We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“2 visits in 1 week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marukame Udon Waikiki

Marukame Udon Waikiki
Ranked #25 of 2,218 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“2 visits in 1 week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The udon was the star and it was really good. However, the tempura was fair and everything else seem to be salty. I recommand the kamaage udon (no soup and u dip it in a sauce) and add beef to it.

Helpful?
Thank Musumekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,090
    596
    169
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Best udon in Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Is not our first time eating at this place, we been here on our previous trips...but this time....Well, we walked by everyday since the lines are always long, the last day in 3 PM afternoon of our trip, we made it!! There's no line!!! Hot and yummy food with no wait in line, how wonderful is that!!
Other posted the menu already in this restaurant review and they are not changed much. Just be here in the mid afternoon or even you waiting in line, still the best value of the meal that you will be happy with. Two udon bowls with 2 sides that we have for two people... $14.50!! Cheaper then the food court!! Won't complete my trip without eating here at least once! Worth it. Will come back again next time in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maw0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's Worth The Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

2 years ago, when I was in Waikiki, I saw this restaurant with a very short line so I didn't bother to try it.

Last week, I was in Waikiki and see how long the line is, I was curious and wanted to try. Many of my friends also told me that this restaurant is worth a try. I did try and not just once but twice. The udon is very good. I got the beef one (niku) and it is very tasty. The price is very reasonable. The first time I try, I waited in line for 25 minutes. The 2nd time I try, I waited in line for 50 minutes, but it's worth the wait.

I would highly recommended this restaurant if you are into udon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth waiting in line for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went 15 mins before it's opening time of 11:00 am, and there was already a long lineup. It moved quickly when the doors opened though. Broth was clear and tasty, and ingredients were fresh (udon, tempura). Best of all, it wasn't pricey - excellent value for money. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am not a fan of Japanese food, but I decided to try this place based on the reviews. I am glad I did this is the first time in my life I loved Japanese Food. Excellent Noodles at a great price. I would give this 5 stars except for the waiting time which is around 20 minutes. But hey, if you are on vacation, just chill out and wait in line since it is definitely worth the wait and the line moves pretty fast. Unfortunately I think there is always a line since I tried different times and always had to wait for about 20 minutes. So if you see a long line just wait since it moves fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3_travelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marukame Udon Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Marukame Udon Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing