We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not bad for Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent location, relatively reasonable rates for Waikiki. A little strange welcome to the hotel - they took us up to our room, only to find that someone else was already in it. To their credit, the hotel staff was very embarrassed and upgraded us immediately. Our upgraded room was huge with great views of the beach and water on a large balcony. Hotel staff was very friendly. The beach area directly in front of the hotel is ok - typically crowded and a bit dingy looking water. Lots of surfers farther out though. Overall, given that Honolulu is expensive and Waikiki is nowhere near the best beach in HI, I would recommend this hotel for a Honolulu stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    271
    55
    14
    9
See reviews for
598
114
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here when we visited in March. The location is amazing and we were upgraded to a room with an ocean view! The staff was very accommodating, and the room was very clean. It was a little tricky to find, the entrance was off the street and through a little walk way with gardens, which were gorgeous. Some better signage would help to eliminate confusion. There was some construction in the evenings, which made it difficult to sleep. But overall it was a great hotel and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location – Just across the street from the Kuhio beach park and a little further down from the more crowded area of hotels on the beach, this leads to a quieter stay. You are just minutes away by foot from restaurants and gifts shops, and just seconds away from the beach. There is a bus stop across the street, a trolley stop and the free shuttle to Hilo Hattie. We were able to get the bus from the airport to Waikiki, and walk just two blocks to the hotel. The entrance is very low key, and if you weren’t paying attention, you might even miss it. You walk under a trellised archway to the lobby, which is smart if nothing special.

Check-in – Upon check-in, all our paper work was smoothly processed, with the utmost civility. We had a couple of questions, which the receptionist answered fully. She even then showed us to the room, and walked us round all the amenities. They had left us a bottle of champagne and a box of Godiva chocolates for the Hawaii 50/senior citizen special offer – very classy. We had a question about the password for the WiFi, and although it was written on the side of the modem, because it was not on a card on the desk where it should be, within 5 minutes a card with the correct details was brought to the room.

Room – We decided to go for the full ocean view, and it is worth the extra! We were on the 32nd floor, so although you are not directly on the beach, you have a complete and unobstructed view of the ocean, and to the left, a nice view of Diamond Head. We spent a lot of time on the lanai, which had 4 chairs, a table, foot stool and lounger. If you don’t want to eat out every night, then this room has a fully fitted kitchen, with large oven, fridge/freezer and all the cooking equipment you might need. It even has a dishwasher. This unit had two bedrooms, both with TVs, and the master bedroom with sliding doors out on to the lanai. The living room had a very comfortable sofa, and one the most high-tech and largest TVs I’ve ever seen in a hotel room! Nice cable line-up and a lot of HD channels, as well as a DVD player. Coffee maker with tea and coffee restocked daily and even cookies during turn down. Shower was roomy and came with nice high-end selection of toiletries. There is a safe in the closet, big enough for a laptop.

Restaurant – No restaurant in the hotel, but there is in room dining. But there are so many restaurants within a short walk that this is not something you will miss.

Amenities – Has some of the amenities you would expect, but no fitness center or business center. However, if you needed something printed out, I’m sure the staff would be more than happy to do it. I didn’t find that I missed a particular amenity during our stay.

Check-out – Check out was their usual courteous standard, and was accurate and efficient. They asked if we needed a taxi or any help with our luggage. The staff is very focused on detail, which I appreciated.

Pay the extra for the full ocean view, you won’t regret it! The staff is some of the most courteous and helpful that I have ever encountered at a hotel. The March 26th review, I have to totally disagree with – she must have stayed at a different place, or have excessively high standards. Much as I have loved staying at some of the hotels right on the beach in the past, it would be hard to stay somewhere else again next time I am in Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank UJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel late May - early June 2013, and I can't say enough good things!! It far exceeded my expectations. The staff was VERY friendly and bent over backwards to answer every question we asked. Convenient to beach, spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite that was perfect for our family of 5 (king bed in master, twin beds in 2nd bedroom, plus pullout sofa in living room). Large deck & perfect views, full kitchen (we cooked many meals and ate outside on our deck furniture), washer/dryer in master bathroom, and plenty of beach towels available from the valet (we should not have packed any from home!). CLEAN - I'm very picky with hotel cleanliness, and had no concerns at all - everything was spotless when we arrived and cleaned daily. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel, particularly to families who want to spread out and feel right at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travelled with an 86 year old, 11 year old and found this apartment fantastic. The view was spectacular with large balcony, well equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer. There was nothing more we required. The staff were very helpful. We would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This apartment complex is in the perfect spot, close enough to walk to all the wonders of Waikiki but far enough away from the noise to get a great night's sleep. We stayed 3 nights prior to our cruise back to Australia. Far too short and regret not having more time here! Staff were friendly and helpful. Kids received a welcome gift which was heaps of fun for time at the beach which was directly across the road. View was amazing, sunset spectacular. Everything I hoped it would be! 2 adults and 2 boys aged 9 and 7 very comfortable in a one bedroom apartment. Kitchen and laundry were very handy for quick meals and for doing all our washing prior to getting on the cruise ship. Perfect! Loved the short walk to The Cheesecake Factory, Dukes and Hula Grill and 3 ABC Shops. Do yourself a flavour (pun intended), checkout the shave ice shop next door for a cool treat at the beach. Love this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenslandTravelluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you must stay in Waikiki, check this place out! Great location and the rooms are large and comfortable, very relaxing and just the ticket for an extended stay in crowded Waikiki. The best part is the staff, everyone is genuinely friendly and helpful... the valet guys, housekeeping and management! If you have a car, the location can't be beat for parking and getting in and out of the Waikiki area, and the valet service deserves a good tip. We've stayed at over a dozen Waikiki properties over the years and this is the one we want to keep coming back to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thebearspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,250 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Tower

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Tower
Address: 2470 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Waikiki's most luxurious condominium resorts, Aston Waikiki Beach Tower provides the perfect combination of condominium living and exclusive hotel-quality service. All units feature a full kitchen, balcony, and view of the Pacific Ocean. The hotel provides valet parking and an outdoor pool. Conveniently located near the center of Waikiki's main stretch, the hotel offers easy access to an eclectic mix of shopping, dining, activities and exciting nightlife. The resort is also just steps away from a wide variety of ocean activities from surfing to snorkeling and parasailing to sunset cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Tower
Waikiki Beach Tower
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing