We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Recently stayed with partial ocean view. Room was quite large, clean and view was as described.Friendly helpful staff in a hotel that has all that you need. It's a short walk to beach (about 5 minutes) as well as Waikiki shops. Easy access to public transport for going further afield. Excellent value and no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Aloha Bill J,

Thank you for an excellent rating, your kind words, and a catchy title! We are glad that you found our team helpful and friendly during your stay. Thank you for staying with the Luana and we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not right in the heart of Waikiki Beach but close enough to easily walk there, Luana Waikiki (Aqua) is a great spot for a relaxing holiday break. With terrific and welcoming staff, a short walk to a not so crowded beach area, fantastic gym and pool area, clean, comfortable and practical apartments it was the right combination for us as a couple. The ocean side apartments gave a great view and cooling breeze. Would highly recommend for those who do not want to stay in the heart of Waikiki and not pay that price either. Keep up the great work - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms for a great view and cooling breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Aloha Tim C,

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful review. Mahalo for recognizing the hard work our team dedicates to providing guest services.

We are glad that you found our location to be an excellent one and, most importantly, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, thank you for staying at the Aqua Luana. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

13 APRIL 2014, 11:07 AM
We stayed in room 1407. It was a one bedroom ocean view kitchenette . We enjoyed this stay.The bedroom was huge with a king bed, two large bedside tables, a chair, a desk and a television unit . The only issue was the air conditioner blows on one of the sides of the bed . Th louvers on the unit can be adjusted so that this is minimized but it still was a small issue. The bathroom was small but adequate . The only issue with the bathroom is that there was no anti-slip mat on either the marble floor or in the bathtub which resulted in some scary moments . In the master bedroom there is a very large utility closet which could store several months of food and a decent size walk-in closet with about 10 hangers ( there should be more ) and a very useful safe. One small touch that was appreciated was that there were two suitcase stands of the more typical one. This proves very helpful in living out of a suitcase. The bedroom has wall-to-wall carpeting which is old and tired and in need of a good deep cleaning with many stains .

The living room had a relatively comfortable couch and a sitting chair as well as two lamps on two side tables. It also had some nice chairs for the kitchen bar . We spent a lot of time staring out of the huge picture window which gave us a beautiful view onto the park and to the ocean beyond. The room was relatively quiet with the exception of the traffic noise around Kalakala and sirens occasionally. This wasn't an issue with the air conditioner running, but I can imagine if one wanted to leave the windows open and not run the air conditioner that this would be an issue even on the 14th floor .

The kitchen was more than adequate with a nice flat glass range, a very nice high end dishwashing machine, a very large refrigerator complete with ice maker , a toaster, a full set of knives, a coffee maker and even an Aroma rice maker . We primarily cooked breakfast although one could certainly cook almost any meal here. Dual chrome sinks were also a nice touch.

The kitchen could do with a few more mugs for coffee and a few more glasses as well . A larger family might have issues with the number of items . The floors in the bathroom and living room are marble so be careful with wet feet as it's very easy to slip . Another thing that would've been nice is a real bathmat in the bathroom to prevent slippage something with the rubber bottom .

A nice touch was in the lobby there were two large water dispensers with fruit-infused water. We loved drinking it every time we passed through the lobby.

Lest I sound too picky overall we thought this was an excellent value and we enjoyed staying here . There are lots of electrical outlets which makes using electronic devices using easy . The location down at this end of Kalakua was excellent . It's a little bit less frenetic down here and yet it was only a couple blocks to many good restaurants . In fact , we found that if we went several blocks down to Beachwalk and turned right there were numerous terrific restaurants on that street alone. We enjoyed Bills of Sidney for breakfast and dinner, as well as the Hawaiiana for sushi which is funky but fun. Overall this is an excellent hotel and the staff was very nice. Ebony was particularly helpful.

We did find the bed to be too hard but many people would like it just fine. It is definitely on the firm side . We ended up requesting an extra comforter and taking our comforter and the extra comforter and laying it below the top sheet to soften up the bed with a homemade topper. This helped a lot .

Would we stay here again? Yes , in a heartbeat. The value is clearly excellent. We paid about $204 per night plus tax plus $35 in and out parking fee . In another hotel we would've had only the one bedroom and no living room and certainly no kitchen. The trade-off is really that there is a little bit of tiredness about this hotel , but I'd rather have a slightly tired decor and a few spots on the rug but have all the extra space and the kitchen and the refrigerator and the excellent location, and nice people in the hotel .

Room Tip: Best rooms are away from Kalakua and not facing the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Aloha Andrew G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit with the Luana. We definitely appreciate the excellent rating and suggestions that you have provided us that will help in improve our product.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our fruit infused water and coffee station a nice touch to what we have to offer. We hope you were able to take advantage of the other complimentary amenities that we offer including the complimentary bike rentals, yoga sessions, beach chairs and towels.

Again, thank you for a great review and we look forward to your next vacation with the Luana.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My stay here with my friend was fabulous. The staff always greeted you with a smile and an aloha. I thought the room was fairly big and very clean. It did get a little noisy facing the street early morning but nothing we weren't expecting or couldn't live with. It was in a great location as far as the beach an plenty of shopping. I love my stay there and would recommend it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The park view is nice but it much noiser because of the traffic. If you do not mind that then its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Aloha cassandra s,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us and it is definitely great to hear that your first visit to the Hawaiian Islands is a fabulous one. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities during your stay.

Thank you for staying with us and Mahalo for the recommendations. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked Outrigger Luana Waikiki through Donna Bender of MauiCalls who is an Outrigger Specialist. Although not on the beach, the hotel was centrally located and we could walk everywhere in Waikiki. The room was big and very clean. It was a little bit noisy, but Waikiki is a big city and we expected this. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Aloha Heidi W,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and Mahalo for staying with the Aqua Luana Waikiki. Aqua has been managing this hotel since January and we are glad to have had the opportunity to accommodate you and your family. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We thought we got a decent deal on Hotwire as it was advertised as a 3 1/2 star hotel in Waikiki. However, I would not stay at this hotel ever again if it was free. We stayed one night in room 803 and it was the worst sleep we ever got and it should have a rating of 2 star at best. Cons:
- the room were in need of updating - 70's decoration; the bath tub was nasty. the view out of our window was the top of another building.
- air conditioning fan was very loud and there was no setting that was quiet unless it was completely shut off.
- worst thing was the bed needed to be replaced- it is one of those bed that slope in when you sit/sleep on it. it was the worst hotel mattress I have ever slept on.

Pro:
- staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank syulin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy F, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha and thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Luana Waikiki. First, a big mahalo for acknowledging our friendly and courteous team members, we strive to provide sincere island hospitality to each and every guest.
We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in our guestrooms, our current decor is traditional Hawaiiana and it is apparent in the details of our guestrooms. We are looking forward to our upcoming renovation to refresh our hotel with a more contemporary Hawaiiana feel.
We sincerely apologize for the comfort of the beds in your room, we will definitely research and replace the mattresses as necessary. We wished you brought this to our attention during your stay so we could have accommodated you in an alternate room.
Your reservation with Hotwire is for a standard guestroom, however, we do have rooms with views available for an upgrade fee. Our front desk team would have been glad to find you a room overlooking the park or of the ocean or both.
We hope your visit to Waikiki was memorable and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Rudy Fao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

All the staff at this hotel are friendly. The hotel was very clean and in a great location to Waikiki and the beach's. Rooms were clean and friendly maid service. A big thank you to everyone at the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha Kev962,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review of our team and hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Mahalo for the commendations!

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
741 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,725 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $168 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes & spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many amenities without having to incur misc. charges. These services include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, & live Hawaiian entertainment. Try our on-site restaurant, Fish Hook cafe for some local favorite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing