We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hawaiian Village is on the best part of Waikiki Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hilton Hawaiian Village is on the best part of Waikiki Beach”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just returned from 1 week at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, HI. It was a fun place with lots to do right on the property! We enjoyed Maui Zaui pizza at the Round Table - Yum! We went to the Hawaiian Luau on the property (HGVC owners get free upgrade to inner circle of tables - orchid leis - first in line for food) and enjoyed the singing, dancing, and traditional clothing. We shopped along the Rainbow Bazaar and were pleasantly surprised at the prices right there in the resort. For example, the shop downstairs in the Lagoon Tower had bottled water - 1.5 L for $0.99! Also there was an ABC store on the property that had different Hawaiian items to try: pineapple wine (YUM), local craft beers, Kona coffee, macadamia nuts, etc. By staying in our fabulous HGVC room in the Lagoon Tower (2 BR, 2 BA, full kitchen, dining room, living room, and 2 balconies overlooking the lagoon and the beach), we could also eat out on our balcony with food from the ABC - coffee in the morning was the greatest! Don't miss the Honolulu Cookie company, and the Pitake Jasmine lotions, candles, etc smell divine. We ventured out of the village for several excursions:

On Sunday, we took a van to the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium - not to be missed - can find all sorts of great Hawaiian items for reasonable prices: 7 Beefy T-shirts for $20, basket purse $20, watercolor paintings with woven matting and local wood frame $85, fabrics $3.75/yd, Tiki lamps $45, King's Hawaiian bread $7 for 3-4 loaves, shirred dress $30, etc. Loads of fun and you can munch of FRESH pineapple as you walk around.

Next day, we hiked up Diamond Head (go for the very early morning tour - our 10 am one was HOT). Rana was our guide, and she was full of local information and how to get up Diamond Head the right way - hydrate often. Did you know that Diamond Head is not a crater??

We also took a hike, kayak and snorkel tour to Chinaman's Hat island. Awesome - drove through rainforest to get to the other side of Oahu, short hike to a lookout point above a working ranch, kayaked out to Chinaman's Hat, ate lunch, snorkeled, kayaked back, and then drove back to Waikiki. It was our favorite outing.

Rented a car from Enterprise just down the street from the property for about $50 for the day (kept it overnight so we did not have to be back to return it by the time they closed at 5 pm). We headed east to Hanauma Bay for snorkeling - it was like snorkeling in a fish tank - tons of fish right in front of your mask. You pay to park, pay to enter the park, and have to watch a video on protecting the wildlife. We freshened up there, and then headed on the road around the island - stopping for the photo ops at the blow hole and other well-marked areas. Had an early dinner at Giovani's Shimp Truck (shrimp scampi to die for) and then doubled back to see the Polynesian Cultural Center. After taking in some of those sights and shopping opportunities, we headed to Sunset Beach for.... sunset pictures! We saw lots of surfers off to the left in the Banzai Pipeline. Then used the GPS to find Ted's Bakery - just 0.4 mi down the road - for pineapple cheesecake, etc.

From the Hilton, we took the catamaran tour to Turtle Canyon and snorkeled with lots of Green Sea Turtles. It was also fun to walk out to the main drag and see all the fancy shops - go to the Hard Rock for Happy Hour - but even more fun once we found the International Marketplace. Even met Wally Amos of Famous Amos cookies! He's still smiling.

Room Tip: Loved our room #466 - corner suite with fabulous view. Fourth floor was also good because not only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank balinesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    472
    156
    70
    48
See reviews for
731
375
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for a week in a king bed, full kitchen suite on the 12th floor with an ocean view. The view was wonderful as we could see the ocean, the lagoon, the big pool, our own pool, and a bit of the shopping village below. We were high enough for it to be quiet and to see surfers in the waves off the beach. The room was updated and clean with only minor annoyances (broken hair dryer and playstation connection) that were quickly remedied with a call downstairs. Concierge was always friendly without being too pushy. On site dining was a bit pricey and somewhat bland, but it's on-site and in Hawaii so we expected as much. I found the prices mostly comparable to other restaurants nearby. Landscaping is fantastic and I took several photos of the water features, birds, and fish. The village is very large and it might be useful if there were more maps posted around the site. We stayed during the off season and it was busy without being overly crowded. No problems getting choice seats at the pool or on the beach. Overall, I'd give it a 4.5, with the deduction only being because it wasn't absolute perfection.

Room Tip: Book high floors and go in the off season to avoid crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSHAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Been here many times since 06. My wife prefers HGVC Lagoon tower to all the other resorts in the islands we have stayed at so far. The Grand Waikikian is nice but we held out buy our timeshare at the lagoon tower instead, just like it more there. We always get a car but it really is not needed as everything is in walking distance from the resort.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are back for our fourth year here! Last year, we were a little concerned about the units showing a substantial amount of wear, but we are very pleased to see that things have been spiffed up! And someone took note to add a wine bottle opener (missing the last three visits) and a coffee pot with a gold screen filter... Hooray to whoever has been taking note! This trip, the dishes match! Yeah!!! Looks like the cabinetry has been updated! What a relief.
I read some of the reviews before writing my own. We usually come in September so we can miss the crowds. This year, the entire area is busier than I have seen (only my 5th or 6th visit to Hawaii)... including the resort, beaches, and pools. We could not find two chairs together yesterday at the pool, and everytime I spotted two together, before I could get to them, they had been snagged! And the pool by Lagoon Tower was too busy to go in. If my husband did not have a recuperating knee, we would be in the ocean!!! I wish they had an adults only pool!
I was also concerned about John L.s review about theft. We have seen more security this stay, which creates mixed emotions. The resort does not have lockers and my husband's swim shorts don't have a zipper pocket! Where to leave your room key and credit card while swimming??? Inquiring minds would like to know...
I also am concerned about the plans to add another tower. Certainly the resort is busy enough as it is!!! More people means more traffic, more bodies, more waiting, less room at the beach, more bodies in the water... etc. We will see what happens. There is a reason we vacation as far away from L.A. as possible... there is also a reason we bought at "the quiet end of Waikiki"...
In short, HGVC Staff is great! The rooms are back to being beautiful... and someone has been paying attention to detail! I remembered to bring salt and pepper this year, but didn't need the wine bottle opener or coffee filters I packed!
When you book try to get a room as high up as possible if you are near the pools. Since we are oceanfront owners, we are close to the pool as it is, and the noise can get a little grating... but we must accept the tradeoffs for such beauty... Noisewise, higher is better... now if the guy next door did not think he was a foghorn... Aloha!

Room Tip: The higher the better... The views from Lagoon Tower are astonishing. If they have rooms left, and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving looking at the beautiful gardens we thought wow this is heaven. Our room not so much, they have shutters in the rooms which don't keep a lot of light out. It was meant to be relaxing but the bed wasn't comfy and we really didn't get much sleep. The lagoon pool was great but the other pool near the lagoon tower was extremely slippery and I was too scared in case of injury. The pizza shop at the hotel was great though. Luau entertainment was great the food wasn't, I'll stay somewhere else next time

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We're sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We aim to provide an exceptional guest experience and we are disappointed to hear we fell short with your stay. Thank you once again for your comments.

Henry Perez
General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, HI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in a 2 Br in the lagoon tower over the labor day weekend and had a great time! The rooms are nicely appointed with enough service utensils for 6. The room was missing sheets for the sofa bed and baking pans but a quick.call to housekeeping and they were brought up quickly.
My kids enjoyed using all the pools and the lagoon. The pool with the waterslides was undersized in my opinion. Not enough chairs, and I found it strange that the main hotel pool didn't have a Jacuzzi, but they put two jaccuzzis right next to the kiddie pool with slides! It is definitely not relaxing. Lol but overall my kids enjoyed themselves. There is construction on.property to build a new pool by the tapa tower so hopefully it'll relieve the pool crowd.

There really is no other property like this in Waikiki.. with this much beachfront. Most Waikiki hotels have a sliver of sand in front... Not here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlCItyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Full Disclosure - writing this on Day 1 of trip, invited by Hilton Grand Vacations for their timeshare offering.

So where do I begin? Well, I am supposed to be on vacation, but I feel I just got off a nasty summer ride in a NYC subway! Traffic jam for 20 mins outside the hotel trying to find a place to park and check-in, then a 30 min line at the registration front desk (no preferred Hhonors treatment), get a room in a dingy building called Diamond Head and then the most foul smelling room ever (1287). Call Guest Services, get put on hold. Call again, and told room is being changed. Wait for another 30 mins and call back only to be told that they were expecting me to walk back to Front Desk to pick up the keys!!!

Finally get a room...tired, exhausted, angry and feeling completely cheated!

My last days as a Hhonors member!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BombayMeriJaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing