We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value - service was excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value - service was excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We booked an airfare and hotel package through Expedia and stayed 6 nights at the Waikiki Marina Resort. It is in the Ilikai Hotel (you need to tell cab/shuttle drivers this or they will drop you at another hotel with 'marina' in the name - everyone seems to know the Ilikai so its just easier getting around to tell cab/shuttle, etc that this is your destination). The suite was large, furnished nicely, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, with a full kitchen, and free internet. It was a Shell vacation timeshare unit - the daily housekeeping means change of towels and trash removal. Shell vacation timeshares has staff on site 7 days a week from 7am to 11pm with a phone number for after hours. These staff were extremely helpful, friendly and couldn't have been more accomodating. The location is at one end of Waikiki Beach, not in the main shopping district but as a result it is not crowded or noisy. We got a street view room - there was some traffic noise when the sliding door was open, so next time will get a marina view or ocean view room so that we can keep the sliding lanai door open to get the island breezes. Honolulu has a wonderful bus system - ask a driver for a schedule and the stop is right in front of the hotel. There are restaurants and shops and parks plus a beautiful beach with a sheltered lagoon area - great for children. This was a great value - not expensive and very nice accomodations. Room checkout was 10am and the staff will hold your luggage in a secure area and you can use their shower facilities (they will supply towels, etc) so if you have a late flight, you can still spend some of the day at the beach or sightsee some more and then freshen up before a long flight back to the mainland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    294
    69
    40
    37
See reviews for
247
350
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Just returned from 9 nights at the Waikiki Marina Resort (10/1--10/10) & agree with every positive review written here. The staff is amazing; from Kristin & Rollie at check in/out to Roxi at the concierge desk. All couldn't have been more helpful!!! Maid service was efficient & housekeepers very friendly. The room was large & the full kitchen was an added bonus. Great location to bus stops--right in front of the hotel & busses can take you anywhere on the island. The pool is not much, but then who goes to Hawaii to sit at the hotel pool? Very well maintained property & my backgroud is in working in hotels. One hint--when taking transportion from the airport, I found it easier to say I was staying at the Ilikai,. The driver tried to drop me at the wrong hotel--the Waikiki Resort--& had to clarify to him where the Waikiki Marina hotel actually is!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateringidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We really loved the size and location of this resort. Our room was on the 20th floor, city view with lots of activity to view from the lanai. The breakfast we ate twice was really good and there are plenty of other places close by to eat at such as Outback steakhouse, Red Lobster, IHOP, Mcdonalds, Buffalo Wings to name just a few. City bus and trolly stops right outside the hotel that will take you any place you want to go so a car is not really necessary. We especially liked the very comfortable king size bed! We would highly recommend this hotel for it's great location and friendly staff and accomidations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pakicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai for our 32nd anniversary. The staff at the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai are outstanding. The room was beautiful, very spacious and clean. It was wonderful to have a full kitchen. We were able to have breakfast in the room and just relax. The room had everything we needed. We would recommend this hotel to everyone we know and we look forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Clean,quiet and staff who know your name. We have stayed in Gold Crown Resorts that should be ashamed of themselves compared to the Illikai. Save your money that you would spend at the Hilton or Royal Hawaiian and go fishing or see Pearl Harbor. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Confields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri-Cities
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for five night. The room was basic, but it was clean and had everything needed. The air conditioning was loud and the noise from the street prevented opening the window.
A few minutes`walk to the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

What I Liked about Waikiki Marina Resort

*Great rate for very good accommodations- booked on hotwire
*Great location-close to the mall, beach and transit
* Clean newly renovated rooms- 1 king size bed & double queen sofabed with kitchenette
*Friendly and helpful front desk staff
*Bell service included with room
* The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas
*Takes environmentally friendly initiatives and provides environmentally friendly incentives-great rates if you choose to only have housekeeping services every couple days

What I Didn't Like

*Although its in a great location, it was initially confusing to find the hotel because it is located within the Ilikai hotel building. When we arrived at the hotel it was also confusing to figure out where to check -in, thankfully one of the bell men saw us and promptly directed us to the second floor where the Waikiki Marina resort front desk was located

* At the time we went in Dec 2009, there were a lot of empty "For Lease" stalls in the lobby area, which made it seem kind of dead

* Lack luster pool

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Property: Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd, Lobby Level 105 B/C, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft City View studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing