We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“lunch sets were outstanding!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe - CLOSED

Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Description: Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe serves American breakfast from early morning (7:00 AM - 3:00 PM) and shaved ice until late afternoon (10:00 AM - 5:30 PM). Breakfast includes pancakes, waffles, French toast, omelette, and chicken rice omelet. The menu also includes acai bowl and green tea waffle which are offered all day. Healthy, tasty, and beautifully prepared. Shaved ice is heavenly with many of the syrups made in house from real fruits. Everything served at Ailana Shaved Ice & Cafe is unique and delicious.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lunch sets were outstanding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took two seniors out for breakfast here because a Piikoi St. selection had no parking. The menu is limited but appropriate for the small size of the dining area. My companions decided on the beef stroganoff and chicken/rice omelette which came with a FULL SIZE shave ice or smoothie.

The service was great and the women served us water (without asking) and the food when ready. The omelette was light. The also had a mix of veggies (zucchini / peppers) sprinkled on top with a light sauce. The stroganoff came with rice and the mixed veggies on the side. Each dish was lightly seasoned and not in your face. The serving was appropriate for the seniors and three of us cleaned the plates.

We had a dragonfruit smoothie which was refreshing, not too sweet and nicely blended. We opted for the plain shave ice although the owner wanted us to try the fancy specialties with the works. Our flavors were passion fruit and strawberry. Right off the bat, I noticed that the flavors were not your garden variety sugar syrup. It was lighter and had the distinct taste of the natural fruit.

We enjoyed the meal and I will definitely comeback to try the waffles/pancakes. There is no selection of breakfast meat in case you're wondering. And for a hot afternoon, her shave ice large is "HUGE"! I saw a young family share the green tea specialty as we left and the toddler's eyes where popping out as it was placed in front of them (haha).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spunky_spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Tasty shaved iced for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place is hidden. If you're walking down Kona street, walk past Nordstrom and as soon as you pass the Rammen shop, turn right and it's the second store in a little strip mall. The portions are a nice size, the price is fair and it's tasty. How many times can you support a small business these days? I recommend you find Aliana's for a shaved ice treat when you're shopping in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweetest owners ever, great shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for our first ever shave ice. The store was cute and also offered food and ice cream. The owners were the cutest couple, and they were super sweet to us. The shave ice was delicious, and I hear their ice cream is as well. Would come back for sure, just remember to bring cash (no cards). They are located in a small plaza right next to Nordstrom at the mall by the parking garage, parking available in their small lot.

Helpful?
Thank jennymcniven
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Worth the effort: fresh, homemade taste served with friendly hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

So glad we made the extra effort to find this little hideaway. Such friendly service and delicious shave ice. Homemade syrups make for a refreshing change from the run of the mill shave ice you get around the island. Great way to end our vacation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyLane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My friend who grew up on the island told us that we had to go to find Ailana and we did- I'm just sorry not sooner! Their shaved ice is out of this world. They have a large selection of homemade syrups from real fruit. Between my two kids and me, and over several trips back, we tried the strawberry milk, guava, mango, and green tea. They are intense with flavor, fresh, and not overly sweet- perfect, really!

Their perfection is obvious by the clientele in the shop, all locals. I'm sure they know the difference between good and great shaved ice and they are all at Ailana. Their shop is a total whole in the wall. It's in an old run down strip mall behind the Ala Moana Mall. Just walk through the mall, past Nordstroms, cross the street and make a left. Walk a little and you'll see their sign on the right, just after a nail salon (I think)...I'm craving their shaved ice just writing this!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wtravelinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing