We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great man, but a tourist haven with only a little bit of info about him”

Statue of Duke Kahanamoku
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Small Group Oahu Circle Island Tour
Ranked #35 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
629 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A great man, but a tourist haven with only a little bit of info about him”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Many tourists take photos here and this place is touristy. Duke Kahanamoku certainly deserves respect so my 2 star is not about denying him respect, but stating that there is not much here other than his statue and a very short bio. If you are in the area, drop by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    436
    226
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Smile and Wave!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Did you know a camera is watching over the Duke? It's true, a live action web cam. Many people come by to take pictures, but they could actually call/text a loved one back home and say "hi" in real time! We knew our daughter was home, so we texted her to look up the Duke Kahanamoku web cam. She found it on her computer, said she saw us, so we smiled and waved. It's better than a postcard! So when you see people taking pictures there, share what you know, we did. Have fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“on a wave with the "Duke"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki across the road from the Dukes statue in Aug 2013 while the nine day OceanFest was in full swing, an annually festival held to commemorate his life and legacy.
He was a five -time Olympic medallist in swimming from 1912 played on the US water polo team, had a stint as an actor ,a brilliant longboard surfer for Hawaii for many years, if you ever seen the waves of the pipeline back in the day with the Duke riding his board would of been a sight to treasure to this day.
On the 24th, all those who were lucky enough to gather and be part of his memorial service with family and friends at the statue was a blessing, and later the dressing of the lei's, over the outstretched arms of the "Duke" was told to us that's the "Aloha" gesture of welcome, made our stay more memorable of where we come from and who the Hawaiians are, and why thousands flock to a fabulous holiday paradise.".sure is somewhere over the rainbow"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An Icon”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Made a special trip just to see and take a photo, we have been in Waikiki for 5 days and 10 days in Oahu total and we kept passing this statue but never really got the chance to take a photo so on the very last night, we went out of our way to go here and pay our respects since my hubby was a surfer, sometimes you take things for granted because its always there I knew its one of my must-take-and see- when I came back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AsianBelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful tribute...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

to a sports icon. Love the way people leave leis out of respect. Don't have to be a surfer to appreciate the sport. Lovely view of Waikiki beach; even prettier at night when they light the torches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Em P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statue of Duke Kahanamoku also viewed

 

Been to Statue of Duke Kahanamoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing