We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Japan quality”

Marukame Udon Waikiki
Ranked #12 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Near Japan quality”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Eating udon is all about the chewing feeling of the udon noodle. Marukame basically offers this kind of quality.

Located near Dukes Lane on Kuhio, it is near the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. Very easy to find because there is always a line of people queuing in front of the restaurant. Menus are put at the door but since there are always many people, one has to find his way to look at the menu. It is a business model copied from Japan. Customers pick up a tray, order what kind of udon he wants, udon in soup, or with curry, hot or cold, regular or large. Then add his own side orders, different kinds of tempura (pronounced as ten pu la), shrimp, squid, onion,fishcake, etc, or different kinds of rice cake. Then pay at the cashier, just like the cafeteria in high school, all self service.

Ther are plenty of seats in the restaurant, but since ordering took up some time, one can always find a seat after paying for the meal.

Be prepared to wait for around half an hour before you can sit down with your udon during meal hours, less in other timing. It is kind of low price in Honolulu, you can have a basic meal for less than $6, not even enough for tipping in a nice restaurant.

As a frequent traveller to Japan, I would say their udon has a near Japan quality. Udon is always cooked in that way, so if you look for some fancy performance, or high price items such as hand made sushi, this is not it. Their udon is prepared inside the store as a customer can see, ensuring its freshness.

So,if you are looking for a simple meal but quality food, it is definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    769
    225
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
covington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stand in line it's worth it!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

One night while walking around we saw a tremendous line out the door of a restaurant. Intrigued we crossed the street and went over, at first we didn't know what we were even standing in line for but it smelt soooo good. As we got closer to the front there were menus posted in the windows, it only took about 15-20min to get to the front, when it is your turn you grab a tray and pick what you want in your udon soup, after you get your soup you can choose spam musibi, egg rolls, Gyoza, etc. to add on to your meal. All the prices are laid out to see so you know how much your adding. After sitting down and eating I was sure glad I stopped, seriously the best soup ever, you must try, there is a reason it is the #2 restaurant in Honolulu!

Helpful?
Thank alyssa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Don't be discouraged by the line of customers outside. You move quickly through, and the quality of the noodle dishes is worth waiting for. Everything is fresh and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mplsmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavorful, Fresh, and Frugal!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not only do you get a pile of noodles in your choice of broth (my favorite will always be the Japanese style curry), but you'll watch the noodles being made from scratch and you'll pay less than $10 for the entire meal. I haven't found a better lunch (or inexpensive dinner) option in Waikiki. For that matter, I've seldom, if ever, found this quality of food for this price anywhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Much to do about Udon”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to Marukame Udon for lunch. I loved the concept- quality food, cafeteria style. Although there was a line out the door, it moved pretty quickly. I had to use my iphone to decipher the menu (I wish they had had a little description of each of the types of the soup.) My husband had the Niku udon and I had the Kake udon. We each had a couple of pieces of tempura and musubi. Total for all was about $20. The udon was good but not as good as I had anticipated. The noodles were soft and springy but the broth was just meh. I have definitely had better. It's still a good option for a quick, relatively inexpensive meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marukame Udon Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Marukame Udon Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing