We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ilikai Condo (Waikiki Marina Resort)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 894 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I are timeshare owners with Shell Vacations and we stayed here at the Ilikai for a week in November 2013. In no particular order, my observations are as follows:

1) The location is perfect! Right in the middle of everything. The Ala Moana Mall is within walking distance going north and many other shopping areas within walking distance going south.
2) The staff is the best I've seen anywhere (and I've been to a lot of places!). From the time I drove up, the valet was right there to welcome you. The bell staff was waiting to take my luggage. The check-in had very minor hiccups (for timeshare owners, this was in a little office on the second floor). Also, for some very odd reason, since my wife made the reservation, she had to be present for the check-in, even though both our names are on the timeshare. This was inconvenient since my wife is temporarily disabled and unnecessary mobility was difficult.
3) Housekeeping is outstanding. As a timeshare owner, we only get one scheduled cleaning, which is fine. However, housekeeping checked in on us 2-3 other times to empty the garbage and provided fresh towels.
4) The Bar & Grill restaurant in the lobby had a wide variety of items on the menu and very reasonably priced. I usually expect to get gouged at hotel restaurants, especially at tourist locations. But this place was great all-around and we had breakfast here four times and dinner once. Be sure to mention that you are a guest and they will give you a 10% discount. Unfortunately for me, I did not find out about this until my fourth visit. Regardless, even without the discount, the pricing was very good.
5) Usually at timeshare locations, you get mobbed by what I call "timeshare vultures". The sales reps will hound you to attend a timeshare presentation. This was not the case at the Ilikai. We went to see Brandon, the concierge for tourist activities. He scheduled four events for us and mentioned that if we attended a timeshare update for about 45 minutes, we would get discounts on all of our activities. He was not aggressive in pushing us to attend and we agreed to do so. The update lasted for just under an hour and we were not pressured into buying anything. We said we weren't interested and everyone said goodbye and that was it. As a result, we received over $400 in discounts on all the activities we had scheduled. Definitely worth our time.
6) We didn't check out the pool. Don't even know where it was. The hotel was just a short walk away from the beach and right next door to the Hilton which had a lagoon that was not restricted to Hilton guests only. Whether you want the beach or hang out at the lagoon, neither was crowded.
7) Other reviewers had commented on the rooms being outdated. I did not see this. Our room on the 19th floor was very nice and modern. No musky or moldy odors from outdated rooms. The only bad thing was the free wifi. Not very reliable and didn't always have a connection. Other reviewers have noted this also.


Bottom line: The Ilikai was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Oahu. I rarely give a 5-star rating for anything, and even though there were very minor issues (check-in, wifi), the excellent staff (Kendra, Brandon, all of housekeeping) more than made up for it.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice, but if you want a GREAT room (which is an ocean view room), don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentUnionCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Bar and Grill restaurant and property location near the Ala Moana Mall. As you know, we have many resorts which house a large number of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to better the wireless connection at our resorts but this process will take some time. Your feedback will help us to continue improving the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had Studio apartment, Junior Lanai Suite with Partial Ocean Views. Overlooked Hawaiian Hilton, could see Luau from our balcony each night. Ocean view ok, it was partial so can't complain. Full size kitchen although cupboard space was taken up with crockery, glasses etc, there was nowhere to put food except on bench, not a big deal. Kingsize bed very comfortable. Lounge and chair comfy also.
Wifi was not great, it worked on my husbands laptop most of the time, although he plugged it into wall just to be safe as he needed to work. I was unable to get signal on my Samsung tablet for more than a few seconds before it dropped out. It did however work beautifully if I sat in office Suite Room 212!
Laundry was handy, one on each floor I believe.
Sarentos Italian Restaurant on 30th floor was great, although not cheap, food and service was excellent, even if you just go up to see the view it's worth it and they do have Happy Hour each day.
Ilikai Bar was ok, lovely casual atmosphere, breakfast good, we only had appetisers in afternoon, they were not great, usual deep fried stuff.
As for location, there are 2 ABC stores just 2-3 minute walk away which stock most essentials, food, toiletries, alcohol etc. Store also inside Ilikai was handy. Ala Moana Centre only 10 minutes walk, Waikiki main shopping, restaurant area a 20 minute easy walk. The Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai is a little far from Central area, fine if you don't mind walking. If not very mobile it only costs $8-10 for taxi to Ala Moana or Waikiki or you can catch trolley for $2 each or Bus $2.50 each. Bus and Trolley stops straight outside were great and run frequently.
Overall great place to stay but if I returned I would stay closer to Royal Hawaiian Centre.
For Australians Waikiki is not cheap shopping like mainland USA, if you are looking for clothes, shoes, handbags etc go to Ross Dress for Less, seem to be the only bargains in the area. Outlets disappointing unless you want a specific brand then maybe worth it.
Paradise Cove Luau was great and so was Navetek Dinner Cruise, we had sit down meal with Lobster and Beef, it was great, if you go Tues or Fri night you cruise longer as they stop for you to watch fireworks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zillabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Aloha from the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai! Thank you for your valuable comments about your lodging experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our spacious studio suites offer fully equipped kitchens as well as extremely comfortable beds as you noticed. We apologize for the trouble you had with our free wireless high-speed internet. I am glad you were able to enjoy our independently managed onsite restaurants as well as our easy access to Ala Moana and your partial ocean view. We truly look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Called a 'resort within a resort' you turn up at the Ilikai Hotel but check in on the 2nd floor with Shell Vacations. A bit weird. We are wary of timeshare due to a bad past experience but we weren't badgered at all which I was thankful for.

Our room was spacious, a bit dated with paint flaking off here and there. We took a room with two double beds as the room with king bed was not ready but both beds were uncomfortable with dips in the middle of the mattress. The shower was fine but you had to step into a high walled, square tub which may be an issue for anyone with knee or leg problems. The kitchen was well equipped though we only used the fridge and kettle. No flyscreens on the lanai doors so we kept them shut at night in case of bugs.

There is an ABC store and a Food Pantry within walking distance for groceries. Quite a few restaurants within a 10 minute walk and at the mall. The free wifi worked well. We paid a cheaper rate where the room was not made up each day, only towels replaced and the rubbish taken away. We didn't really need that either, we prefer our privacy. There is a laundry room, $2.50 per load, and you can buy powder.

We had a city view, the hotel fronts on to Ala Moana Boulevard and traffic is noisy, even on the upper floors. It's about 15 mins easy walk to Ala Moana mall and 20 mins walk into Waikiki. The buses stop outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussies_living_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just recently stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort in August 2013. This was or second visit to this resort. We also stayed at the Ilikai one time before, which is the same property, but different name, as the Waikiki Marina Resort is a timeshare (but you can stay like a regular hotel booking) inside the Ilikai. The only difference between the Waikiki Marina Resort and the rooms at the Ilikai is the view. The Waikiki Marina Resort has a city view, whereas at the Ilikai you have the option for an ocean or marina view.

The Waikiki Marina Resort is great for families as there is a studio room with a full kitchen and a sofabed. It i great to be able to get groceries and cook if you have kids and do not want to eat out for all meals. Additionally the sofabed (which is decent) allows at least three people and possibly 4 if you have tow young kids.

They do not clean your room daily, however, they give you plenty of towels daily. This is the same as staying at the Ilikai and you are free to use all of the amenities at the Ilikai.

The location is also my favorite in Waikiki. You are at the beginning of Waikiki, within a short walk of the Ala Moana Center and the Ala Moana Beach, and right next to the Hilton Hawaiian Village. You can use the lagoon, or beach in front of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. There are fireworks every Friday night at the Hilton. If you want to go down to Kalakua Street or the International Market Place, you can get the Pink Line Trolley in front of the Illikai, and because the Ilikai is the first stop coming from the Ala Moana Center, you usually can get a seat.

The grill at the Ilikai is pretty darn good. Also if renting a car, rent at Advantage which is in the lobby of the Ilikai and is, BY FAR, the best rates you will ever get in Oahu for renting a car.

Room Tip: If you have kids take them to the Lagoon directly in front of the Ilikai/HHV. yo can rent kayaks or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Specterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was undergoing construction didn't hear a thing, Check-in person said would have a great view of the night show of the fireworks Didn't see a thing. Hotel was clean and quite. Walking distance to restaurants across from ABC stores every where

Room Tip: Recommend this hotel, Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveNHappiness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After having read some pretty poor reviews of this establishment of which the Marina Terraces are a part of, I was very concerned as to what we would find. However it was a very pleasant surprise.
The resort is within the Ilikai hotel building but you need to go to the 2nd floor to book in.
Most of the bad reports seem to have come from renters in privately owned condos. The resort rooms are very nicely appointed, the beds are king size and exceptionally comfortable, nice size balcony, full stove ,microwave,coffee machine,big fridge/ freezer,crockery & cutlery and very clean.
This area, for us, was so much quieter & less crowded than further in to Waikiki.
The out door area is very nice, beautifully presented tropical gardens and lots of seating etc. The Ilikai bar& grill serves lovely meals all day. I would definitely stay here on any future visits & highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2113 on the 21st floor, with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Shore
#7 of 46 in Honolulu
717 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd, Lobby Level #135, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $179 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft City View studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing