We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a great price”

Marukame Udon Waikiki
Ranked #14 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Udon was simply amazing! Line was a bit of a bother, but it was worth it.
I did take offense though to the manager who was berating a dish washer in front of customers...not cool dude.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElMatador_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,466
    740
    217
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty! Fast! Lots of variety!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

You walk in, choose what kind of udon you'd like - with broth or with sauce, hot, or cold - and then you can choose to add assorted types of tempura to your udon! They also have other tasty Japanese delectables that you can buy...including spam matsubi! The price is great too! The line up is worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iammultilingual6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Udon.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first experience trying udon. It was delicious. The line at this restaurant when we arrived was 10-12 people deep. It moved fast. Having never eaten udon before, ordering was a little intimidating but they had pretty descriptive menus that helped. It also didn't hurt that the employees working the line were patient and friendly. Once you recieve your freshly-made udon, they have a wide-offering of tempura to choose from. We picked the shrimp, mushrooms, and eggplant. All were fantastic. We could have eaten it all day if the udon hadn't been so filling! Good value meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana_of_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap and good eats!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Queue is always long at the restaurant but moves fast. Went there thrice in our 6 days in honolulu. My kids enjoyed the curry udon and kake udon. Regular size is just right. Tempura was nice but a bit too oily. Do go for the vegetable tempura which is nice. Do also try the spam sushi which is good and tasty (but oily too). The price for the fountain drinks are reasonable and food prices are cheap. Overall, value for money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“??”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate tea here after all the reviews on Tripadvisor but we were really disappointed. Although the queue looked long, it only took about 20 mins to get through (which is the amount of time you can wait for food at a normal restaurant anyway) so that was ok. I'm vegetarian and didn't find out until we got to the front that they use fish in all of their stocks so I couldn't have any of the noodles. It would have been useful if they had put this on the menu at the start of the queue. I know alot of Japanese food does have fish stock, but they could have had one option that was fish free. I had to just eat plan boiled rice and the tempura. The tempura was ok, although I probably ate too much to make up for the lack of noodles, and it started tasting really greasy. The mushroom tempura wasn't good. My partner ate the curry noodles and he said that it was fine. Having said all this it was a cheap place to eat and the waitresses/cooks were really friendly. I don't think we'd bother going back though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hel115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marukame Udon Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Marukame Udon Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing