privacy is a concern, you may not want to share a room. We slept on the queen-sized bed and the other couple had the fold-out couch in the living room. The two rooms can be separated by sliding doors, but you must walk through the bedroom to access the bathroom.

The deck was really only comfortable for two people. Good view of other high rise hotels.

My preference is typically to stay either in more trendy, historic or upscale accommodations. The Royal Kuhio is not really any of these, although it probably had its day. The lobby is large but empty feeling, all white and tiled. The rooms aren't really updated but they have a tropical feel. The hotel is clean and seems to be maintained fine. Our parking space was included with the room through VI.

We stayed here because a family member generously donated their VI points to us! For virtually free, this was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trunzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a self-maintained condo unit that is a good place to crash after a full day of whatever you came to Oahu to do. We like to spend our money on ourselves and not the restaurants and watering holes every day, so, we go to the local market and pick up some groceries and have breakfast and dinner in our unit. Everything in Hawaii is more expensive and most of the restaurant food is OK but not like on the mainland, so for the money its better not to eat out everyday. About the unit: we landed a few hours later than expected but found the security guard very friendly and helpful (of course we called ahead to notify them of our arrival time). Additionally, you should read the review written by gggilmore "Decent Place to Stay" [on GOOGLE] because it hits the nail on the head and we see no reason to improve upon it. The security system is odd but it works. Our only complaint was that being on the 11th floor facing Kuhio Avenue, you do hear all the street level noise because it can only go up due to the number of hi-rises surrounding the building. We went in December, the week before Christmas, so the local kids were off from school and across the street is a 24/7 Mickey D's that attracts them in the wee hours. Closing the windows and turning on the room AC units provided some relief but we really were too tired from running all day to stay awake. You probably won't experience the noise on the back side of the building complex as it faces an alley and is further from the main street. If you have TOO MUCH $$$ and want to be pampered then this location is definitely not for you; however, if you want to be in the middle of everything and don't mind some minor housekeeping chores, then you can't beat the Royal Kuhio. We would definitely stay here again and again. MAHALO and ALOHA

Room Tip: Units facing the canal will probably be quieter at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank DelawareTraveler587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chubbuck, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

this was a condo exchange rental the rooms are very small the furniture old and outdated and uncomfortable and dirty.we were there for a week on vacation with our kids and 17 month old grandson he got sick and threw up on the bedding and blankets and when i called to inquire what to do with them and to get new ones i was told to go to the laundry mat and take care of them my self at my own cost even though it was their things the carpets were so filthy that i wouldn't let my grandson play on them and when we cleaned up his mess our towls turned black the parking garage entrance key was hard to make work it is in a convient location but the whole experience was not good i'd find someplace else the looks and name are very deceiving definately nothing royal about it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelley1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kuhio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kuhio Resort

Property: Royal Kuhio Resort
Address: 2240 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kuhio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Our Royal Kuhio spacious 1BR 1BA located in the heart of Waikiki directly across from the reknown Matteo's Italian Restaurant and Waikiki Trade Center. The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center w/over 110 shops, restaurants and entertainment venues is only a two blocks away, and just beyond it is the famous Waikiki Beach. Our spacious rooms with partial ocean or mountain views come fully equipped with a complete kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Kuhio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kuhio Hotel Honolulu
Royal Kuhio Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing