We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday, Easter and extended weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Birthday, Easter and extended weekend”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village during Easter weekend. We rented a two bedroom, two bathroom suite in the Lagoon Tower. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were fully stocked and clean. We stayed for four days total. Here are a few of the things we noticed during our stay:

Positives:
They have a special event on the grounds for most Holidays.
The room was positioned with an excellent view of the Friday firework show.
The beds and couches were comfortable.
Quiet!
Friendly Staff!!!
Walking distance from Waikiki!

Negatives:
A tip is expected.
It is very expensive to rent Anything!
Keep an eye on your beach towel as people will take them and turn them in.
Food is expensive but lots of variety.
Parking is expensive.
Holidays are very busy!
You can occasionally run into a bum sleeping on the beach or begging along the sidewalk.

Overall I would suggest visiting as we had a great experience...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SecretBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    476
    158
    72
    48
See reviews for
742
378
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Landing, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Lagoon Tower at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The resort, while not listed as all inclusive, is like an all inclusive with all amenities, activities, and services available on the premises. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The staff was pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The room was fantastic . . . clean, spacious, comfortable and all amenities were available and in working order. Great view over Magic Island and the Marina. The Hilton Hawaiian Village beaches, pools, restaurants were all very good and we enjoyed the parrots, koi and penguins on the property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Michael F. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom premier ocean view room at the Lagoon tower. The suite was HUGE and the view outstanding! We enjoyed both of the balconies, one with a table and one with lounge chairs. The convenience of all the shopping, restaurants, pools, and various activities right on property can't be beat. Snorkeling right off the beach was fun as was renting a stand-up paddle board and the turtle cove snorkel trip. Paradise Cove luau was great and we were very happy with the e Noa excursion to the Arizona Memorial. Fireworks the last night of our stay completed the magical trip

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I love this property.
But there are caveats.
What other people have said is accurate. It's a family resort. So, it's noisy. To be expected. Didn't bother us. Pools are busy. Hard to get pool chairs and no one is "policing" whether towels left on a chaise for 6 hours with no one in sight can really be reserved ???? All day? By the end we played the game the same way, and I'm sure, annoyed others.
We did not eat at a hilton restaurant all week. Bought food from Foodland grocery and cooked. Also bought wine off-property. Groceries are expensive in oahu!

What I experienced was a VIP package as a trial for full ownership. We were travelling with another family and wanted to be together as we have kids that can be left alone for awhile (girls have taken babysitting course) but not all night! And trying to reach a person beforehand to inquire about room selection: impossible. I understand why this is....to a point. But you know, if I am a paying guest at hilton, I know exactly what I'm getting and can request in advance certain things about room location. Not so with being an owner and to me, this seems backward. For holidays I want certain things guaranteed including type of room. Here you are only guaranteed the type of room if you buy this specific location, which is the most expensive. If a hgvc owner otherwise, it's dicey as to what you might get. That's the system so as long as this is not stressful, this might be a program to consider. But not for us at those prices! Would want to know I had my ocean view etc. this was a big reason that we did not buy after experiencing things, as we really felt that we could not deal with the lack of certainty.
Anyhow many pluses to this kind of program and I can see how certain people may find this option appealing. And the property is well maintained, and kind of keeps you in, with all that there is to do. Friday night weekly fire works awesome. We did not do the hilton Luau..... Didn't feel we needed to as you can easily hear it all over the property!
Great stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

stayed here 4/7/14-4/13/14. Upon arrival, we were misdirected where to check in by several staff. Once we found the Lagoon Tower our request for a King bed in our Studio room was not honored which I had confirmed the day before. Mari was very nice and offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom in the Kalia Tower two days later. Once we saw our studio room which was more like a closet with a mini fridge and micro, I was extremely disappointed. No balcony, no dresser just a tv stand with 3 drawers and a very small closet. The room barely had room to put our two suitcases against a wall with space to walk around them. Every studio I've booked has had sitting area with kitchenette. This was a subpar standard room, NOT a studio. Needless to say it was a long two days waiting for the one bedroom to become available which was a vast improvement over the" studio". They nickel and dime you for items that are normally free at most resorts. $32 a day to rent an umbrella, $15 for a beach chair, $8 delivery fee for room service on top of the gratuity. No housekeeping unless you book for 7 days but can request fresh towels. The property is huge with extensive dining and shopping options, and a variety of swimming pools. The lagoon is a nice plus. Nightly live entertainment at the Tapa Lounge was pretty good with room for dancing. Fireworks show on Friday evening was a nice touch. Central location with easy city bus and shuttle access. Overall I would not stay here again or recommend to friends. I prefer a more intimate resort. Stayed here to meet with friends from the DC area and because it was available through our Fiesta Americana Vacation Club exchange. Our friends had a two bedroom suite with soiled questionable stains on a lot of the upholstered furnishing. Could really use some maintenace and deep cleaning. Wood funishings were dinged, scratched and stained. Really well worn and overdue for an update. Not up to Hilton standards compared to other Hilton properties I've stayed at.. Our friends were disappointed as well. One bedroom had twin beds which is not what they requested and shared a wall with the master. So much for romance. They will not be returning either. They have a rooftop luau daily that can be seen and heard from some of the rooms in the Lagoon Tower which got irritating after a day. One morning about 8am they had a group out on the lawn below our room with bullhorns and microphones conducting a team building/motivational excercise that lasted several hours. I felt locating them in that area was very inconsiderate to guests trying to sleep in.

Room Tip: Save your receipts for the ABC store after you get your reward card. We were not told initially and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsWiley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay here with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations.
We were sorry to hear that during your stay you were not satisfied with the studio unit you stayed in. We are happy to hear that you were able to upgrade to a one bedroom in Kalia and were satisfied with that. In regard to housekeeping one mid-week service is given during a seven night stay which is fairly standard for the vacation ownership industry. This applies to owners staying on points as well as selected promotional packages. Just recently we included six night stays as well that receive a mid-week cleaning. For guests paying daily full rates they receive cleaning service every day.
In regard to your comment regarding maintenance and deep cleaning (floor is taken out of reservations for one week to take care of certain repair and restoration areas), we do try to do deep cleaning for every floor at least once per year. As a further note renovations in the living room, bedroom and laundry areas in the Lagoon tower (we assume you stayed in the Lagoon tower since you were in a studio) are planned for 2015. Renovations in the Kalia tower will begin this year.
We apologize about the noise from the great lawn events. The events held there are done under the control of the HHV (hotel side of the Hilton Hawaiian Village) side and not the HGV (Hilton Grand Vacation) side. It is the only open space that the HHV has to hold events outside for the large groups it brings in. Since the area and events are not under the control of the HGV side the best we can do is ask them to keep the noise levels down.
Thank you again for taking the time to contact us to express your feedback. .

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The HHV is a self-contained property that allows for swimming in nice pools, a lagoon, and the office, decent food options, and beautiful rooms. However, sending essentially all guests to the Kalia Tower fitness center is problematic given its limited capacity. Even at 7:15am in the morning all the few available workout machines were in use.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank LALakersRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing