We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the property one night and it was one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed at. I chose it based on all the "wonderful" reviews here and it was nothing like I expected. This was the end of trip which started in Honolulu and I stayed at another property that was in the same price range BUT so much nicer. (See Waikiki Sand Villa)
The hotel is older and everything had a worn look to it. That I can live with, BUT when there is grime in all the corners and surfaces than its just neglect. We kept our shoes on at all time, including in the shower. If it wasn’t for the fact that it was one night we would have left and gone somewhere else.
We were “upgraded” to a pool view. That was a laugh – the “pool view” actually gave us a sliver of the pool if we looked hard left and wonderful view of the residential property next door. AND as a bonus it is a three story walk up and the stairs overlook the alley where they stored all sorts of stuff.
The area was also a little questionable. I am use to a city environment and would not recommend the location for anyone who is not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njTravelJunkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha njTravelJunkie222,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your thoughts of our property and including pictures to what you saw. I apologize for all of the problems you had with your room, especially the rug burns and grime you found. Though I do not recognize which room it in the pictures, I did read your review aloud at today's morning briefing, stressing the importance of communication and being thorough when attending rooms. I am sorry we were not able address and correct these problems with you in person, since you were only with us for one night, but I do hope you afford us another chance in the near future.
Sincerely,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I repeatedly go back to White Sands Hotel because the staff is ALWAYS kind and helpful, and the rooms are sized well, with kitchens. The pool is always maintained and sits in the middle of a tropical wonderland. Flowers and trees are always groomed. There is a well maintained hot tub, and a beautiful waterfall for peace of mind. They have a laundry room. Ask the people at the front desk about where to go or what to eat and they always show aloha in helping you. The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels are always ready for you. I cannot explain how great the front desk people are. Christianne, Christina, Ron, Josh are always smiling and want to help every guest. You can easily walk to the beach, the International Market, grocery store, restaurants or any other entertainment. They provide various kitchen cookware along with dishes and microwave (remember theres a stove too). The small refrigerator is just the right size to hold you groceries.

Do keep in mind and ask about the parking, because in Honolulu parking almost always costs. So don't be surprised when you have an additional charge if you request parking conveniently at the hotel.

The only thing I hated about the hotel was leaving. I wanted to stay.

Room Tip: Here is a good tip to find a good room, EVERY ROOM IS A GOOD ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha Harvey M,
Thank you so much for the glowing review! You really touched on almost all of the points I like to highlight when talking about the property. I hope you were able to see the great new landscaping by the Mauka building that our owner did himself. It's pretty amazing. I thank you for acknowledging our staff. They are a great bunch of people and work hard to serve all of our guests. As for what you didn't like...we didn't want you to go either. Hurry back, we'll be overjoyed to have you again.
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The “White Sands” hotel is just in the middle of Waikiki although in a very quiet street. It is not the Hilton but the quality/price ratio is excellent. It is kind of singular as it is not the usual tall buildings all over Waikiki. It is only a three-story hotel and it is full of trees and plants and it also has a small Japanese garden. Add to this that people at the reception desk are friendly and helpful, we would like to thank specially Cristina for her help and kindness, and the conclusion is that “White Sands” hotel is a very good choice if you go to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pujugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha pujugua,
Mahalo for the great review! I am happy to hear that our quality/price ratio was excellent, and that you found our staff helfpul and friendly. Please know that we acknowledge that we are 'not the Hilton,' but are working towards it and strive everyday to offer personalized service with large doses of the aloha spirit. Cristina alerted me to your comment, and she was very humbled. We look forward to your next stay with us, which we hope is soon.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's one of a kind to be with during our long time planned vacation in this state and we were absolutely amazed in return of our expectations are well over it.The staffs are all helpful especially Kristina Hunt at the front desk she is well deserved to be in her post with all her smiles that gives us more relax to stay I guess that's what they call Aloha Spirit, where I can spread the word to all my friends and families that if ever they will be planning to visit Hawaii I would definitely recommend them Waikiki white sands hotel and I believe they will be smiling back home happily, I guaranty you that. Our experience of stay here is so much appreciated thanks to the managers of this property to hire good people to work for them.The pool is right there, jacuzzi and we can even set a party by the pool when some friends came by for a small get together drinking beers but we know our limits so it was really a good one. There's no restaurant inside but that's not a problem at all just take a short walk and we can find everything , so much to talk about, I can't ask for more, well be back again... Thank you so much

Room Tip: Just keep on searching online but If you guys are looking for something on the budget and right arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha Su C,
Thank you for your review! It's always wonderful to hear about our guests' experience. Mahalo for recommending us to all of your friends. We hope to host them, and you, in the very near future.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Thank you all for making our stay at your hotel so very nice! The rooms are clean with a nice kitchenette with everything needed to cook. We had balcony with pool view where we looked into a nice garden with plants and palm trees :)
My Daughter and I are so glad we choose this hotel while our stay on Waikiki for 2 weeks. I would really recommend this hotel to all families and couples :-)
Also the staff are great, all of them and especially Cristina who I will meet again when I will be back in January :-)

Helle from Norway

Room Tip: Room with garden and pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Aloha Helle M,
Thank you for the review! I am happy to see you pointed out our kitchenette rooms and named us a great place to stay for families. We are in the process of doing more landscaping, so there will only be more awesome plants for you to see when you return in January. See you soon!
Mahalo,
Paul Dun, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was a great surprise. Because I didn't anticipate staying in the hotel room very long during my vacation (just to sleep and shower) I decided to opt for a lower cost hotel. I thought for the price something would be severely out of order or that service would be lacking. We were pleasantly surprised. We had a nice sized, quiet room with all the amenities other hotels provide. We were greeted by nice employees. Christieann and Cristina were so nice and so was their supervisor Paul. The room we had faced Nohonani street which wasn't a great view but we had a balcony and we enjoyed a few quiet mornings out there. The location is perfect too. Near great restaurants and the beach. When I come back, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyWindy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Aloha CindyWindy_12,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you were pleasantly surprised by our facilities and service and hope that you can come back again and again! (Maybe next time, we can get a '5' for cleanliness too!) Christieann, Cristina & I thank you for the compliment.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in Honolulu for a few days to visit friends before heading to one of the other islands for a week. Since we were only going to be on Oahu for three nights and didn't plan on spending much time at the hotel I didn't want to spend a lot. I've stayed in Honolulu many times, am very familiar with the area. I ended up choosing the White Sands because of the price, amenities and locations, mainly because it has a small kitchenette in the room. The first thing I noticed was the friendliness of the check-in staff, particularly Jason. The service was fast and efficient, and the friendliness was genuine, not forced or phony. Jason seemed to go out of his way to make us feel welcome. Pluses: the room was older but clean. the outdoor area is very nice, pool and hot tub well maintained. My wife enjoyed lounging by the pool with some wine while I went scuba diving. (Center Ring Diving, check them out!) They have free WiFi, which the more expensive hotels charge for. Another plus, the location is fantastic, just a few hundred yards away from the International Marketplace, and about a 5 minute walk to the beach at Waikiki.

Really just a couple of negatives: first, at least in our room, the AC was a small, old and tired window unit. We were there during a particularly warm week and the AC had a really tough time keeping up with it. Another downer: this is an older, lower priced hotel and it showed in the beds. They were on the hard side, it's time for new ones.

Note: They have their own parking lot, but it is small. Call to reserve a spot when you book a room. Otherwise, there is public parking nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frontman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Aloha frontman1955,
Thank you for posting a wonderful review. Especially the great compliment to Jason...he will be very pleased! I am glad you recognized value in our property and though we are an older hotel, we are still clean. Please know that we are looking toward correcting the negatives you had in the near future, so that when you return, they will be positives!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
486 reviews
0 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $120 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing