We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, hidden, friendly atmosphere”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My stay here was quite memorable. As a middle-aged female traveling solo, my only request was to be on an upper floor. I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded, at no extra charge, to the top floor (there are only 3) with a kitchenette and pool view. My room, though not so new, was clean and my bed was very comfortable. I felt very safe here; doors in lobby were locked every night at 10pm. Security patrol at night. Staff (Christie Anne, Jason and my house keeping lady (sorry forgot her name) were very friendly and went out of their way to help if there were concerns or problems with ANYTHING; assist, make phone calls, book a tour - you name it. The hotel is hidden down a side street off of Kuhio, one of the main drags. But, not to worry - everything is at your finger tips: Food Pantry, Starbucks, restaurants, International Market only a few steps away. Waikiki Beach (and the police station) less than a 10 minute walk. Lots to see and do, if you want, or don't want. Some afternoons I spent around the pool - it was always so peaceful there. A private oasis away from the crowds. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler that enjoys quiet time away from all the excitement and hustle bustle. Ideal for anyone traveling solo, families, couples. If you are looking for a friendly atmosphere, sprinkled with down home charm, no frills, you've come to the right place. I am looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Inside rooms facing the pool are quiet. Rooms facing the parking lot are noisy at night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sokanaganprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Aloha sokanaganprincess,
Mahalo for the lovely review! It is great that you pointed out our great location, clean and comfortable rooms, your sense of safety, and our fabulous staff! I am pleased that you look forward to coming back, and we will be excited to have you.
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 669 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I read many of the previous reviews before our trip and The White Sands was not what we expected. We had booked 2 nights at the White Sands but only stayed one. Although the hotel seemed quite charming when we arrived (cute vintage 3 story motel with an inviting courtyard and pool) we were very disappointed with our room. We were supposedly 'upgraded' to a pool view room on the 3rd floor (no elevator). The room was very dated and a bit dirty (stain on the lamp shade). The 2 single beds we were given (not very romantic) were uncomfortable, had cheap bedding, and were on wheels. The kitchenette area and bathroom needed updated cabinets. The only positives I can give is that the front desk staff was very cooperative when we left and did not try to charge us for the 2nd night. In addition the motel was quiet for the hours between 10pm and 7am as requested on the paperwork. The only other concern was safety walking at night to and from the hotel. A half block away was a bar where a number of patrons stood outside drinking which made us feel uncomfortable when walking home from dinner near the beach.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you may want to request a lower floor if you have heavy bags.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Aloha Lori S,
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. We do welcome both praise and areas of improvements and your comments are valuable as we move toward room refreshening and/or possible renovations. I will also share your concern with our neighboring bar as patrons should not be drinking outside of their premises. I am pleased that you were able to receive adequate service from our staff and enjoyed the look of the property. I do hope that if you return to Hawai'i, you stop by (or consider staying with us.) to see what improvements we have made.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent two nights there just before this past MLK weekend. Got a suite as a free upgrade, spacious, relatively clean. This was more like a motel the way it looked. The age of the room was obvious everywhere. There was a very old safe inside a closet and it needed a key to operate on it. I couldn't find the key and asked the front desk. They said there was a small charge ($2 a day), but they were unable to locate the key either, So I gave up. They also charged $20 a day for parking in their small front yard. They said that street parking there would be free between 7 pm and 7 am if you could find a spot. I guess you should be able to find one if you got back late enough as I saw some empty spots early in the morning. However, I had a rental car and didn't want risk leaving it out in the street.

The location was very good, two streets away from the Wakiki beach (not a real beach but just play grounds for hotels). A lot of feeding places around and shops, open market, and an upscale mall, plus all those brand name stores.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat2012NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Aloha Pat2012NJ,
Mahalo for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. I definately 'hear' your concerns about the age of the property, but am pleased that you did find it clean & spacious. We are planning some improvements, which include new safes in al of the rooms, for the near future. Should you return to Waikīkī, I do hope you stay with us so that you can see that we are improving and that you have an even better stay.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice small hotel, friendly people, Christieann is the best front desk girl to help you, one thing me and my wife really liked from this hotel is that was very quiet for the location is at especially the rooms inside towards the pool. If you want to save some money and be in an hotel with a small kitchen this is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleluyatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Aloha Aleluyatraveller,
I was excited to see your headline! Thank you for the shoutout to Christieann...she IS great and we all appreciate her as well. Given our size and location, you would think that it would be very noisy, but fortunately we are (usually) a quiet oasis in the middle of the hustle & bustle. The White Sands Staff look forward to your return.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel rooms were OK, Great Location to everything.
The staff at the hotel were great and we can't say enough about Christieann from reception who was fantastic...........
She went out of her way to make sure we knew where we were going on our day trips and night trips as well.
Christieann went out of her way to find us other accomodation when we wanted to stay longer but the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spinnersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Aloha Spinnersmith,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review & especially for your nice words about our staff & Christieann. They are all wonderful & she is definately a fantastic part of our little 'ohana. She and the rest of us all look forward to your return to the White Sands.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Here is the scoop; Clean - Yes. Cheap - Yes. Safe - Yes. Staff - Excellent. Location - Very Good. Room - Clean & comfy. Beds - Firm & restful. Washroom - clean, shower, hot & strong. Pool, Spa - Cleaned & maintained daily. Quiet - pleasant waterfall in courtyard drowns out the 'Waikiki hum'. Would we stay again? - Definitely!

We arrived New Year's Eve and were met by the security person who helped us in, but not before enjoying the fireworks that could be seen between the towers of the major hotels that flank Waikiki beach. A pretty special moment to start 2013.

The White Sands is unassuming with it's three storey motel look and parking lot in front. Once at the front desk we knew we had made a good decision to stay here for our vacation. A courtyard with pool, babbling waterfall and mature garden filled with lush vegetation looked like a throw back to a Waikiki of yesteryear. The check-in was fast. We looked through the sliding doors of our room which connected to the courtyard and wondered if there may had been some mistake. The price seemed low for a room like this in high season. A welcome Picnic Bag filled with lovely Hawaiian treats was waiting to greet us. The insulated 'Aqua Hotels & Resorts' bag served as a perfect lunch tote for our trips to the beach. The kitchenette worked perfectly, we loved our room #104 having breakfast on the "Lanai" every morning. The ability to have dinner or even just a cold wine at our finger tips takes away the fuss of heading out to a restaurant for everything. The Spa was always available, and we had no problem finding chairs at the pool anytime. A propane barbecue for guests was setup near the pool and the ice machine was always full. The room was cleaned at our convenience, we tipped 2$ a day and it was appreciated. Any extra towels or necessities were provided cheerfully. We could get beach towels at the front desk for free. Internet services was available. The hotel had a family feel with many customers staying months at a time, The staff was pleasant and seemed to enjoy working at the Sands. The tv monitor behind the front desk had traditional Island music and dancing on it anytime we dropped by, just seemed nice! A cold water setup near the entrance was always refreshing.
You could find newer and older hotels on the same street priced accordingly but the White Sands seems to be the one to stay at. The sister hotels to The White Sands, all part of the Aqua Group are just the next street over but they didn't seem to have the charm that this little hotel does. 'The Hawaiian' next door has a Pub, liquor/convenience store. The Bus, the back entrance to The International Market and most conveniences are the end of the block. Waikiki public beach is a 10 minute zig zag walk away.

Room Tip: Don't trust Google, it was so hard to find a room with their search engine!!! Our friends here a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacleodEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Aloha MacleodEH,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We were thrilled to have you and your family join us and know that you will be returning soon. It was definitely our pleasure having you. We are always striving to continue our committement to service and are eagerly trying to improve other areas in the near future.
Until we meet again,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January of 2013. It is an excellent hotel at a fair and reasonable price. Great location and staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to the Honolulu/Waikiki area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Aloha Spencer C,
Mahalo for your succinct & lovely review. We will be happy to have your return in the near future and thank you for recommending us to your friends & family,
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing