We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
fort worth
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here for a week in Sept. 2011 & really enjoyed it. We were upgraded free to a large double room with a view of the hot tub & swimming pool. Everything in the rooms worked & the staff were friendly & very helpful!
We were close to everything & had an assigned parking space.
If we go back to Oahu we'll surely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back let you look out on the hot tub & swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    244
    117
    53
    40
See reviews for
140
273
79
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Pros: Has a fridge and stove. Quiet. Price
Cons: Dingy. Parking is $25 a night. No internet signal in my room. No elevator to third floor.

I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howardchang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Loved the location--within walking distance from the beach, shops, etc. of Waikiki. The pool area was beautifully landscaped. Our balcony faced the pool so the view was excellent. The desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. Now the bad--I found several foreign hairs on the bathroom and kitchen floor when we checked in--the floors had obviously not been swept and mopped. I had to ask to have the maid to clean the floor in order for it to get cleaned at all during our stay. The hall carpets of this hotel are ratty and stained. Nobody clued us in that we had to use the computer cord in the room to access WIFI--when we initially asked why we couldn't get it in the room the staff told us we could only access it in the lobby near the wireless router on the front desk. The last day of our trip we realized we could have had WIFI the whole time! I would probably stay elsewhere my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were looking for cheap central accommodation, we wanted a kitchenette so we could be independant. We asked for a pool view, and when we asked for a balcony also they happily changed us. We enjoyed the privacay and although we lost the pool side, it was a good move as it was quieter. The place was tired, but had everything we needed. A pool to cool down in, a spa for tired feet, internet, and friendly people. Our room was well equipped with all we could need. Very good position for pick-ups for tours, buses,and walking distance.It was good value for what we wanted to spend.

Room Tip: a balcony over the pool, but for quietness a back balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was okay for our budget holiday in Oahu. Can't beat the price for location and a pretty good pool. Booked the cheapest room and had a view of a wall but that's the way it goes for $80 in Waikiki. Kitchenette was a bonus but could of used a better cleaning, room was good size, 26" tv, ice maker and laundry in lobby. Wifi in lobby and at pool and maybe in some pool view rooms. Easy walking distance to most things in Waikiki and there are some cheaper restaurants close by, the busiest nightclubs are 2 blocks away. We paid $18 a day for parking and the lot was full on the weekend, never saw any empty street parking stalls in five days so best to reserve a spot. Overall a good stay but we new not to expect anything special. If you have never stayed in a budget hotel before you might be disappointed but I feel it is one of best deals in Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
364 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

if your not looking for fancy ocean front hotel and you want a good location on a budget the White Sands is a fair place. looks like it used to be an apratment complex, pool in center courtyard is nice with pretty trees! rooms are fine ours had a little kitchenette too with a lanai overlooking the pool! not too modern but on a budget its fine, fairly clean but again older buildings,walking distance to everywhere, friendly staff also!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

As a long time Hawaiiana customer I was thrilled to find that the entire staff had gone to work at the White Sands Hotel, formerly known as Celebrity Resorts. I was uncomfortable with the location after dark, but seeing the same familiar faces year after year is the draw for me, especially Lisa and Christieann. I had two stays at White Sands since the closing of the Hawaiiana and had two more planned. I was disappointed to find that a management company was hired and Lisa was let go with one days notice. I cannot support a business that treats its long time loyal employees with such insensitivity. I cancelled my reservation and will not be staying there again. I am currently trying to find a new place to call "home" if anyone has any recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WahineWannaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing