We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

Marukame Udon Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
West Jordan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This place is great! Fresh made Udon right on site. Get there earlier in the day to avoid the lines. I was worried that we could not get a table but when we got a food, tables opened up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLC-MLBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    753
    221
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for less- Great for a quick bite”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a great little udon place on Kuhio, just a couple blocks from Waikiki Beach. There is almost always a line when I come here but it moves quick. The ordering is cafeteria style and you order by number off the menu. Their prices are so cheap, less than $5 for an udon. When you walk in the restaurant you can see the staff making the noodle fresh from scratch.

If you are not familiar with udon, it is thick japanese wheat flour noodles, about 10 times thicker than spaghetti and it comes in different flavored broths and is topped with a scoop of crunchy tempura crumbs and chopped green onion. You can order it hot or cold and the sizes are small or large.

You can not reserve a seat in the dining room and this is not a place that you hang out at, it turns over tables quickly so it is an eat-n-run kind of place. When you are done eating, you take your tray and bowl to the kitchen window where the dishwasher staff is and then you can exit out the back door. I always walk to this restaurant so I am not sure if there is parking, I do know there is not a parking lot close to the restaurant. The hours are 7am-9am & 11am-10pm, Mon-Sun.

The restaurant atmosphere has a great buzz with a mix of tourists from all over the world. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky-One-HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Limited selection but cheap, fast and delicious”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ive always wondered why people flock to this place like some sort of Udon Mecca. The line always stretches well outside the building. The reason is probably a combination of the fact that the food is satisfying and the cheapest meal you can possibly buy in Waikiki thats not a McDonalds cheeseburger.
They only offer udon here as the name suggests so if you're looking for a variety of Japanese noodles like soba or ramen look somewhere else. What they do make however they make very well and the line moves along very fast as you grab a tray and quickly order from the ten or so available options. There is also a variety of tempura to choose from, I suggest the vegetable tempura and the potato croquet.
A meal with udon, a drink and some tempura is about $8 and just a bowl of soup is as cheap as $5
There is very limited seating! Try to not go during busy meal times, you'll be fighting for a place to sit yourself as seats are first come first serve and people for some reason are always crowding up in there with double strollers and luggage. Do not let these things deter you however as this is considered by many, even locals, to be a "must-do" in Waikiki.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some of the best Japanese eats in Hawaii”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Tried this place after the great Aloha run. It was a great way to refuel. Ate till I was stuffed and had to take a lot home. Spent well under $20. Great value and quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the long line deter you! ”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here last night after the recommendation from a friend and we were not led astray! The line was wrapped twice along the block outside but I was determined to try udon for the first time and I'm glad I did! The line moved quickly and ordering was a breeze. We both got the regular Kake Udon (just noodles and broth) and a selection of tempura. Add in your desired amounts of teriyaki and siracha and you've got a delicious bowl of goodness on your hands! Also, they do have to-go bowls but you have to ask for them :)

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marukame Udon Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Marukame Udon Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing