We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Luana!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Luana!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the Luana in May 2014 after my parents recommended it to me. I will definitely stay again! The staff were so friendly and helpful, amenities and facilities were great, beautiful room and an amazing view (partial ocean view room). We go to Hawaii often and will be staying at Luana from now on. Pool was my favourite part!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view has a beautiful view of Waikiki beach and Fort DeRussy park. Price is great and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Aloha GemBoyd,

Thank you for taking the time in submitting a 5-star review! We really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you found our amenities and facilities to complement your visit and Mahalo for commending our team.

Thank you for staying with the Luana and I look forward in welcoming you back the next year.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    626
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
470
594
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This property really met our needs for 3 adults. We had a one bedroom unit with sleeper sofa in the living room. The kitchen & bathroom were upgraded. We could have cooked full meals if we wanted to, but just used the kitchen for breakfast and leftovers, etc. The small restaurant on the first floor works great for a quick small meal. Our view was of Fort De Russy, very peaceful and beautiful with the blue Pacific on the horizon. Many restaurants and shops were a quick walk away. The beach was also near. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful with any questions or requests. We chose this property mainly for the price of a one bedroom unit and found that we have made a good choice. Perfection would have been right on the beach but I would return here. One minor issue - we had some elevator noise in the bedroom but it didn't bother our sleep.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, great view, little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate46143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Aloha Kate46143,

Mahalo for taking the time to write us. We are happy to hear that you and your travel companions enjoyed our spacious, one-bedroom ocean view suites over looking Fort DeRussy park. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return. We will strive to make your next stay a perfect, 5-star visit.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great Hawaiian feel. Kitchenettes available to ward off restaurant price shock. Easy walking to all the important places. Short walk to beach. Great activity center to tell you what to see and do. Had AC problem at 11:00PM. Fixed in minutes with cool night instead of waiting til tomorrow for technician. All personnel acted quickly and efficiently to any request. Maids responsive to requests for extra, towels, soap, etc. Surrounded by parks and plaza. Close to "Luxury Row" for shopping. Provided upper class accommodations at middle class prices.

Room Tip: Higher rooms onDiamond Head have great view from your own lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Aloha Noel K,

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review and the catchy title. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that we were able to address and resolve the issue with the air condition unit. Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is clean, and the staff is WAY, WAY ABOVE average for staff at a busy resort city. You sure can find a much more fancy hotel, and one with a fancy restaurant, but you will NEVER find a more conviently located hotel that is this nice for the price. Views from the rooms are magnificent, and the street noise is not any worse than from any other big hotel in Waikiki. The staff goes out of it's way to be nice, helpful, and accomodating. We would gladly stay at this hotel again. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We wanted an ocen view, but really, any view is GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardfan1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha cardfan1976,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a 5-star review! Our team is committed in providing an experience that will complement your visit to Hawaii and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thank you for the excellent review and Mahalo for staying with the Luana.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Although initially disappointed with what seemed a slightly remote location our thoughts were quickly reappraised once we had walked the five minutes down the road to the very busy heart of Waikiki.The hotel sits next to Fort Derussy Park and although feeling a bit dated in parts we enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities. We also enjoyed our partial ocean view room with balcony. The cleaning of our room was a bit hit and miss (bins not emptied) but all in all not a bad place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha DiscerningTourist,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. Mahalo for staying with the Luana. It is great to hear that you found our location to be a good one. We appreciate all feedback and I apologize for the bins not being emptied. This has since been brought to our management team for further review.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel only had valet parking available at $35/night. WHAT?!!! That is crazy.

Room- decent but nothing special (partial ocean view 2 nights)

Bathroom- ok

Balcony view- nice

Front desk customer service- I guess ok but she was NOT helpful when I questioned the required valet parking.

I have never heard of a hotel making valet a mandatory charge?! That being said, I did use hotwire to book this on a whim. Hotwire DOES state that hotels may have resort and parking fees above and beyond the cost of the room but I've never experienced this before. You'd think if they were going to make valet parking the only option then they'd at least make it realistically priced.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for reviewing us. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful partial ocean view from your lanai. Unlike most hotels in Waikiki, our partial ocean view rooms do have quite an expansive view of the ocean.
As far as parking, Waikiki is prime real estate and most hotels unfortunately do not have enough parking spots to accommodate self parking. Our valet price is in line with most hotels in the area and self parking is available at a neighboring public parking lot for $25 per night. We kindly suggest you to check on the hotel website before you make a reservation so you won't be surprised the next time you return to Waikiki.

We do offer several complimentary amenities such as Wifi, coffee and tea service in the lobby, bicycles, yoga classes on Wednesdays and Sundays just to name a few.

We hope your visit to Waikiki was memorable and we look forward to your return to Luana Waikiki.

With warm regards,
Rudy Fao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

For those who measure quality with good service, cleanliness, good pricing, and quaintness, the Luana Waikiki is the place. Loved the location by Fort DeRussey Park and in walking distance to the bus line, beach, park, and other sights of interest. Great room with a kitchenette and comfy bed after a long long day (or nite) of fun. Oh yeah free bikes, chairs and blog is board's. YAY!

Room Tip: North side city view. South side park on lower floors and ocean view on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Aloha Georgette O,

Thank you for such high remarks and Mahalo for a great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be convenient. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next vacation with the Luana.

A big Mahalo from our team!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
0.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing