We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a nice hotel in the right location and with excellent staff! Spacious room and all you need is at hand. Only 10 min to beach and 2 min to supermarkets and shopping. Would recommend this to anyone coming to Waikiki to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globaldane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Aloha Globalklane,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on your vacation.

You mentioned White Sands Hotel is a nice hotel with excellent staff. You enjoyed our spacious room. I appreciate you would recommend our hotel to anyone who comes to Waikiki.

Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our services to the valued guests.

Again, thank you for your positive comments and see you again.


Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 669 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

We make sure to stay at White Sands every time we come to Honolulu. It is clean, conveniently located, reasonably priced and most especially we love the staff. Christie Ann, Cristina and Rogie are excellent in friendliness, service and professionalism. We also loved having the kitchenette which is always well equipped. The only down side is the internet is really slow and spotty. All in all, we love the White Sands and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha TheKcid,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on your vacation.

I appreciate you mentioned White Sands is a reasonably priced, clean hotel and conveniently located . And you enjoyed our kitchenette which is well-equipped. And Thank you always choosing White Sands for your hospitality needs.

I am glad to hear that you complimented on Rogie, Christieann, and Cristina who provided exceptional services to our valued guests and I will acknowledge and recognize their efforts.

Situation about the internet was brought to the management, we are in the process of upgrading our internet access.

Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our services to the valued guests.
Again, I appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with White Sands Hotel. See you soon.

Fond Mahalo
Mele Kalikimaka
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's not like your regular hotel on the mainland. The open-air lobby is chill and the building are more like low-rise apartment buildings surrounding the pool. They had to get a guy to come install a cable modem just so I had the internet. But it had a full kitchen, the bed was comfy, and it's centrally located. If you're expecting a Holiday Inn, you'll be thrown off. If you want convenience and don't want to pay a lot, this place is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Aloha Big Tim 78,

Thank you for posting your comments. It is always helpful to have this kind of feedback so that we can address our guests concerns as we strive to improve the quality of your stay at our property.

I am glad to hear that you complimented on our hotel’s convenient, centralized location, comfortable bed and full kitchen..

Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our service. If you plan your next trip to Hawaii, please feel free to contact me.

Again, thank you for choosing White Sands Hotel for your hospitality needs.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This Thanksgiving time visit was even better than in years past. The waterfall covers the city noises, and koi swim around two fountains. Often at night, after a busy day, I would sit by the waterfall and just enjoy the water, the fish, and the tropical greenery. Yes, my room is always clean and comfortable, but the folks who work there make the White Sands a special place. Not brand new and super modern, but warm and friendly. I always feel the hospitality of a long ago Hawaii and am never ready to leave. Ellen

Room Tip: Ground floor near the pool for easy access and nice scenery.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Aloha E-SFO Ellen,

Thank you for always choosing the White Sands for your hospitality needs. It was a pleasure having you as our valued guests. We are glad to see you take the time to write about your experiences with us on your vacation to Hawaii.

I am very happy to see that you complimented on our clean and comfortable room. You also mentioned that you enjoyed the waterfall, the fish and the greenery.

We truly appreciate the feedback and look forward to accommodating you next year. I personally thank you again for choosing Aqua Hotels & Resorts for your hospitality needs.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

74.00 a night is not a bad price for one night. The room was also clean and the decor was just like a 5 star hotel. Also having a microwave and a fridgerator was convenient. I'd stay there again BUT next time I'm bringing some ear plugs! I didn't get a good night's sleep because some thugs across the street were yelling at each other and playing their boom boxes at 3 am!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's no where near Nohonani Street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tanyujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Aloha tanyujie,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We greatly value your feedback.

I am so happy to hear that you liked our clean room, décor, fridge, and microwave. And I am glad you mentioned that you would stay with us again.

I do apologize about the street noise that it made you not getting a good night sleep. Thank you for your suggestions to resolve the problem.

We appreciate your time in sharing your comments, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
White Sands Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Aloha , we stayed at this little gem from the 22nd to the 30th.The hotel is close to all the happening spots in Honolulu for a fraction of the price.

The staff are very helpful and always go an extar mile from Atte Rosalind who made sure our "house " was cleaned every day,Blake at reception,Sister Christianne and the rest of the staff at the hotel.
Before booking a trip with the tours ;ask at the desk ; most of the trip-tours that were charging 50-60 to see the island could be done by a 2.50$ bus journey.
Mahalo Mahalo for taking care of us. We had the best holiday ; felt just like we were at home, we are already planning the trip for next year, sofia and shemi esq

Room Tip: Pool view is the best, they evn have a Barbaque you could use
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Aloha sofia s,

Mahalo for posting your comments on your recent experience on Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate your time in sharing your comments which will help us to improve our customer services.

I am so happy to hear that you complimented Blake, Christieann and Rosalinda who made you feel like home. I will recognize and acknowledge their efforts in providing excellent services to our valued guests.

You also mentioned you had the best holiday and enjoyed the bus journey. I am very pleased to hear that you are planning the trip for next year. Please contact me and I will update you about the Hawaii activities and hotel.

Thank you for always choosing White Sands, your “home sweet home” for your hospitality needs.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel! If you are a high maintenance this place is not for you. There are no elevators in the hotel, If you are staying on the 2nd and 3rd floor you have to carry your luggage up the stairs yourself. We didnt mind.
This hotel is quite old but the price and location were wonderful. The furniture and the bedding was old but clean. The carpets in our room were clean. Our room was right above the front doors of the hotel so we heard everything from the bar next door and anyone on the street, but we did not mind we still got our sleep.If you were needing Wi-Fi to work well in your room, you will not find it. We love the back pool and the waterfall it was so relaxing. If your flight is booked for later then your checkout time they have a luggage room as well we had the pleasure of getting to use the towels and pool during this waiting period. The front desk also arranged for our shuttle to pick us up to get to the airport on time.The front desk staff Christeann and Jason were very kind and friendly. I will be using this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Aloha Francine O,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. We at White Sands Hotel greatly value your feedback. Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our service.

The situation about the Wi-Fi, you are right, you can access in the lobby and pool area. We can also install a modem in the guestroom. Currently, we are in the process of upgrading our internet access.

I am glad to hear that you had a great experience with us and you enjoyed our pool area, waterfall, luggage room. I am also very pleased to hear that you complimented Jason and Christieann who were very kind and friendly to you. I will acknowledge and recognize their efforts in providing exceptional services to our Valued guest.

You mentioned that you would use us again in the future. On behalf of the White Sands team, we look forward to serving you on your next Hawaiian vacation. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing