We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family vacation spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice family vacation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lagoon Tower in February 2013 for 2 weeks with my 1 year old and 12 year old. Both kids loved the hotel property and paradise pool. The rooms were comfortable with a nice partial ocean view and view of the lagoon. The room had a fully equipped kitchen and we made a few meals in our room. There is a laundry room on each floor. We have been to Hawaii/Oahu multiple times and this is one of our favorite properties due to the amenities, proximity to beach walk, proximity to Ala Moana Shopping Center, and beach. The only problems we had with the room was the noise from the Luau and the fireworks show (since we had a 1 year old on a schedule) .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    450
    150
    66
    47
See reviews for
688
361
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took our family in Dec.2013. This hotel was beautiful. The location is perfect, the pools were great my boys had a blast they loved the slides. I loved that you have everything you need in just a couple of steps away no wonder they call it a village it is! Hilton Hawaiian Village totally helped make our christmas vacation the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Staff service was flexible, gentle, heart warming, and with many brilliant smiles. Other customers were warm and friendly each other. Of course excellent hotel facilities, shops and good location were basis. I recommend this resort especially for the families as much as friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Tadahiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had our first visit in Hawaii for 8 days and not sure which building we should stay in, so we stayed 4 days at The Lagoon with an Ocean View and 4 days at the Grand Waikikian with the City View. Once you check in free orchid lei and macadamia nut lei for guys, but you have to ask the lady to lei you. She is not attentive as to who are checking in so you have to physically go infront of her and ask her for a lei. It's one of those Hawaii vacation that you really want to experience, to get lei'd. So they need to have some kind of communication from the desk to alert the lady, so each and everyone that checks in get a lei. For me that's very important because it is a symbol of "welcome to Hawai'i" and your vacation starts now feel.

There were 2 adults and 2 kids so we opted for 1 bedroom with a King size bed for me and my husband and a pullout sofa bed for the kids which they love becuase they can watch tv as late as they wanted. The rooms in the Lagoon is more spacious than the Grand Waikikian. Eventhough the decor and appliances are newer and the washing machine is in the room at the Grand Waikikian my whole family would rather stay in The Lagoon (19th floor). When you down on the first floor, few more steps and you are already at the Lagoon, the beach and the swimming pool. At The Grand Waikikian eventhough you walk inside the building it is still a walk.

The Village has restaurants, shopping area, ABC store (a very convienient store that has almost everything you need) and a rent a car place (National) which the cars are parked at the Hilton parking building.

We rented a car and drove around the Island and stopped by at Walmart to buy food to cook which saved us a lot of money. Both rooms are equiped with everything you need, including a rice cooker, sponge and a dishwashing soap and laundry detergent. We would eat at the balcony and watch the beautiful sunrise and sunset when we were at The Lagoon. The City View is not that appealing at all, so spend a little more for an ocean view.

My kids love the gated pool with the slides and at night the pool is heated which is awesome. I don't suggest going to the main pool which is not gated, eventhough it is bigger it is crowded and I smell pee everywhere becuase that's where all the "hotel guests" are staying and anybody who wants to use the pool. They give you an orange card to exchange for beach towel. The only bad part is that they did not explain to us that when you are done with the beach towel to exchange it to get your card back for a new towel the next time you go back in the pool, and to return those orange card when you check out. Upon check in you also get a card to rent free movies (great selection) which is great at night.

The check out time is 10am and check in is at 4pm, they have a family lounge at the 8th floor to wait for your room until it is available. When it was time for us to change building I thought we had to wait for our room but surprisingly they were already ready and we did not have to wait at all which is great.
At night if we open our balcony we can watch the Luau from the top of the Hilton parking lot.
The only bad part is I hated the pillow and the bed for some reason everytime I wake up my back hurts. The blanket at The Lagoon is so thick, its nice the first hour but when I woke up I was sweating. My husband and my kids did not have a problem so I ended up sleeping on the pullout sofa bed.

Overall so much fun but if we go back we will definitely pick The Lagoon with Ocean View.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank twinstars143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent hotel in all respects. Great open air lobby. Best beachfront location with plenty of activities both on the property and off in all directions. The best was to have restaurants, stores and a dessert shop on the property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our room was spacious but not exceptionally maintained as I would expect it to be for the price. Also, very early check out and no mention of a room to use for convenience was offered to our party. I like the resort for convenience - shopping, food, pools and beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. We received your comments regarding your stay with us and I wanted to respond to your concerns. We have spoken with our maintenance department regarding the maintenance and upkeep of the unit. It is Hilton’s standard that each and every room is perfectly maintained and we will make sure the room you were in is the same. I apologize that our 8th floor lounge was not recommended to you. Our normal check out time is 10am and the lounge is an option for those not leaving immediately. We hope these experiences do not prevent you from coming to visit again as these are isolated issues and we will work diligently to fix them. Again, thank you for your feedback and time.

Vincent Jongert
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am surprised about some of the reviews. Yes, the complex is large, and has everything you need onsite. Yes, the amenities are expensive, but it is HAWAII. Yes, the pools are crowded, but you can work around that. Plus the beach and lagoon are never too busy. We had 4 adults and 2 kids in a 2 bedroom ocean/harbor view.

We were on the 22nd floor (of 24). I imagine the paradise pool could be louder lower down. Loved our balcony. Had a full kitchen, with an oven that appeared never to have been used! Newer appliances; older room. Comfortable beds. There is room service until 10pm and came in helpful on several occasions. Glad to have a kitchen to save a little money. Ate at 4 different restaurants on-site and enjoyed all. CJs has something for everyone. Staff very friendly and helpful. Used the washer/dryer. Stayed a week and wish it was two. Looking to maybe even buy in (resale). Great family vacation!!

Room Tip: Up high ocean view - beautiful and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMMommaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing