We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and great prices!”

Marukame Udon Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 2,389 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and great prices!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed across the street at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. Every day we wanted to try this restaurant but were put off by the very long line ups. Finally on our last day, we were able to have lunch there before our flight.
OMG, the food was amazing! We had the curry Udon. The portion was large but we finished it without a problem, lol. We also had vegetable, shrimp and chicken tempura which was delicious and not greasy.
We wished we could eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandsandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,502
    751
    220
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Oh my goodness!!! My first ever noodle house!! I had the Bukake Udon and Gary had the Niku (Beef) Udon, plus we grabbed a tempura shrimp for each of us, tempura veggies and I also had a slice of tempura sweet potato that was so delicious!! It was not the orange flesh sweet potato that I am used to, but I thought this type tasted even better!!! The servings of regular size Udon were huge and I only made it through about half of mine, plus the shrimp and sweet potato and some of the tempura veggies. We have already decided that we are going to go back again for dinner on our final night. You just can't find this kind of place in Atlanta!!!
It was so much fun watching them make these noodles fresh and then boil them and prepare them!! This was truly a treat!!! This was one of those rare meals I walked away from feeling like I had a healthy and nutritious meal without excess calories.
You really gotta' go give this place a try!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carybenn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the queues.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were put off by the queues we walked past a couple of times, I wish we hadn't. On the third occassion we joined the line and it was well worth the wait. Great tasting udon noodle soup and tempura, excellent value. Dont miss this place.
My only regret was we couldn't go back again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foti_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Fresh & Tasty”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ah-mazing noodles. The zaru udon dipping sauce is perfect, the tempura isn't too greasy, and I can't stress enough how fantastic it is that they have onigiri as a side dish!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Omnipresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hand made Udon”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

See the chef at work. Making the freshest, most amazing Udon I've EVER tasted. I think the regular size is plenty big. Save room and money for the side dish add-ons. ie. shrimp tempura, fried sweet potatoes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StopherBanzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marukame Udon Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Marukame Udon Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing