We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2006

My husband and I just returned from Hawaii- had a wonderful time, as always! This was our 12th trip. We've stayed in several hotels and condos in Oahu over the years and found the Luana Waikiki to be a good place to stay. The rooms are updated very nicely with tile floors and granite counter tops. The Hawaiian lamps were cute too. There is a nice park outside and the beach is a 10-15 minute walk away- take a right outside the hotel, walk across park area, right on Saratoga road, and you can walk through Outrigger Reef on Beach Hotel or use the Beach Walk. They have a nice, clean pool area and Fitness Center also. There is also a Grill area available by the pool. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CosmoMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    623
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
467
592
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 17, 2006

Outrigger Luana Waikiki
My family and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days in December. The hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable but, the view was horrible. We had a room on the 3rd. floor and our balcony overlooked the roof of a gas station, a very busy, noisy gas station. Our family had 3 different rooms, ours was the most expensive and had the worst view and the smallest space. I mentioned this to the front desk and they were not helpful and did not offer to change or upgrade our room. We had to ask for the proper number of towel sets daily even though we spoke with the front desk about that also. While I liked many things about this hotel I would have to think about staying here again. I definitly would want to preview the room first.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2006

Very pleased with this hotel. Have stayed in many others on Waikiki often with problems, especially too much cig. smoke. But not here - its a non-smoking hotel. Also, a plus is the fact that the rooms do not have carpet but a type of ceramic tile. Rooms were clean and quiet and ours had a partial view of the ocean.
We paid about $140 per night for two beds, so its a good price. Recommend it for the mid price range in Honolulu. Pleasant stay...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JDBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

The reviews of this hotel are spot on. It's clean, modern, and good value for money. The kitchenette is convenient if you're tired of spending big bucks on Waikiki restaurants and just want to heat up some takeout. The people at the reception desk are friendly and helpful; they got us a taxi to the airport early on New Year's Day, no problem.

There are lots of moderately priced hotels in Waikiki that turn out to be disappointing. This isn't one of them -- you should book with confidence.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2006

We stayed here in early December around the time of the Honolulu marathon and it was defintely a great choice. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a view over the park. This is a condo hotel, recently renovated with new furniture, small kitchenettes in some rooms, granite counter tops and a small balcony. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach in front of the Hilton, a 15 min walk to the main mall, close to many restaurants, convenience stores, and a grocery store about a ten minute walk away.
The staff are helpful, there is an expedia desk in the lobbey to help book car hire, water sports, airr trips etc which was very helpful. There is a nice private pool with deck chairs.
My girlfriend originally stayed down the road at the pacific beach hotel for the marathon and then moved in with us. Although her hotel was just over the road from Waikiki beach and had a nice view of the ocean, the room was old and the furniture dated, with a smaller bathroom.
All in all I would defintely stay here again, and at a great price too

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2006

We just returned from 10 days spent on Oahu. This is my 3rd trip and thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor, everything went perfectly. We stayed at the Outigger Luana for the first 4 days.

The Outrigger Luana is 10 mintues from the beach but unlike most hotels, what separates it from the water is a beautiful park. It was always a delightful walk to the beach with a myriad of plants to enjoy.

Our room was just as depected on their website photos. We were on the 11th floor and had a gorgeous view of the ocean straight across the parkway -- no hotels in the way and no view the size of a sliver. The rooms were clean and so quiet. The bed, tables, and closet area were all in beautiful wood with a pineapple and bamboo motiff throughout.

The hotel employees bent over backwards to help us out and the bus stop was across the street. The kitchette was more than I had hoped for. It had place settings for 4, and all the cooking utinsels and bowls that we needed.

There were plenty of resturants within walking distance for those times that we ate out. Our favorite was The Shorebird. We dined while watching the sunset and listening to live entertainment. The food was wonderful.

All in all, the Outrigger Luana was all that I had hoped for -- a great location, beautiful room and service for a decent price. Next trip to Hawaii will find me there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FurElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

An overnight stay on business on New Years Eve. Good location. Just a bit away from the main part of Waikiki, but not a bad walk. Rooms are great.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigBenNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing