We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home away from home.....”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved this wee hotel right through from the great location, helpful obliging staff, well appointed kitchen and the oh so comfortable beds.....like sleeping on clouds !!!! The only slight downer I think would be the cafe but then there are so many amazing places to eat nearby that their opening hours are really not a problem. Would stay here again in a heartbeat !!!!!

Room Tip: Mountain view room was excellent....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    623
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
467
592
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am picky on where I stay and love a great, clean hotel room. Well this is it! The Outrigger Luana is a lovely place to stay, from the service, to the clean rooms, to small things like the amazing fruit flavoured ice cold water in reception which is the best after a day of walking around!

The small cafe underneath had great food, the pool is lovely and nothing is but a short walk away.

Definately great value for money in Honolulu :)

Room Tip: I had a partial ocean view with a kitchenette - kitchenette was great for storing food etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

While selecting Hawaii for a stopover on a round the world trip from Perth, Western Australia, we selected this hotel from Tripadvisor user reviews, and must say that this hotel did not disappoint us.

We stayed for four nights from the 18th August 2013 (we were going to stay three days, but the hotel had a deal of buy three and get four nights).

We were in a room on the 15th floor (Room 10, with kitchenette and ocean/ park views), and as you can see from our photos, the view is to die for. It may not be on the actual beach front, but may as well be. We would have preferred a slightly wider/ deeper balcony. If you have issues with heights, then this small balcony is not going to help you with feeling grounded at all. But you do not need to sit on the balcony to get this great view of the sea and Diamond Head (Which rises above the other hotels).

The bus routes outside the Luana gave us easy access to everything we wanted to do (From going to Diamond Head, to Ala Moana Shopping Centre).

We used the kitchen in our room for making many of our meals, and managed to get pretty much everything that we wanted from the local shops. Just like being at home in Australia regarding food.

The staff at the hotel were all very professional and appeared to be naturally happy (Not your usual pasted on false smile that we are used to in many hotels).

The Luana is very neat and clean. Our room was cleaned thoroughly each day. And if we got back to our room before midday for lunch, we were fortunate each day to find that our room had already been finished, so we would not be disturbed.

We did not try the cafe on the ground floor, as each time we passed by it was fairly full.

There is a pool which was fairly small, but as we are a couple of minute’s walk from the beautiful beach, you may never use this yourself. We used it once, and prefer the sea ourselves (Even if a German tourist had just had their arm bitten off by a shark the day before).

Food shopping wise:
There is a small convenience store on the opposite side of the road (Called ABC store), in fact, the ABC stores are everywhere you go here. They carry everything from bread, milk and cheese, to tourist T shirts and fridge magnets.

We found the supermarket shopping to be much cheaper and better selection at the Foodland supermarket at the nearby Ala Moana shopping centre (Catch the bus or walk there, if you are OK with walking, it is not that far, and you get to see more of the place into the bargain. We did find that although the bus system is cheap to use, it was hard to get a seat each time, as it is used by a lot of people, and when you are stuck in long traffic jams there and back, it doesn't save you much more time than getting some exercise with the walk anyway).

Next time we travel from Aus to the USA we will be stopping off at Hawaii again, and would not look any further than this hotel ourselves.
Clean, Convenient location and great staff 10/10 for us.

Mark & Andrea
Perth
Western Australia

Room Tip: 15th floor has views to die for (Top floor is the 16th), and you can hardly hear the busy road durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark-Andrea-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this OutRigger Hotel. It was a pleasant surprise. It was at the quiet end of Kalakaua Blvd near Kuhio. At least this is about as quiet as Kalakaua gets. The hotel has a small but very nice lobby. There is a small restaurant that is open early and closing just after lunch. The food was good and reasonably priced. The room had a lanai and a kitchenette. There was a small refrigerator, sink, and dishes. I wish it had a mircowave but didn't. The room was rather nice with decent furniture, nice beds, and tile floors. I have no complaints and had nice views of the Ft. DeRussy and a peak a boo view of the ocean. The pool was nice and not too crowded. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and using the PCs in the lobby allow you to print your boarding passes for free. I would recommend this place. Some of the other Outriggers like the Ohana West and East are further down Kuhio in the thick of things but noiser. The staff was very nice. I would call this place a top of the line second tier hotel. The first tier hotels are nearer the ocean.

Room Tip: I stayed on the northside and could see Ft. DeRussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location. 5 min walk to beach. 5 min walk to shops and just keep walking for more shops. Next to lovely park. We had a partial ocean view with kitchenette and it was great. Comfy beds, enough room for 3 of us, nice little balcony. Staff very helpful, friendly and personal. We had the gym and lovely clean pool to ourselves most times. ABC shop across the road and a lovely thai restaurant we went to twice is highly recommend. Bus stops nearby also. Loved it and felt very at home. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: we loved the partial ocean view and kitchen was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

April 2013 was our 2nd time staying at the Luana and it was just as good as the first time. The staff were as pleasant,courteous and helpful as always. We stayed in a kitchenette with partial ocean view, with a great view of fort derussy park as well as the ocean. One big plus for us this time, is that we were able to have a great view of the Friday night fireworks from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The Luana location is within a 15 minute walk to the Ala Moana Shopping centre as well as downtown waikiki. Luana is also located on the edge of Waikiki and is much quieter than the centre of Waikiki. The beach is just a short walk across the Fort deRussy Park. The city bus transportation is directly across the street where Kuhio and Kalakaua meet. I exteremly recommend this mode of transportation as it will , take you wherever you want to go. The fare is $ 3.00 per person, great value for touring the Island.
The room has air conditioning, inroom safe, oversized mini fridge,two burner stove top and microwave. We found this very useful as we did not feel we had to eat out for every meal. There are tons of great resturants nearby, if you don't want to cook.
There is a deck with cabana's and a swimming pool, exercise room and laundry room. We Highly recomend the Luana to every one.

Room Tip: recommend partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueperdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Right next to Ft. DeBussy. Mil I'D cardholders can get a monthly parking pass from Hale Kia garage for $100, less than 4 nights cost at hotel. A nice view if you are above 12th floor. Small refrigerator but some rooms don't have microwave (only allowed so many in blog). Bed was a little lumpy and uneven. Fitness center and pool are nice but why couldn't I open my eyes in the water? Restaurant on site, breakfast & lunch only. Laundry room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randycoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing