We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an Asian food fan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin

Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin
Ranked #156 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wildomar, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not an Asian food fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tried this place which was right below our hotel. The owner said hello to us every time we walked by for the first 3 days and even explained the menu concept to us. I had heard good things about it but as I am not a big fan of Asian food I was reluctant. Oh well, what the heck. Very, very good! Breaded and deep fried pork cutlets or tenderloin done in various different ways, pleasantly surprised. Try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    66
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Katsu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location next to Embassy Suites. Easier to take back to the room since the restaurant was so small. They are very proud of their premium ingredient Katsu - not exactly Hawaiian type of pork Katsu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hoteljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was a very small and friendly restaurant, and the food was very good. I had the most tender tonkatsu sandwiched between egg plants, and my son had pork belly, both were just YUM YUM good. The servers were very courteous and showed us how to grind the seasame and mix the sauce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Authentic Tonkatsu in Hawaii!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

As good as it gets - would be even better if they also offer pork fillet instead of pork loin as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinyhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pork belly was amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I came here with friends. It is a small place which I probably would have walked by if my friends hadn't pointed it out. One of my friends is chinese and he told me to try the pork belly, something I probably would never try on my own. It was amazing. I wasn't very hungry and still managed to polish off every piece, plus the rice and everything else that the dish came with. The cost was $19 and it was a terrific deal. Next time I'm in Waikiki I will go back for sure. If you like asian food definately stop here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VIMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin also viewed

 

Been to Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing