We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/09/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$188
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/09/23
Vio.com
$178
View deal
travelup.com$190
Priceline$219
Algotels$240
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveler rating
957
732
203
75
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
957
732
203
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish hook fort derussy park bbq area partial ocean view full kitchen across the street kalakaua ave queen bed valet parking city view minute walk to the beach fitness center beach towels coffee maker mini fridge resort fee small pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,636 - 1,641 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I stayed here in early December 2006 and found it to be a great value for Waikiki. I had a studio with a good partial ocean view, also overlooking Fort DeRussey. My room was on the 9th floor over the fans, but I did not find them to be much of a problem at all. Frankly, the noise from Kalakaua Avenue is more of a problem at times. I would say overall that this hotel is a little more noisy than average, given the noise from the street and also from door/lanai slamming. That's really the only negative I can think of.

The kitchenette was fantastic!!! I had everything I needed to do light cooking, including an executive sized refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. Also, I found the room to be very clean and never had a problem with bugs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Just a lot of aloha in the place. It is nicely located to walk to good restaurants, the beach, and the rest of Waikiki. There's an ABC store across the street, as well as the Dollar rent-a-car if you want to rent a car for a day. You're also within easy walking distance to several major bus stops, if you want to use TheBus. Oh, yes, and the shampoo, conditioner and lotion that they give you do smell fabulous!

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We were upgraded to a full ocean view 1 bedroom unit on the top floor (15) with 2 balconies. Views of the park and the city were awesome. What a great place! Granite countertops, Braun applicances including a washer/dryer ( 1 of the few units that had one), super clean.... the bathroom had nice space, nice fixtures, very good. The bed, king sized, was very comfortable with tons of pillows. Kitchen, full sized, was very well equiped with nice appliances.
Staff at the desk was tops, our room was good as new every day with excellent maid service.
If we were to go back to Waikiki, we would definitely stay here. Use the Expedia desk in the lobby to book tours... Katy is excellent and funny! If you want a great burger, go to Waikiki Burger, out the front door, left, 1 block...excellent!
Good Italian, turn right, go 3 blocks, turn by the blue/pink hotel and eat at Arcino's... we had a great meal for about $15/each.
Waikiki is crazy traffice, kind of like mixing Myrtle Beach with Chicago.....

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KYmiddleamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at Outrigger Luana for 5 nights in June 2007. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main beach at waikiki. It was an ok walk, past all the shops :)

The hotel has parking available underneath the hotel (keycard activated). It was safe parking, we always managed to get a parking spot, but we often took the last one. Parking is US$18 a day too.

We had a partial ocean view room. The view from the window was nice. we were on the 14th floor. We could see over the park out to the ocean in the distance. The hotel is right next to the main road though, so with the window open it was very noisy. The air conditioner was noisy too..so a bit of a no win situation there!

The room was large, and included a kitchenette. The bed was a queen bed, but it was not comfortable and the sheets were not big enough for the bed. The bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet, but a flat sheet, and it constantly came up leaving us sleeping on the mattress. The staff didn't make the bed very well each day either, but this could have been because the sheets were so small.

The overall room seemed a bit old and in need of a face lift. The bathroom was bit old. But it all worked as it should. Free internet in the rooms too (with your own laptop).

The pool was very nice. Lots of lounge chairs for sun baking.

Overall, the hotel was ok. Staff were friendly. There are so many hotels in waikiki though, you could no doubt find somewhere better.

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank iliketoeaticecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We booked this hotel through Expedia based on other people's ratings, and the star rating, as well as the Outrigger name. I read some negative reviews about insect infestations, and bad customer service experiences - and I have no idea where these came from! The hotel was great - the staff was friendly and courteous, and I didn't notice any insects anywhere. Besides - in Hawaii, cockroaches will show up even in the nicest 5-star hotels - that's what you get for being in the tropics.

Anyways - the room they gave us was pretty nice - a studio with two queen beds, a kitchenette, and a lanai with a city view. The kitchenette didn't have a microwave - which would've been a great amenity - but otherwise, everything was clean and in good condition. Since the floors were marble - it would've helped if housekeeping had swept the floors during their daily cleaning - as the sand you accumulate at the beach starts to accumulate.

The pool was nice, there was a big patio area to relax and sunbathe on - with some shaded areas for those who preferred to stay out of the sun. It was a small pool, but clean - and refreshing. The location was good too, not far from the beaches - but close to other attractions as well.

There were lots of places for food around - a short walk to the other hotels in Waikiki - and there was an ABC store right across the street (which anyone who's been to Hawaii knows - you're in there numerous times over the course of your stay).

I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend it to other people who are looking to travel to Hawaii. However, there were plenty of hotels I'd also like to try out - hoping that the service and amenities match, or rival that of the Luana.

Date of stay: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

A group of 30 of us were sent to the Outrigger Luana when accommodations were not available at Hickam Air Force Base. We showed up in mass and the staff of the Luana handled us in a professional, polite manner and had us in our rooms in under 15 minutes total! The entire staff is to be commended for their above and beyond approach to service and taking care of their guests. If we needed anything during our week long stay, we just had to ask and it was done. The facilities are very nice; the rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a very nice gym with modern equipment, all of which is in excellent shape. The pool is small by some hotel standards but is cool and refreshing and fairly private. Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room is very nice when you have left-overs from the various nearby restaurants. The Outrigger Luana is in a very nice location, just a few blocks from the beach and you are surrounded by shopping and have access to a lot of activities. There is an activities desk at the Luana that can help you purchase tickets to almost everything happening in Oahu. You don't even need a car because the bus and trolly systems are very convenient and will take you anywhere you need to go. Starbucks is on the site and a great place for breakfast is a restaurant named Eggs and Things which is a short walk away and Keos Restaurant is directly across the street and is a fantastic place for Thai influenced cuisine. At the corner is a burger restaurant named Hawaiian Burgers and is very good too. Try the Yard House, a few blocks away for 200+ types of beer...all on tap! The Cheesecake Factory is also nearby and the food is to die for!!!!
Again, the Outrigger Luana is an exceptional place to stay, relatively inexpensive by Hawaiian standards and the service is way above what you expect. Thank you Lilly, Chris, Joseph, Shane, Cess, and the rest of the staff for a fantastic experience! As service members away from home you made our time in Hawaii a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TRAVLrR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews