We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ummm, good!”
Review of Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe - CLOSED

Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Description: Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe serves American breakfast from early morning (7:00 AM - 3:00 PM) and shaved ice until late afternoon (10:00 AM - 5:30 PM). Breakfast includes pancakes, waffles, French toast, omelette, and chicken rice omelet. The menu also includes acai bowl and green tea waffle which are offered all day. Healthy, tasty, and beautifully prepared. Shaved ice is heavenly with many of the syrups made in house from real fruits. Everything served at Ailana Shaved Ice & Cafe is unique and delicious.
northern California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ummm, good!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After reading about places to get shave ice in Honolulu, we decided to try this one. Right across from Ala Moana-easy to get to if you are not familiar with the area. We had the tropical trio and the peanut butter (large sizes) . Both delicious; plenty of syrup and plenty of ice cream. Their syrup is not too sweet, which is fine for me...it is sweet but not the kind that hurts :)
We are also now converts to eating shave ice in a bowl or a dish...no more drippy "cones" for us. Thank you Ailana Shave Ice! Hope we can return one day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Average Shave Ice”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited 3 shave ice locations during week. The quantity of the shave ice was smaller than the other two stores we visited and Ailana was stingy on both the syrup and the ice cream. The syrup was good--strawberry creme, but after eating off the outer layer, the lower ice had no syrup. The ice cream was not more than a tablespoon. This was simply not the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I highly recommend trying the rainbow option! It allows you to try every flavour and yet the flavours not overlap...super tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HBooyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best out of the 6 places we tried”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was on a mission to try 1 different shave ice place per day on my week long vacation in Oahu. I got to try 6 different places this trip and was very happy with my first encounter which was at the Ailana Shave Ice. My husband and I had the large tropical trio and my 4 and 8 yr old had the Keiki and small sized rainbow flavors. My large bowl was a gigantic pile of shave ice with such tasty flavors of papaya, mango, coconut topped with condensed milk all over ice cream. I was in heaven after tasting it. My kids' "small" sized bowls came out to be huge too but they gobbled it all up. I was just so disappointed I did not get a chance to return here before we left Hawaii. The only thing about this place was it closes at 5:30pm and it was a little hard to find. We were unsuccessful the first time we tried. We were able to find it at our second attempt and we got there at 5:15pm without knowing they closed so early. So get there early and you will not be disappointed!! Definitely coming back here at least a couple times next time around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedsRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I Have A New Favorite Shave Ice Place!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went here on the recommendation of a local friend and I was not disappointed. We ordered the fresh fruit syrups and it was the best! We tried the Haipua, Mango, Cran/raspberry and Strawberry Milk. all of it was great. My favorite is the Cran/Raspberry; sweet and refreshing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BijouxButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ailana Shave Ice & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing