We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

For the price, I recommend going elsewhere. Housekeeping does not knock when entering your room, and will constantly pester and inconvenience you. The service is terrible and the food is awful. The food is greasy and you could get something of better quality at your local McDonald's. I recommend that, in fact, as it is much cheaper. The resort itself does look nice, though the industrialized city in the surrounding area is horrendous, plagued with graffiti and big crowds. The beach is also nothing to be proud of, crowded and dirty. Stay on one of the smaller islands if going to Hawaii, because Honolulu is not even worth passing by.

Room Tip: Do not order room service. It is horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aqulena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to provide us your experience regarding your most recent stay. We would very much like to improve upon the services you experienced while at our resort. I am very sorry to hear that your experience at our resort was less than satisfactory. Our entire resort team values any feedback we can receive from our guests. It is through this feedback that we are able to identify areas that may be in need of improvement as well as recognizing areas in which we do well. On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Akiko Shiratori
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

There are so many people staying in the Hilton HGVC the place is crowded like a city. The rooms vary from studios that are minute to apartments and the quality varies depending on how old the tower you are staying in is.

But the biggest problem is Waikiki as it is a high rise hell! If you want to see hawaii's beautiful beaches and volcanoes stay out of Waikiki, I would stay on a different island.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank UK-TouristUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to give us your input to our resort team regarding your most recent stay. We were delighted to have you as a guest at our resort. Thank you for your valuable comments in regards to the room differences and buildings. I will pass on your comments to the appropriate people. Unfortunately we are not able to do too much regarding the crowds. It is considered a peak time during the summer season. On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your input with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Vincent Jongert
Front Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved the 2 br condo for our family of 5. Perfect accomodations. Having the full kithen and washer/dryer makes being away just a bit easier with the kids. We also enjoyed haing a ps3 with free game/movie rental. The only drawback is tge 4pm checkin though we wre lucky an got in early.

4  Thank jasonp81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

You will feel like you are a special guest at this resort. From front desk, to housekeepers, wait staff, the trip planners, etc. They are all very friendly and helpful. The food IS EXPENSIVE. Its Hawaii. Everything is going to be expensive, you have to come to terms with that before you ever get off the plane there. The breakfast in the lower level of the Rainbow tower...amazing, fresh, homemade, omelet station, all kinds of muffins being baked before your eyes, everything you would want..and good....But...it cost about $60 ish for two of us each morning. But it was worth it. Best food and kept us going all day. I enjoyed the live music right outside out window in Rainbow tower (rm 2421) but some have complained of that as being noise. I found it very vacation like. The resort, as well as the entire area is very very touristy, with a side of paradise. There are plenty of small nooks and crannies all along the resort and beach that you can have to yourself and the place was completely booked when we were there. Do your research on trip adviser about luaus and outings and plan your trip ahead...you will be very overwhelmed if you just show up with no plan. It is a HUGE place. Easy to get lost the first couple of days. Dont worry, you will get the hang of it. and last but not least ...make the ABC store your personal friend the first day and every day to keep costs down on food and supplies and even souvenirs. Mahalo and Aloha.

Room Tip: Spending the extra money to stay in the Rainbow tower is by far the best advice I have for anyone c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights -- March 14th -17th. We were greeted with Lei's and a speedy check-in. We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite in the lagoon tower, which my kids absolutely loved. There were stairs leading to a top level with bedrooms. The room was showing a few signs of aging, but it was very clean. I've read the reviews about the noise, and we could hear the luau, but it was very faint and didn't bother us. I would suggest getting a floor as high up as possible to avoid the noise, but I would still stay on the ocean side because the views of Waikiki Beach were fabulous. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this isn't the resort for you. It's definitely crowded, but we had no problems with service, and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying in the Lagoon Tower, request a high floor so you won't hear the luau at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff at a couple of the restaurants and even housekeeping and front desk staff seemed "put off" by the asking of questions. The overall attitude of employees was lacking. However; our room at Kalia Tower was fantastic and the Hilton Village grounds/pools/amenties for families is great! We will definitely stay here again. We will just be sure to fill out comment cards on the attitudes of the staff/personnel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffersneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Front Office Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to give us your input regarding your most recent stay. We would very much like to improve upon the services you experienced while at our resort.
Although your comment states that you had a good experience in various areas of your stay, every member of our team wants to ensure that our members and guests are leaving our resort feeling extremely satisfied. To ensure that your experiences are indeed resolved and not allowed to be experienced by other members and guests, I will forward you concern to appropriate department heads to review with their team. On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your input with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Shiho Natori
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stay here every year as this is our home resort for time share. We LOVE IT! We also had an extra hotel room for family in the same tower this year. Very convenient. Facility is very well kept, clean, and employees are really nice. Housekeeper on our floor (14) was very nice and accommodating when we needed an extra towel etc. Front desk staff in Kalia was GREAT.

Room Tip: Half the rooms look over the ocean, half look over the mountains, so depends on what you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $302 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing